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Contacting Wisconsin Medicaid

Web Site

dhfs.wisconsin.gov/

The Web site contains information for providers and recipients about the
following:

* Program requirements. ¢ Maximum allowable fee schedules.

« Publications. » Professional relations representatives.
* Forms.  Certification packets.

Available 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Automated Voice Response System

(800) 947-3544
(608) 221-4247

The Automated Voice Response system provides computerized voice
responses about the following:

« Recipient eligibility. .
¢ Prior authorization (PA) status. .

Claim status.
Checkwrite information.

Available 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Provider Services

(800) 947-9627
(608) 221-9883

Correspondents assist providers with questions about the following:

« Clarification of program » Resolving claim denials.
requirements. » Provider certification.

» Recipient eligibility.

Available:
8:30-a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (M, W-F)
9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (T)

Available for pharmacy services:
8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (M, W-F)
9:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (T)

Division of Health Care Financing
Electronic Data Interchange Helpdesk

(608) 221-9036
e-mail: wiedi@dhfs.state.wi.us

Correspondents assist providers with technical questions about the following:

« Electronic transactions. » Provider Electronic Solutions
« Companion documents. software.

Available 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (M-F)

Web Prior Authorization Technical Helpdesk

(608) 221-9730

Correspondents assist providers with Web PA-related technical questions
about the following:

e User registration.
e Passwords.

« Submission process.

Available 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (M-F)

Recipient Services

(800) 362-3002
(608) 221-5720

Correspondents assist recipients, or persons calling on behalf of recipients,
with questions about the following:

« Recipient eligibility. .
* General Medicaid information. .

Finding Medicaid-certified providers.
Resolving recipient concerns.

Available 7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (M-F)
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Preface

This Nursesin Independent Practice Handbook is
issued todl Medicaid-certified nursesinindependent
practice. Theinformation in thishandbook appliesto
Medicaid and BadgerCare.

Medicaidisajoint federal and state program
established in 1965 under Title X1 X of thefedera
Social Security Act. Wisconsin Medicaidisaso
known as the Medicd Assistance Program, WMAP,
MA, TitleXIX,and T19.

BadgerCare extends Medicaid coverage through a
Medicaid expansion under TitlesX1X and XXI. The
goal of BadgerCareistofill the gap between
Medicaid and privateinsurance without supplanting or
crowding out private insurance. BadgerCare

reci pients receive the same benefits as Medicaid
recipients, and their health careis administered
through the same delivery system.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare are
administered by the Department of Health and Family
Services (DHFS). Within the DHFS, the Division.of
Health Care Financing isdirectly responsiblefor
managing Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare.

Unlessotherwise specified, all information contained
inthisand other Medicaid publicationspertainsto
services provided to recipients who receive care on a
fee-for-service basis. Refer to the Managed Care
section of theAll-Provider Handbook for information
about state-contracted managed care organizations.

Handbook Organization

The Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook
consistsof thefollowing chapters:

e Provider Information.

* Rightsand Responghilities.

e Covered Servicesand Related Limitations.
*  Documentation Requirements.

e Plan of Care

e Prior Authorization.

e ClamsSubmisson.

e Codesfor Prior Authorization and Clams.

All-Provider Handbook

All Medicaid-certified providersreceive acopy of the
All-Provider Handbook, which includesthefollowing
sections:

» _ Cetificationand OngoingResponsibilities.
e _ClamslInformation.

e Coordination of Benefits.

e Covered and Noncovered Services.

e |Informationa Resources.

* Managed Care.

e Prior Authorization.

* RecipientEligibility.

Providers are required to refer to the All-Provider
Handbook for information about thesetopics.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook 4 March 2006 5



Wisconsin Medicaid and
BadgerCare Web Sites

Publications (including provider handbooksand
Wisconsin Medicaid and Badger Care Updates),
maximum allowablefee schedul es, telephone
numbers, addresses, and moreinformation are
availableonthefollowing Web sites:

» dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/.
» dhfs.wisconsin.gov/badgercare/.

Publications

Medicaid publicationsapply to bothWisconsin
Medicaid and BadgerCare. Publicationsinterpret and
implement the lawsand regul ationsthat providethe
framework for Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare.
Medicaid publications provide necessary information
about program requirements.

Legal Framework

Thefollowing lawsand regulations providethelega
framework for Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare:

*  Federd Law and Regulation:

[0 Law— United States Social Security Act;
Title X1X (42 US Code ss. 1396 and
following) and Title X XI.

[0 Regulation— Title42 CFR Parts430-498
and Parts 1000-1008 (Public Health).

e WisconsinLaw and Regulation:
0 Law—Wisconsn Statutes: 49.43-49.499
and 49.665.
0 Regulation—WisconanAdminigtrative
Code, Chapters HFS 101-109.

Laws and regulations may be amended or added at
any time. Program requirements may not be
construed to supersede the provisions of these laws
andregulations.

6 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006



The policies in
this handbook
apply to nurses
in independent
practice (NIP)
providing PDN
services and
PDN services
for recipients
dependent on
a ventilator for
life support.

Provider Information

The Nursesin Independent Practice Handbook
containsinformation regarding the private duty
nursing (PDN) services provided under
Wisconsin Medicaid’'s PDN benefit as defined
inHFS 105.19 and 107.12, Wis. Admin. Code.
Thishandbook a soincludesinformation
regarding PDN servicesfor ventilator-
dependent recipients as defined in HFS 107.12
and 107.113, Wis. Admin. Code.

Providers should aso refer to the Certification
and Ongoing Responsi bilities section of the
All-Provider Handbook for information about
certification, provider rights, and recertification.

Scope of Services

The policiesinthishandbook apply to nursesin
independent practice (NIP) providing PDN
services and PDN services for recipients
dependent on aventilator for life support.
Nursesinindependent practicedelivering
services to Medicaid recipients are expected to
follow thelawsregulaing their profession.

The professional scope of services and
standards of practice are defined in ch. N 6,
“Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses
and Licensed Practical Nurses,” and ch. N 7,
“Rulesof Conduct,” Wis. Admin. Code.

Services Provided by
Registered Nurses

Thefollowing nursing servicesmay only be
performed by aregistered nurse (RN):

* Theinitid evauationvist.

e Initiating the physician’s plan of care (POC)
and any necessary revisons.

*  Providing those servicesthat require the

care of an RN asdefined in ch. N 6, Wis.
Admin. Code.

e Initiating appropriate preventiveand
rehabilitative procedures.

*  Regularly evaluating therecipient’s needs.

Registered nurses may accept only those
delegated medical actsthat an RN isqualified
to perform based on hisor her nursing
education, training, and experience.

Supervision of Delegated Tasks

Supervision of delegated tasks by the RN or
physician must be provided in accordance with
standards of their respective professons. When
an RN delegates (or assigns) another person to
perform atask, the RN assumes responsibility
for the proper performance of that task. The
supervising provider isrequired to document
the supervision in the medical record. Refer to
the Documentation Requirements chapter of
thishandbook for documentation regquirements
of 'supervising nurses.

Services Provided by
Licensed Practical Nurses

A licensed practica nurse (LPN) may only
provide nursing under the genera supervision
and delegation of an RN or thedirection and
delegation of aphysician, in accordance with
al of thefollowing:

HFS105.19(3), Wis. Admin. Code.
«  HFS107.12(3)(b), Wis. Admin. Code.

e ChaptersN 2and N 6, Wis. Admin. Code,
relating to the practice of nursing.

In accordance with ch. N 6.04(2), Wis. Admin.
Code, if arecipient’s condition becomes
complex, the LPN may perform delegated
nursing or medical actsbeyond basic nursing
care only under the direct supervision of an
RN or physician.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006 7
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AnLPN’sdutiesincludethefollowing:

e Performing nursing acts delegated by an
RN under ch. N 6.03, Wis. Admin. Code.

* Assgingtherecipientinlearning
appropriate salf-care techniques.

*  Meeting the nursing needs of the recipient
according to the written POC. Nursing
services are required to be within the
professional scope of the LPN’s practice.

In accordance with HFS 107.12(2)(c) and
105.19(3), Wis. Admin. Code, anLPN is
required to indicate on the Prior Authorization
Request Form (PA/RF), HCF 11018, the
name, credentials, and license number of the
RN or physician who has agreed to provide
supervision of hisor her performance.

Classification of Nursing
Services

Nursesin independent practice should use the
following criteriato determine whether a
serviceisskilled (i.e., requiresthe skitls of an
RN or LPN):

e Theinherent complexity of the service. For
example, some sarvices (such asintravenous
or intramuscular injectionsor insartion of
catheters) areclassfied asskilled nursing
services on the basis of their complexity
aone.

*  Themedica condition of therecipient. The
recipient’smedical condition may be such
that amedically oriented task that would
ordinarily beconsidered unskilled may be
considered askilled service becauseit only
can be safely and effectively provided by
an RN or LPN.

*  Theaccepted professiona standards of
medical and nursing practice.

Wisconsin Medicaid
Certification
Requirements

Nurses in independent practice are required to
obtain and maintainWisconsnMedicaid
certification, and are required to renew their
certification every two years. Wisconsin
Medicaidwill reimburseonly thosemedically
necessary services provided by nurses who
areWisconsin Medicaid certified on the
date(s) the services are provided.

For moreinformation on becoming certified, or
to obtain acertification packet, visit the
Wisconsin Medicaid Web site or contact
Wisconsin Medicaid Provider Services.

Medicaid program requirements may not be
construed to supersede the provisionsfor
registration or licensure under s. 15.08 and 441,
Wis. Stats. Refer to the Department of
Regulation and Licensing \Web site at
drl.wi.gov/ for more information about
registrationand licensurerequirements.

Providers are required to submit certification
information separately from PA requests.
Certificationinformation submitted withaPA
request will not be processed; dl certification
and PA materialswill bereturned to the
provider to resubmit separately.

Requirements for
Providing Ventilator-
Dependent Services

Inadditiontother Medicaid certification, NIP
who provide servicesto ventil ator-dependent
recipients are required to be recognized by a
hospital accredited by the Joint Commissionon
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
(JCAHO) or by anursing homethat is state-
approved for ventilator care as having the
necessary respiratory care skillsto serve

reci pientswho are ventilator-dependent for life
support. Certification requirementsfor providing
PDN to ventilator-dependent recipients are

8 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006
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practice are
required to obtain
and maintain
Wisconsin Medicaid
certification, and
are required to
renew their
certification
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Nurses providing
PDN services to
ventilator-
dependent
recipients are
required to submit
documentation of
Medicaid-approved
recognition of
age-specific skills
acquisition
demonstrations for
the pediatric and/
or adult recipients
they serve.

detailed in Wisconsin Medicaid certification
packets.

To bereimbursed by Wisconsin Medicaid for
PDN services provided to ventil ator-dependent
recipients, nurses are required to do the
following:

*  Become certified asan NIP by Wisconsin
Medicaid.

*  SendthefollowingtoWisconsn Medicaid
upon the completion of therespiratory
skillsacquisition demonstration and before
therenewal deadline:

[0 Current documentation of their
respiratory skillsrecognition certificate
from a hospital accredited by JCAHO
or proof of age-appropriate respiratory
skillsacquisition fromanursing home
that is state gpproved for ventilator care.

[0 A copy of their valid cardiopulmonary
resuscitation card (Basic Life Support
for Hedth-Care Providers Program
from the American Red Cross or
American Heart Association).

0 A completed Declaration of Skill
Acquisition — Respiratory Care
Servicesform. Thisformislocated in
theWisconsin Medicaid Independent
Nurse Certification Packet.

*  Receve confirmation of the receipt of
these materials and approval from
WisconsinMedicaid.

Submit al certification, renewa, and
documentation of training tothefollowing
address:

WisconsnMedicaid
Provider Maintenance
6406 Bridge Rd

Madison WI 53784-0006

Demonstration Renewals

Within 24 monthsfrom the date of their last
respiratory skillsacquisition demongireation,
nurses are required to repesat the recognition
process, otherwise, their certification will 1apse.

Asacourtesy, Wisconsin Medicaid sends a
reminder letter prior to therenewal deadline.
However, if anurse does not receive this letter,
itisstill the nurse’ sresponsbility to repeat the
respiratory skillsacquisition recognition and
submit the required documentation to
Wisconsin Medicaid by therenewal deadline.

Age-Specific Requirements

Nurses providing PDN servicesto ventilator-
dependent recipients are required to submit
documentation of M edicaid-approved
recognition of age-specific skillsacquisition
demondtrationsfor the pediatric and/or adult
recipientsthey serve. Refer to the Wisconsin
Medicaid Independent Nurse Certification
Packet for further details about age-specific
requirements. Wisconsin Medicaid pediatric
certification appliesto children ages0-16.
Wisconsin Medicaid adult PDN certification
appliesto adultsages 17 and ol der.

Child to Adult Transition Period
Requirements

A transitional ventilator-dependent recipientisa
recipient who is between the ages of 16 and 18.

An NIPwho is certified to provide servicesto
ventil ator-dependent pediatric recipients (but
not adult recipients) may continueto submit
claimsfor servicesto arecipient for whom
authorization has been granted prior to the
recipient aging into thetransition period. The
nursemay continue claiming for authorized
services provided up to 24 months past the
recipient’s 17th birthday, or until thenurse's
next respiratory skillsacquisition renewal date,
whichever comesfirst. At that time, the NIPis
required to meet the Wisconsin Medicaid adult
certification requirement to continue providing
servicesto thisrecipient.

A nurse certified only for pediatric care may
not provide PDN to any adult ventilator-
dependent recipient over the age of 17 unless
the nurse began providing uninterrupted
service to the recipient before the recipient’s
17thbirthday.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006 9
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Skills Acquisition Session Schedules Nursesin independent practice who no longer

= For further information onrespiratory skills wishto renew their certification to provide
SR8 acquisition, refer to the Training page of the PDN to ventil ator-dependent recipients but
[ Provider section of the Medicaid Web site. intend to continue providing PDN to _ Nurses are
a e nonventilator-dependent recipientsarerequired required to inform
- - e . to submit aPDN affidavit to Wisconsin Wisconsin Medicaid
Changes in Certification Medicaidif oneisnot already onfile. Providers in advance of any

A nurse’ sWisconsin Mediicaid certificationis should refer to the Independent Nurse changes, such as
maintained only if hisor herinformationonfile  certification packet for aPDN affidavit.

! k >H e changesin
with Wisconsin Medicaid is current. Nurses licensure
arerequiredtoinformWisconsinM edlcald.| n age-specific kil
advance of any changes, such as changesin o
aCQUISItIOH

licensure, age-specific skill acquisition sessions,
group afiliation, name, ownership, and physica
or payee address.

sessions, group
affiliation, name,
ownership, and
physical or payee
address.

10 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006



All nurses are
required to follow
universal
precautions for
each recipient for
whom services
are provided.

Rights and Responsibilities

Each provider isresponsiblefor reading all
Wisconsin Medicaid publicationsfor nursesin
independent practice (NIP), such as
Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare
Updates, the All-Provider Handbook, and
service-specific handbooks, and also for
following the Medicaid policiesand procedures
asspecified inthese publications.

Each provider isalso responsiblefor thetimely
submission of hisor her own completeand
accurateinformation to Wisconsin Medicaid.
Thisincludesrecipient records, prior
authorization (PA) requests, claims, and any
other situation whereinformationisrequired.

Universal Precautions

All nursesare required tofollow universal
precautions for each recipient for whom
services are provided-All, nurses are required
tohavethe necessary orientation, education,
and training inthe epidemiol ogy, modes of
transmission, and prevention of the Human
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and other
transmissbleinfections.

Asspecifiedin HFS 105.19(6), Wis. Admin.
Code, all nurses are required to use the
protective measures that are recommended by
the national Centersfor Disease Control and
Prevention. Thisincludes those measures that
pertain to medical equipment and supplies
intended to minimizetherisk of infection from
HIV and other blood-borne pathogens.

Unacceptable Practices

Activitiessuch asdeeping onthejob,
breaching recipient confidentidity, and
fraudulent documentation or billing are not
compliant with nursing standardsor Medicaid
rulesand could result in one or more of the
following:

* Referral to the Board of Nursing, which
couldlimit, suspend, revoke, or deny
renewal of anurse'slicense.

* Referral to the Wisconsin Department of
Jugtice (DOJ) for investigation of possible
criminal action.

e Potentid recovery of paymentsfor services.

e  Termination of Medicad certification.

Fees Prohibited by
Wisconsin Medicaid

Wisconsin Medicaid providersmay not charge
Wisconsin Medicaid recipientsor other
providersfor thefollowingfees:

* Referal fees(eg., amonthly amount for
the opportunity to participate in the care of
therecipient).

* Finder'sfees(e.g., an amount for finding
therecipient).

»  Coordination fees (e.g., an amount per
hour for coordineting arecipient’scare).

Such fees are considered “kickbacks’ and are
inviolation of federal and state laws
(s.49.492], Wis. Stats.). Wisconsin Medicaid
refers any suspect activity to the Wisconsin
DOJ.
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Private Duty Nursing
Requirements

In accordance with HFS 105.19(4)(c) Wis.
Admin. Code, thefollowing dutiesarerequired
of both registered nurses and licensed practical
nurseswhen providing private duty nursing
(PDN) services:

e Arrangingfor or providing hedlth care
counseling within the scope of nursing
practice to the recipient and recipient’s
family in meeting the needsrelated to the
recipient’scondition.

e Providing coordination of carefor the
recipient, including ensuring that provisons
are made for al required hours of care for
therecipient.

e Accepting only those delegated medical
actsfor which current written or verbal
orders exist and for which the nurse has
appropriatetraining or experience.

e Within24 hoursof providing service,
preparing written clinica notesthat document
the care provided and incorporating them
into therecipient’smedical recordswithin
seven days. (For further information, refer
to the Documentation Requirements
chapter of thishandbook.)

e Promptly informing the physician and other
personnel participatingintherecipient’s
care of changesin therecipient’s condition
and needs.

Emergency and Back-Up
Procedures

Asrequired by HFS 105.19(8), Wis. Admin.
Code, dl NIP arerequired to have thefollowing
back-up and emergency proceduresin place:

* Have arranged with another nurse to
provide servicesto therecipientin the
event the scheduled nurseistemporarily
unableto provide services. Providersare
required to retain written documentation of
the backup coverage plan signed by the
aternate nurse and to inform recipients of

the dternate nurse's name whenever
possible before the aternate nurse provides
Services.

Have awritten plan for recipient-specific
emergency proceduresin case of alife-
threstening Situation, fire, or severe westher
conditions. Nurses are required to review
thisplan with therecipient or therecipient’s
legal representative prior toimplementing
these procedures.

e Take appropriate action in the case of
accident, injury, or adverse changeinthe
recipient’s condition. Nurses are required
toimmediately notify therecipient’s
physician, guardian (if any), and any other
responsible person designated inwriting by
therecipient or recipient’slegal
representative.

When devel oping the back-up and emergency
plans, the NI P should takeinto consideration
what course of action should be taken by the
nurse, the alternate nurse, and the recipient’s
family if the back-up or emergency planfails
for-any reason.

Verifying Recipient
Eligibility

Providers should alwaysverify arecipient’s
eigibility for Wisconan Medicaid before
delivering services, bothto determinedigibility
for the current date and to discover any
limitationsto therecipient'scoverage. The
Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (EVS)
providesdigibility informationthet providerscan
access anumber of ways. Refer to the
Important Telephone Numbers page & the
beginning of thishandbook for moreinformation
about accessing the EVS.

Limited Benefit Categories

Some Medicaid recipients covered under
limited benefits categorieshavelimited
coverage. The EV Sidentifiesrecipientswith
limited benefits. Providers may refer to the
Recipient Eligibility section of the All-Provider
Handbook for moreinformation onthe
different limited benefits categories.
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In accordance with
HFS 105.19(5),
Wis. Admin. Code,
all nurses providing
services under the
PDN benefit are
required to furnish
a written statement
of recipient rights
to the recipients
they serve.

Distribution of Medicaid
Information

Nurses are strongly encouraged to photocopy
and distribute the brochure titled Wisconsin
Medicaid Private Duty Nursing — A Guide
for Medicaid Recipients and Their Families
todl recipientsand their families. The
brochure hel psprovidersexplain thefollowing:

*  Theextent and limitationsof the PDN benefit.
e TheMedicaid PA process.

e Therightsand responsibilitiesof PDN
recipientsand their families.

e Thecourseof action availableto recipients
and their familieswho are dissatisfied with
PDN services covered under Wisconsin
Medicad.

Refer to Appendix 1 of this handbook for a
copy of the brochure.

Written Statement of
RecipientRights

In accordance with-HFS 105.19(5), Wis.
Admin. Code, al nurses providing services
under the PDN benefit are required to furnish
awritten statement of recipient rightsto the
recipientsthey serve. Each provider isrequired
to share the statement with the recipient and
therecipient’slegal representative prior to
providing services.

Therecipient or legal representativeisrequired
to acknowledge the receipt of the statement of
recipient rightsinwriting and the signed
statement must beincluded intherecipient’s
medical record.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006

Inadditiontorightsheld by al Wisconsin
Medicaid recipients, each recipient of PDN
services hastheright to:

e Befullyinformed of al rulesand regulations
affecting him or her.

e Befully informed of the servicesthat are
to be provided by the nurse and of related
charges, including any chargesfor services
for which the recipient may beresponsible,

e Befully informed of one’'sown health
condition, unlessmedically contraindicated.

e Participateinthe planning of services,
including referrd toahealth careingtitution
or to another agency.

Refuse treatment to the extent permitted
by law and to be informed of the medical
conseguences of that refusal.

e Confidential treatment of persona and
medical records.

* . Receive education on self cares so that the
recipient can, tothe extent possible,
maximizehisor her functional
independence. Family, other personsliving
with therecipient, or other parties
designated by therecipient should also be
instructed on the recipient’s cares so that
these persons can assist the recipient.

e Havehisor her property trested with repect.

e Complain about the care that was provided
or not provided, and to seek resolution of
the complaint without fear of recrimination.

Contracts with Recipient
and/or Family

Recipientsor their legal representatives
arrange for serviceswith Wisconsin Medicaid-
certified providers. Wisconsin Medicaidisnot
the employer of NIP and does not provide
employment references or wage verification
information. Nursesinindependent practice
are self employed.

13
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Terminating Service toa
Recipient

Asdtated in HFS 105.19(9), Wis. Admin. Code,
anurse may discharge arecipient in the
following circumstances.

e Therecipient requests a discharge.

e Therecipient’sphysician decidesthe
recipient should be discharged. Providers
should retain the physician order that
recommends discharging therecipient.

*  Thenurse documentsthat continuing to
provide servicesto the recipient presents a
direct threst to the nurse’s hedlth or safety
and further documents the refusal of the
attending physicianto authorize discharge
of therecipient with full knowledgeand
understanding of the thresat to the nurse.

A nurseisrequired to recommend discharge to
the physician and recipient if the recipient no
longer requires PDN services or requires
services beyond the nurse’ s capability.

Any nurse resigning from a case should
discharge the recipient and submit a Prior
Authorization Amendment Request, HCF
11042, to Wisconsin Medicaid to enddate the
PA. Refer to the Prior Authorization chapter of
thishandbook for further information.

When anurse discharges arecipient who il
requires care, that nurse should make a
reasonabl e attempt to ensure continuity of

care. The nurseis required to issue a
notification of dischargeto therecipient or lega
representative at least two weeks (if possible)
prior to cessation of services. In al
circumstances, the nurseisrequired to provide
assistancein arranging for the continuity of all
medically necessary care prior to discharge.

14

Recipient Responsibilities

Arrangements with Nurses in
Independent Practice

Nursesin independent practice are self-employed
and are not employees of Wisconsin Medicaid.
Itistheresponsibility of therecipient or hisor
her legal representative to arrange for care
with each NIP, including the care coordinator.
Recipients are strongly encouraged to verify
thequalifications, mal practiceinsurance, and
background information of each NIP before
hiringthe nurse.

Nurses may not
charge a recipient
for covered PDN
services furnished
under Wisconsin
Scheduling Providers Medicaid.
Whilethe NIP may assist therecipient in

scheduling nurses, itistill therecipient’sor his

or her legal representative sresponsbility to

keep a calendar or otherwise track the names,

dates, and times for each nurse who will

provide PDN servicesto the recipient.

Freedom from Liability for Covered
Services

Nurses may not charge a recipient for covered
PDN: servieces furnished-under-Wisconsin
Medicad.

Private duty nursing services are not subject to
copayment.

Nursesmay not bill arecipient if thenursefailsto
dothefollowing:

*  MeetWisconsin Medicaid requirements.

e Comply withWisconsnMedicaid policy
andisdenied Medicaid reimbursement.

e Obtain necessary PA to perform the
servicesand isdenied Medicad
reimbursement.

Refer to the Covered and Noncovered
Services section of the All-Provider Handbook
for moreinformation on recipient liability for
covered services.
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The PDN benefit
covers medically
necessary services
that are
appropriate to
the diagnosis(es)
and medical
condition(s) of a
recipient who
meets Wisconsin
Medicaid’s PDN
eligibility criteria.

Covered Services and Related

Limitations

A covered serviceisaservice, item, or supply
for which Medicaid rembursementisavailable
when all program requirements are met. For a
covered service to meet program requirements,
the service must be provided by aqualified
Medicad-certified provider toandigiblerecipient.

In addition, the servicemust meet al applicable
program requirements, including, but not limited
to, prior authorization, clamssubmission,
prescription, and documentation requirements.
The service must aso be medicaly necessary
asdefined by HFS 101.03(96m), Wis. Admin.
Code.

Refer to the Covered and Noncovered
Services section of the All-Provider Handbaok
for more information about covered services,
medical: necessity, servicesthet arenot separately
reimbursable, and emergency services.

Private Duty Nursing
Benefit

The private duty nursing (PDN) benefit covers
medically necessary servicesthat are
appropriateto thediagnosis(es) and medica
condition(s) of arecipient who meetsWisconsin
Medicaid'sPDN digibility criteria

Recipient Eligibility for
Private Duty Nursing

Services

According to HFS 107.12(1)(a), Wis. Admin.
Code, arecipient iseligiblefor PDN servicesif
all of thefollowing aretrue:

* Heor sherequiresatotal of eight or more
hours of direct skilled nursing carein a24-
hour period according to the plan of care
(POC).

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006

* Heor shedoesnot residein ahospital or
nursingfacility.

* Heor she has awritten POC specifying
the medical necessity for PDN services.

Ventilator-Dependent Recipients

Inaccordancewith HFS 107.113(1), Wis. Admin.
Code, aventilator-dependent recipientis
eligiblefor respiratory care when he or she
meetsall of thedigibility criteriafor PDN and:

* Ismedically dependent on aventilator for
at least sx hours per day. In addition, the
recipient isrequired to meet one of the
following two conditions.

[1__ Has been hospitalized for at least 30
consecutive daysfor hisor her
respiratory.condition. The30
consecutive days may occur in more
than onehospita or nursing facility.

[0 If therecipient has been hospitalized
for lessthan 30 days, therecipient’s
digibility for serviceswill be
determined by WisconsnMedicaid's
Chief Medical Officer on a case-by-
casebas's, and may includediscussions
withtherecipient’spulmonologist and/
or primary care physician to evauate
therecipient’sdiagnod's, prognosis,
history of hogpitalizationsfor the
respiratory condition, and weaning
attempts, when appropriate.

* Hasadequate socia support to be treated
at home.

* May haveventilator care safely provided
at home.
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Recipients Who Are Not Eligible for
Private Duty Nursing Services

If the recipient requires fewer than eight hours
of direct skilled nursing servicesina24-hour
period, heor shemay bedigiblefor other home
heslth services and should be referred to a
home hedlth agency.

A redipient cannot bedigibleconcurrently for both
PDN and home health skilled nursing services.

Hours of Care That Qualify
as Private Duty Nursing
Services

Wisconsin Medicaid requiresthat the POC
include the actual amount of timeto be spent
onmedically necessary direct caresrequiring
the skillsof alicensed nurse (HFS 107.12[1][f],
Wis. Admin. Code).

A recipient qudifiesfor PDN if he or she
requires eight or more hoursof direct skilled
nursing services. Add up thetotal hours of
direct skilled nursing careprovided by dl
caregivers, including home health agencies,
nurses, and skilled cares provided by family or
friends. If the total time required for these
caresisequivaent to eight hours or more, the
recipientiseligiblefor PDN.

For thispurpose, skilled nursing tasks covered
by Wisconsin Medicaid may include, but are
not limited to, thefollowing:

*  Applicationof dressingsinvolving
prescription medicationsand aseptic
techniques.

*  Gadtrostomy feedings(includethetime
needed to begin, disconnect, and flush—
not the entiretimethefeeding is
dispensng).

e Injections.

e Insertion and Sterileirrigation of catheters.

*  Nasopharyngeal and tracheostomy
suctioning.

»  Treatment of extensive decubitus ulcersor
other widespread skin disorders.

Private Duty Nursing
Services Reimbursement
Requirements

Wisconsin Medicaid covers PDN sarvices as
part of the PDN benefit if the services:

e Meet Wisconsin Medicaid’'scriteriato be
classified as PDN services.

e Areprior authorized.
* Areprescribed by aphysicianin
accordance with s. 49.46(2), Wis. Stats.

e Areprovidedtorecipientseligible under
S. 49.47(6)(a), Wis. Stats.

* Areimplemented accordingto HFS 107,
Wis. Admin. Code.

e Areprovided in accordance with the
recipient's POC. Services provided to the
recipient that are not listed on the POC are
not covered services. Refer to the Plan of
Care chapter of this handbook for more
information.

Arecipient qualifies
for PDN if he or she
requires eight or
more hours of
direct skilled
nursing services.

Place of Service for
Private Duty Nursing
Recipients

Asdated in HFS 107.12(2)(a), Wis. Admin.
Code, recipientswho are ligibleto receive
PDN services in the home may use approved
hours of service outside the home setting
during those hourswhen arecipient’snormal
lifeactivitiestake him or her outside the home
setting.

WisconsnMedicaid considersarecipient’s
home or residence to be the place where the
recipient makes his or her home. The
recipient’sresidence may beasinglefamily
home or an apartment unit. The recipient may
reside with other household members. Hospital
inpatient and nursing facilitiesarenot allowable
places of servicewhiletherecipientis
receiving PDN services.
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The cost of routine
disposable medical
supplies (DMS)
used by nurses
while caring for the
recipient, including
routine DMS
mandated by

the Occupational
Safety and Health
Administration, is
covered in the
reimbursement
rate.

Providing Disposable
Medical Supplies

The cost of routine disposable medical supplies
(DMYS) used by nurses while caring for the
recipient, including routine DM S mandated by
the Occupational Safety and Hedlth
Adminigtration, iscoveredinthere mbursement
rate. Nurses in independent practice (NIP) are
expected to provide these suppliesonly during
thebillable hoursinwhich they providenursing
services. Nurses are not expected to provide
recipients with suppliesfor use when they are
not directly providing billablenursing services.

WhenWisconsin Medicaid includesDMSin
the reimbursement rate, nurses may not do
any of thefollowing:

*  Chargetherecipient for the cost of DMS.

e Usesuppliesobtained by therecipient and
paidfor by Wisconsin Medicaid.

e SubmitclamstoWisconsnMedicaidfor
the cost of the supplies.

Refer to Appendix 18 of this handbook for a
list of DMSincluded inthehome care
reimbursement rate.

Coordination Services for
Ventilator-Dependent
Recipients

When more than one NIPis providing careto
aventilator-dependent recipient, Wisconsin
Medicaid reimburses up to five hours per
month per recipient for coordination services
performed by aregistered nurse (RN). A
licensed practica nurse (LPN) may not
provide coordination services.

Hoursfor coordination servicesareincluded in
the daily and weekly hour limitsfor each nurse
under HFS 107.113(5)(d), Wis. Admin. Code.
Any services provided beyond thelimitsare
not reimbursed by Wisconsn Medicaid.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006

Wisconsin Medicaid doesnot reimbursefor
coordination services and direct nursing care
provided at the same time. Dates and times of
coordination services must be documentedin
themedica record, including the extent and
scope of the specific coordination services
provided.

Documenting Coordination Services

The designated RN should document all
coordination services. Documentationinthe
recipient’smedical recordisto includethe
extent and scope of specific care coordination
provided.

Other information that must beincluded in the
documentationisasfollows:

* Thetype of services completed.
e Thedate and time of the services.

e Thesgnatureandtitle of the RN providing
coordination services.

The coordinating RN’s name and license
number must be documented on both the Prior
Authorization Request Form (PA/RF), HCF
11018, and on the recipient’s POC.

Reimbursable Coordination
Responsibilities

Reimbursabl e coordination servicesinclude
assisting therecipient or legal representativein
coordinating all home care services and any
services provided by other health and socia
serviceproviders. Reimbursable coordination
servicesaso include asssting therecipient to
acquireadditional nursesand scheduling
nursesto provide authorized care for the
ventil ator-dependent recipient.

Nurses providing coordination servicesare not
responsi blefor completing or submitting PA
requests or claims for reimbursement for other
NIP.
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Change in Coordinators

When a change in coordinators occurs on a
ventilator-dependent case, documentationin
the medical record must include the name of
the new coordinator and the date he or she will
assume coordination responsibilities. The POC
should aso be updated to reflect the changein
coordinators.

In addition, the nurse assuming coordination
respons bilities should submit an amendment to
Wisconsin Medicaid requesting case
coordination, indicating hisor her nameand the
date case coordination dutieswill begin under
this name. The appropriate procedure code
and modifier must beincludedinthe
amendment to be reimbursed by Wisconsin
Medicaid. Refer to the Prior Authorization
chapter of this handbook for further
information on submitting amendmentsto
WisconsinMedicaid.

Coordination Services for
Recipients Not Ventilator-
Dependent

When more than one nurseis providing care to
anon-ventilator-dependent recipient, Wisconsin
Medicaid requires an RN on the case to
provide coordination servicesin accordance
with HFS107.12(1)(d)1.c., Wis. Admin. Code.
An LPN may not provide coordination
services.

Wisconsin Medicaid doesnot reimburse RNs
for coordination servicesfor recipients of the
PDN benefit who are not ventilator-dependent.
Asspecified in HFS 107.12(1)(f), Wis. Admin.
Code, Wisconsin Medicaid reimburses nurses
only for theactual timespentindirect skilled
nursing servicesrequiring theskillsof a
licensed nurse.

Coordination Services
Documentation

The designated RN shall document all
coordination services. Documentationinthe
recipient’smedical recordisto includethe
extent and scope of specific care coordination
provided (HFS107.12[3][c], Wis. Admin. Code).

Other information that must beincluded in the
documentationisasfollows;

e Thetype of services completed.
¢ Thedate and time of the services.

e Thesgnatureandtitle of the RN providing

coordination services,

Each POC and PA/RF submitted by a nurse
must include the name and license number of
the coordinating RN.

Coordination Responsibilities

Coordination servicesrespons bilitiesinclude
assisting therecipient or legal representativein
coordinating al:home care services and other
servicesprovided by other health and social
serviceproviders.

Registered nursesproviding coordination
services are not responsible for completing or
submitting PA requests or claimsfor
reimbursement for other NIP.

Change in Coordinators

When a change in coordinators occurs on a
nonventilator-dependent case, documentation
in the medical record must include the name of
the new coordinator and the date he or she will
assume coordination responsibilities. The POC
should also be updated to reflect the changein
coordinators. Thereis no need to submit an
amendment with the change to Wisconsin
Medicad.
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Wisconsin Medicaid
may deny or
recoup payment
for covered
services that fail

to meet program
requirements.

Case Sharing

If more than one type of Medicaid-certified
home care provider provides careto a
recipient, the case becomes a shared case. All
NIP sharing a case with persond care
agencies or home health agencies should
document their communication with the other
providersregarding recipient needs, POC, and
scheduling. Thiswill ensure coordination of
servicesand continuity of care, whileaso
preventing duplication of servicesbeing
provided to arecipient.

According to HFS 101.03(96m)(b)6, Wis.
Admin. Code, medically necessary services
cannot be duplicative with respect to other
services being provided to the recipient. When
providers of more than one service type share
acase, NIP need to integrate that information
into the recipient’s POC and the PA request.
Thisinformation must beincluded regardiess
of the payer source for services of other
providerson a shared case:

Provider Responsibility

When multiple providersare caring for a
recipient or “case sharing,” each-provideris
responsiblefor doing thefollowing:

e Obtaining a PA separately for the services
he or shewill perform.

e Communicating and coordinating the PA
request with other case-sharing providers
to assure appropriate care and
reimbursement.

Case Sharing Documentation

To reduce the chance of PA request returns
and expedite the PA process, each provider is
required to document specificinformation
about the case. Wisconsin Medicaid may
return the PA request if information providedis
incomplete and/or incons stent.

Plan of Care

Each provider isrequired to indicate the
following ontherecipient'sPOC:

»  Thetotal number of home care hours that
therecipient requires.

e Thenamesof al the providersthat will be
sharing the case.

e Thenumber of hoursthat each provider
will beproviding care.

Prior Authorization Request Form

Each provider isrequired to indicate the
followingin Element 19 of the PA/RF:

e Thenumber of hours per week the
provider will providecare.

o “Shared case with (name of the
other provider). Totd hoursfor dl providers
will not exceed total hours on the POC.”

Reimbursement Not
Available

Wisconsn Medicaid may deny or recoup
payment for covered services that fail to meet
program requirements. Medicaid
reimbursement isalso not availablefor
noncovered services.

Refer to the Covered and Noncovered
Services section of the All-Provider Handbook
for more information about servicesthat do not
meet program requirements, noncovered
services, and Situationswhenitispermissible
to collect payment from recipientsfor
noncovered services.
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Nursesin independent practice may not
receive Medicaid reimbursement for the
services stated in HFS 107.113(5) and
107.12(4), Wis. Admin. Code. These services
include, but arenot limited to, thefollowing:

e Any savicethat fallsto meet therecipient’s
medical needs or placestherecipient at
risk for a negative treatment outcome.

e Servicesthat are not medically necessary
asdefined in HFS 101.03(96m), Wis.
Admin. Code, including, but not limited to,
servicesthat arethe following:

[0 Duplicativewith respect to other
servicesprovided.

[0 Provided solely for the convenience of
therecipient, recipient’sfamily, or a
provider.

[0 Not cost-effective compared to an
alternative medically necessary
service that is reasonably accessable
to therecipient.

* Any home health services under HFS
107.11, Wis.Admin. Code.

»  Skilled nursing servicesperformed by a
recipient’s spouse or parent if the recipient
isunder age 18.

e Any servicesthat do not make effective
and appropriate use of available services.

e Servicesthat were provided but not
documented.

e Anysarvicesnotincludedinthephysician’s
POC for the recipient.

e Servicesprovided without PA.
e Parenting.

e Supervision of therecipient when
supervisonistheonly service provided.

Travel and Record-Keeping Time

Wisconsin Medicaid includesthe cost for
record keeping and travel timein the rates
established for PDN services. The time spent
on these activitiesis not separately
reimbursable by Wisconsn Medicaid.

20 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006
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Each individual
provider is required
to retain records
for a period of not
less than five years
from the date of
payment.

Documentation Requirements

Each provider isresponsiblefor the preparation
and maintenance of accurate, complete,
legible, and concise medical documentation and
financial records consistent with the
requirements of HFS 106.02(9)(a), Wis.
Admin. Code. Wisconsin Medicaid requires
that documentation show a complete and
accurate description of therecipient’scondition
and progressin dated and signed notes.

Eachindividua providerisrequiredtoretain
records for a period of not less than five years
from the date of payment.

Providers should also refer to the Certification
and Ongoing Responsi bilities section of the
All-Provider Handbook for information about
documentati on reguirements.

Required Information for
Medical Record

In accordance with HFS 105.19(7), Wis.
Admin. Code, nursesinindependent practice
(NIP) arerequired to include the following
informationin each recipient’smedical record:

*  Recipientidentificationinformation.

e Therecipient'scondition, problems, progress,
and services rendered.

e Anyrelevant hospita information supplied
by thehospita, including discharge
information, diagnos's, current patient status,
and post-discharge plan of care (POC).

* Aninitial evaluation and assessment of the
recipient.

e Allmedica orders, including thecurrent
physicianwritten POC and al interim
physician’s orders. Refer to the Plan of
Care chapter of this handbook for further
information about aphysician’sverbd orders.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006

A consolidated list of medications, including
start and stop dates, dosage, route of
adminigtration, and frequency. Thislist
must be reviewed and updated for each
nursing visit, if necessary.

Progress notes written as frequently as
necessary to clearly and accurately
document the recipient’s status and
services provided. A “progress note” isa
written notation, timed, dated and signed
by amember of the health team providing
covered services, that summarizes facts
about the care furnished and the recipient’s
response during agiven period of time.

Clinical noteswritten, timed, signed, and
dated the day serviceisprovided and
incorporated into themedical record within
seven days. A copy of these notes should
be maintained in therecord inthe
recipient’s home. These notes are a
notation of contact with arecipient that
document the private duty nursing services
providedand should do thefollowing:

[0 Describe the recipient’smedical
dtatus, including sgnsand symptoms.

[0 Listthetime, date, and adescription
of treatment and drugs administered
and therecipient’sreaction.

[0 Describe any changesin the
recipient’sphysica or emotiona
condition and any nursingintervention.

Nurses are encouraged to write
clinical notes as services are provided
and complete them by the end of each
shift. These notes should be utilized by
nurses performing servicesduring
subsequent shiftsin order to maintain
continuity of care.

Written summaries of the recipient’s care
provided by the nurseto the physician at
least every 62 days.

21

Py
@
a
c.
=
®
=
@
=
=
[%2]

W)
o]
(@)
e
=
@
=
=
S
=}




c
S
T
&

c

[}

S

-]

(&}

(@]
o

Requirements

Thefollowinginformation must beincludedin
the documentation concurrent to the notation of
servicein both progressnotesand clinical notes:

¢ Thedate and time of service.

e Thesgnatureandtitle of the performing
provider.

All physician-ordered treatmentsand
interventionsincluded in the POC must be
documented in the recipient’s medical record.

For ventil ator-dependent recipients, the
ventilator settings and parameters and the
ventilator checks must a so be documented in
the recipient’smedical record.

Physician Signature

In accordance with HFS 107.113(2) and
107.12(1)(d)2, Wis. Admin. Code, thewritten
POC shdl bereviewed, signed, and dated by
the recipient’s physician as often as required
by the recipient’s condition but at |east every
62 days and prior to the end of the certification
period on the recipient’s POC: If the sulbsequent
POC isnot signed by the physician prior to the
end of the previous certification period, thenurse
isworking without orders, and these services
arenot reimbursable by Wisconsin Medicaid.

Documentation
Requirements of
Supervising Nurses

The supervising registered nurse (RN) is
required to document his or her review of the
daily documentation of the delegated or
assigned tasks completed by alicensed
practical nurse (LPN) under the RN'’s
supervision. Thisshould be done at the same
time that the review of the POC is performed.
Thesupervisng RN isa so required to document

22

any direct supervision performed. Appropriate
documentation includesbut isnot limited to:

» Date, time, andlocation of supervision
activities.

*  Nursing acts supervised and the result of
the supervised activities.

The LPN isrequired to maintain acopy of the
supervisng RN’sdocumentationinthe
recipient’smedical record.

Availability of Records to
Others

Wisconsin Medicaid requiresal providersto
maintain arecipient’sorigina medical record or
acopy that can be reproduced.

To ensure continuity of care, providersare
strongly encouraged to leave acopy of the
recipient’soriginal medical recordinthe
recipient’s home. Nurses should also make a
copy of the medicd record available at the
request of the recipient or the recipient’s|ega
representative. Recipients have aright to-a copy
of their medical record and are not responsible
for keeping, maintaining, or providing acopy of
their medical record.

All providers, including NIPR, arerequired to
make documentation and financial records
availableto Wisconsin Medicaid upon request.
Examples of these types of recordsinclude,
but arenot limited to, thefollowing:

e Clinicd notes.

e |Interimorders.

e Plansof care.

e Prior authorization requests.
*  Progress notes.

e Protocols.

e Timeshests.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006

In accordance with
HFS 107.113(2)
and 107.12(1)(d)2,
Wis. Admin. Code,
the written POC
shall be reviewed,
signed, and dated
by the recipient’s
physician as often
as required by

the recipient’s
condition but at
least every 62
days and prior to
the end of the
certification

period on the
recipient’s POC.



Record Maintenance After
Termination as Wisconsin Medicaid
Provider

Termination asaWisconsin Medicaid provider
doesnot end aprovider’srespongbility toretain

Termination as a and provide accessto fully maintained records.
Wisconsin Medicaid ~ An dternative arrangement for record retention
provider does not and maintenance does not relieve providers of

the responsibility to provide accessto these
records for a period of not less than five years.
Refer to the Certification and Ongoing
Responsibilities section of the All-Provider
Handbook for moreinformation on record
retention and maintenance.

end a provider’s
responsibility to
retain and provide
access to fully
maintained
records.

)
3o
QO
=N
g3
28
5 =
@S

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006 23



c
S
T
&

c

[}

S

-]

(&}

(@]
o

Requirements
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Private duty
nursing (PDN)
services are
required to be
provided according
to the recipient’s
POC, as stated in
HFS 105.19(2),
Wis. Admin. Code.

Plan of Care

In accordance with HFS 107.12(1)(d), Wis.
Admin. Code, Wisconsin Medicaid requires
that each recipient have awritten plan of care
(POC). Private duty nursing (PDN) services
arerequired to be provided according to the
recipient’s POC, as stated in HFS 105.19(2),
Wis. Admin. Code.

Plan of Care
Documentation Methods

When compl eting and submitting the POC,
nursesin independent practice (NIP) providing
PDN services may use either the Prior
Authorization/Home CareAttachment
(PA/HCA), HCF 11096, or therecipient’s
POC in another format that contains all of the
componentsrequested in the compl etion
instructions of the PA/HCA..

When completed according to the completion
instructions, the PA/HCA contains the
information Wiscons n Medlicaidreguiresto
adjudicate a provider's PA request for home
care services.

Wisconsin Medicaid requirescompleteand
accurate information to adjudicate PA requests
submitted for home care services. Incomplete
PA requests will be returned to the provider.

Submitting Another Format for the
Recipient’s Plan of Care

Providerswho choose to submit therecipient’s
POC in another format are required to include
all of the components requested in the PA/HCA
Completion Instructions, HCF 11096A. Prior
authorization requestsreceived without the
requested information will bereturned to the
provider.

Providerschoos ng thisoption should notethat
the nurse and physician who sign the POC are
required to attest to the respective Wisconsin

Medicaid certification statementsin Section VI
of the PA/HCA Completion Instructions.

To speed processing and reduce the number of
returned PA requests, providers are strongly
encouraged to verify that al requested
information isincluded with the PA request
when choosing to submit aversion of the POC
other than the PA/HCA.

Obtaining Plan of Care
Forms

The completion instructions and PA/HCA are
located in Appendices 3 and 4 of this handbook
for photocopying and may also be downloaded
and printed from the Medicaid Web site.

Developing the Plan of
Care

The POC should be based on the orders of a
physician, aregistered nurse’'s (RN)
assessment based on avisit to the recipient’s
home, and in consultation with the physician,
therecipient or, asappropriate, therecipient’s
legal representative, therecipient’sfamily, and
other members of the household.
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When devel oping the POC, the RN should
also assessthe recipient’s socia and physical
environment, including thefollowing:

e Familyinvolvement.

e Livingconditions.

e Therecipient’sfunctiona status.
*  Any pertinent cultural factors.

Licensed practical nurses may not devel op the
POC; however, they are required to read and
sgn the POC. Wisconsin Medicaid expects
each NIP on the case to read and sign the
POC, regardless of which NIP developsiit.
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Physician’s Ordersand
Signature

All skilled nursing servicesrequirea
physician’sorder or prescription. Wisconsin
Medicaid will not reimbursefor services
provided before a physician’s order or
prescription isobtained. The order or
prescription shall beinwriting or given verbally
and later be reduced to writing by the nurse.
All ordersor prescriptions must be reviewed,
signed, and dated by the prescribing physician
asgated in HFS 107.02(2m), Wis. Admin. Code.

Theinitial POC containing thephysician’s
orders must be reviewed, signed, and dated by
the physician within 20 working daysfollowing
the recipient’s start of care. All subsequent
POC must be reviewed, signed, and dated by
the physician prior to the beginning of the new
certification period asspecifiedinHFS
107.12(2)(d), Wis. Admin. Code.

Start of Care

The start of care date is the date of the
recipient’sfirst billablehomecarevist. This
date remains the same on all subsequent POC
until therecipient isdischarged from
uninterrupted service.

Certification Period

Each certification period may last no longer
than 62 days. The 62-day period corresponds
with the certification period datesin Element 4
of the PA/HCA and includes both the “From”
date and the “To” date. The POC expires at
the end of the 62-day certification period.

Wisconsin Medicaid requiresthat all
components of the POC be reviewed and
signed by aphysician at least every 62 days
(HFS105.19[2] , Wis.Admin. Code). If multiple
physicians order services, orders are combined
on one POC and signed by the primary
physician at least every 62 days. The nurse has
theresponghility to sign and confirm thedate
that the information on the POC was reviewed
with the physician, to verify that the POC is
complete, and to keep a current and complete
POC onfile.

Once the physician signsthe POC, it serves as
the physician’s ordersfor the length of the
certification period.

The physician must sign and dateall
subsequent POC prior to the beginning
certification date on the POC. Otherwise, the
nurseisproviding serviceswithout orders, and
such serviceswill not be reimbursed by
Wisconsin Medicaid. Refer to Appendix 5 of
this handbook for an example of the
certification period on the PA/HCA.

Verbal Orders

At times the physician may give an order to
thenurseverbally.

Verbal Orders for Initial Certification

To facilitate immediate access to home care
services, Wisconsin Medicaid allowsNIPto be
reimbursed for services provided under verbal
orders. The nurseis required to reduce the
verbal-ordersto writing and transmit the orders
to the physicianimmediatel y and obtainthe
physician’'ssignature'and date on those orders
within 20 working days.

Verbal Orders for Subsequent Certification

Once care has dtarted, verbal orders may not
be obtained for subsequent certification
periods. For ongoing cases, the physician must
review, sign, and date renewed or (as
necessary) revised orders before the end of
the certification period for the NIPto continue
to be reimbursed without interruption after
starting care of the recipient.

Verbal Orders Within Any Certification
Period

An urgent situation may prompt the physician
to issue verbal orders. Such verba orders
during the authorized certification period are
the direct result of changesin the patient’s
condition necessitating animmediate
modification to the POC. For example, the
recipient’s adverse reactions to a currently
prescribed medication or treatment may result
inaphysician verbally ordering achangetothe
recipient’streatment or medication.

26 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006

Each certification
period may last no
longer than 62
days.



The recipient’s
health status and
medical need, as
reflected in the
POC, provide the
basis for
determinations as
to whether services
provided are
reasonable and
medically
necessary.

When verbal orders are necessary within a
certification period, the nurse must document
the orders, reduce them to writing, and sign

and date them. The NIP has 10 days from the
date the physician gave the ordersto obtain the
physician’s signature and date on those orders,
asstated in HFS 107.12(1)(e), Wis. Admin.
Code.

Plan of Care Requirements

As specified in and supported by HFS
107.12(1)(d), 105.19(8), 107.02(2)(f), and
106.02(9), Wis. Admin. Code, the POC must
contain medication and trestment orders and
medically necessary hours of care as ordered by
aphyscian, inadditiontothefollowingeements:

e Treatment orders.
e Medicationorders.
*  Measurable and time-specific goals.

* Methodsfor delivering needed care, and
anindication of which other professiona
disciplines, if any, areresponsiblefor
deliveringcare.

* Provisonsfor care coordination by an RN
when more than one nurse is necessary to
staff the recipient’s case.

e A description of functiona status, mental
datus, dietary needs, and dlergies.

e Adated physician’ssignaturesignifying
that the physician has reviewed the POC.

*  Nursing and emergency interventions.
e Parameersfor dl pro re nata (PRN) orders.
e A planfor medica emergencies.

* A planto movetherecipient to safety in
the event of a condition that threatens the
recipient’simmediate environment.

e Other items as appropriate to the
recipient’s case.

Plans of care for ventilator-dependent recipients
must alsoincludethefollowing e ements:

e Ventilator settings and parameters.

e Proceduresto follow in the event of
accidental extubation.

Nurses in Independent Practice Handbook € March 2006

Medically necessary hoursof skilled nursing
care as ordered by aphysician areto include
hoursthat may be claimed by professional
providersand hours of careroutinely provided
by the family and other volunteer caregivers.

In addition to the elementsrequired on the
POC by HFS 107.12(1)(d), Wis. Admin. Code,
NIPshouldincludeabrief clinical history and
summary of therecipient’sconditionto

expedite the PA request. Thisadditional
information may decrease the frequency of
returned PA requests.

For a sample POC documented on the
PA/HCA, providers may refer to Appendix 5
of thishandbook.

Medical Necessity and the
Plan of Care

The recipient’s health status and medical need,
asreflected in the POC, provide the basis for
determinations as to whether services provided
are reasonable and medically necessary.

Each nurseisresponsible, dong withthe
physician, for the contents of the POC relating
to the medical necessity of care, accuracy of
al information submitted, and relevance of the
POC to the recipient’s current medical
condition. A nurseisrequired to dothe
following:
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e Promptly notify therecipient’sphysician of
any changeintherecipient’scondition that
suggests a need to modify the POC.

e Implement any changes that were made
to the POC.

Providersarerequired to include acomplete,
detailed, and accurate description of the
recipient’smedical condition and needsinthe
POC. The POC should be developed and
reviewed concurrently with and in support of
other health care providers providing services
to therecipient in the home.
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Changes to the Plan of
Care

When the recipient’s medical needs change,
NIP are required to notify the physician so that
the physician may order a change to the POC
to reflect the recipient’s current medical needs.

Itisillegal to add or change orders on aPOC
after it has been signed by a physician. To add
or change orders, providers are required to
attach a signed copy of the new physician
ordersto the POC. Orders that will continue
into the next certification period must be
incorporated into the next POC prior to it being
signed by thephysician.

The use of correction fluid or correction tape
on a POC is not an acceptable practice.
Wisconsin Medicaid may recoup any
reimbursement based on a POC with correction
fluid or correction tape. When correcting
errorson a POC before it issigned, anurse
should cross out the error with asinglelineand
place hisor her initials and the date next to the
correction. Wisconsin Medicaid will returna
POC with other methods of correction to the
provider.
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Itisillegal to add
or change orders
on a POC after it
has been signed by
a physician.



All PDN services
require PA as
stated in HFS

107.12(2)(a), Wis.

Admin. Code.

Prior Authorization

Prior authorization (PA) isapproval of
coverage of services by Wisconsin Medicaid
before the provision of the services. Prior
authorizationisrequiredfor dl private duty
nursing (PDN) services before they are provided.
Wisconsin Medicaid doesnot reimburse
providersfor services provided either before
the grant date or after the expiration date
indicated ontheapproved Prior Authorization
Request Form (PA/RF), HCF 11018. If the
provider delivers a service either before the
grant date or after the expiration date of an
approved PA, or provides a service that
requires PA without obtaining PA, the
provider isresponsible for the cost of the
service. In these situations, providers may
not collect payment from the recipient.

When requesting PA for services, providers
should notethefollowing:

»  Chapter HFS107.02(3), Wis Admin. Code,
providesWisconsin M edicaid withthe
authority torequire PA for covered
sarvices. It dso provides proceduresfor PA
documentation and departmental review
criteria used to authorize coverage and
reimbursement.

* Arequest for PA does not guarantee
approval.

e Prior authorization does not guarantee
payment. To receive Medicaid
reimbursement, provider and reci pient
eligibility onthe date of serviceaswell as
all other Medicaid requirements must be
met.

*  Providersarerequired to submit PA requests
separately from therr certification materias.

For moreinformation about general PA
policies, obtaining PA formsand attachments,
and submitting PA requests, refer to the Prior
Authorization section of theAll-Provider
Handbook.

Responsibility for Prior
Authorization

Each nurseispersonally responsiblefor
submitting acomplete, accurate, and timely PA
request including all attachments. Neither the
case coordinator nor the physician are
responsiblefor completing or submitting PA
requests for other nurses on the case.
Additionaly, therecipient and/or family
members are not permitted to complete or
submit a PA request.

Failureto fully complete the PA/RF or other
required attachments may delay processing.

By requesting PA for services, aprovider
attests through the documentation to Wisconsin
Medicaid that, to the best of hisor her
knowledge, careis medically necessary.

Services Requiring Prior
Authorization

All PDN servicesrequire PA as stated in HFS
107.12(2)(a), Wis. Admin. Code. Wisconsin
Medicaid does not reimburse for PDN if the
services are provided without an approved PA.

Limits on Authorized Services

Authorizationislimited to 12 hoursin each 24-
hour period and 60 hoursin a calendar week
for any onenurse, as stated in HFS 107.12(2)(b),
Wis.Admin. Code. Theselimitationsincludeall
servicesfor al recipientswho arereceiving
Medicaid-covered services from the nurse.
Wisconsin Medicaid will not approveaPA
request for two consecutive 12-hour periods.
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A 24-hour period should not be confused with
acaendar day. For the purposes of Wisconsin
Medicaid PDN services:

e Each calendar day isa24-hour period that
beginsat midnight and endsat midnight.

e A calendar week beginswith Sunday, ends
with Saturday, and consists of seven
consecutive calendar days.

Requesting Private Duty
Nursing Hours

When submitting a PA request for PDN, the
scheduled number of hours requested should
reflect the daily care needs of the recipient.
Thefollowing should be considered when
requesting PDN hours:

e Typeof medically necessary skilled
service needed.

»  Stability and predictability of therecipient’s
clinical course.

* Availability of family/other caregivers.

The physician’s ordersfor PDN should be
written in hours per day and days per week.

Hours of Private Duty Nursing for
Children

To determine the hours of PDN care for
children, providersshould consider theextent to
which thefamily and/or other unpaid caregivers
are cagpable of providing medical cares.

Approva of PDN for 24 hours per day may be
consideredfor childreninthefollowing
circumstances.

»  For short-term care after institutional
discharge or after in-home exacerbations
with sgnificant medical changes, allowing
time to teach the family or caregivers and
to stahilizethe child and develop routine
care techniques.

»  For short-term care if asingle parent or
caregiver ishospitalized or if onefamily
member or caregiver ishospitalized and
the other isnot capable of providing care.
Private duty nursing for 24 hours per day
may fill the gap until other caregiverscan
betaught cares, or until the usua family
member or caregiver can resume them.

o If thefamily or caregivers are not capable
of providing any needed cares.

Private duty nursing may be approved for
family member or caregiver work time. For
example, if thefamily member or caregiver
works outside the home, a reasonable number
of PDN hours may be approved to alow for
the family member or caregiver’s absence
from caresfor work and commuting to and
from work.

When submitting a
If overnight PDN is medically necessary, PDN Egl:le?rl:eSt ;Ord o
may be approved for family or caregivers , the schedule

number of hours

sleep time. Private duty-nursing may be
approved for thenight shift'so thefamily or
caregivers can deep. Sleep time may be
approved during theday if thefamily member
or caregiver works during the night.

requested should
reflect the daily
care needs of the
recipient.

Private duty nursing may be approved for
medically necessary servicesif thefamily
needstimeto perform family or other similar
responsibilities of the family or caregivers
such asgrocery shopping, medical
appointments, or picking up medica supplies.

Private duty nursing may be approved for the
child’sschool hourswhenitismedically
necessary for a nurse in independent practice
(NIP) to accompany the child to schoal. In
many cases, the child meetsWisconsin
Medicaid' seligibility criteriafor PDN, butis
cared for at school by nurses' aides or
laypersons, with aschool registered nurse
(RN) available as needed.
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Flexible hours
allow PDN
recipients and
their families to
use authorized
hours of care over
an extended
period of time.

When determining the number of PDN hours
that will beapproved, thefollowing e ements
will beconsidered:

*  Thechild’ sschoal time.
e Thefamily or caregivers work schedule.
*  Any other pertinent information.

Requesting Pro Re Nata Hours

Pro re nata (PRN), or “as needed,” hours may
be requested when there is a reason to expect
adeviation in the number of scheduled hours
needed due to achangein therecipient’s
needs. Pro re nata hours must be medically
necessary and the physician’s orders on the
plan of care (POC) must specify the number
and purpose of the PRN hours requested.

If after using all the PRN hours granted it is
found that additiona hoursare needed, providers
may request an amendment to the PA for more
PRN hours. The amendment must include
documentation stating the datesall previously
granted PRN hours were used and the
activities performed during each PRN hour.

Flexible Use of Weekly Hours

Flexible hoursallow PDN recipientsand their
familiesto use authorized hours of care over
an extended period of time. Hours may be
used in varying amounts over the approved
period of time to meet the needs of the
recipient and hisor her family. Flexiblehhours
might be used in situationsinwhich aprimary
caregiver isunable to provide as many hours
of care as usual dueto an acuteillness. Even
though flexible use of hours may be approved,
the hoursmust still be medically necessary.
Any PDN hours used over those hours
approvedintheflexibility period arenot
reimbursable by Wisconsn Medicaid.

Flexibility of hours can be requested to be used
inweek-long blocks of time. Themost common
blocksof timeare periodsof 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 9
weeks. Nurses should devel op a record-
keeping system to keep track of the hours of
care used. Thiswill help to prevent exceeding
the number of hoursapprovedintheperiodin
which flexibility hasbeen authorized.

One suggestion for tracking use of hoursisto
usethe certification period in Element 4 of the
Prior Authorization/Home CareAttachment
(PA/HCA), HCF 11096.

Any timeflexibility isrequested, the date that
each flexibility period starts must beclearly
specified in the POC (Element 15 of the
PA/HCA).

Requesting Flexible Use of Hours

To request flexibility in the use of PDN hours,
recipientsand their families should discussthe
following withthe NIPand physician:

e Hoursof medicaly necessary care required.
*  Thetimeperiodinwhichflexibility will be
used.

For example, if it isdetermined that up to 16
hours per day for seven days per week for a
total of 112 hours per week of PDN services
arerequired and the hourswill be used flexibly
over aneght-week period, the request would
read asfollows:

Private duty nursing RN/licensed practical
nurse (LPN) up to 16 hours per day, seven
days per week (total of 112 hours per
week). Hours to be used flexibly, oneto
24 hours per day, not to exceed 896 hours
inaneght-week period all providers
combined.

Refer to Appendix 5 of this handbook for an
exampleof requesting flexiblehours.

Amending Prior Authorization Requests to
Include Flexible Hours

If an existing PA request has been approved
without flexibility and it isdetermined that the
use of flexible hourswould be of benefit,
providers should request an amendment to the
PA request and obtain new orders from the
physician. The amendment must explain the
reason flexibility isneeded and includethe
specific date that the use of flexible hourswill
Start.
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If achange occursin the recipient’s medical
condition or afamily medical crissarises(e.g.,
the extended illness of aprimary caregiver),
and the coverage for these events cannot be
accommodated within the authorized use of the
flexiblehoursduring theflexibility period,
nurses should submit arequest for additional
hoursthrough an amendment to the original PA
request. The amendment must explain the
reason for the additional hoursin detail;
however, most events can be accommodated
throughtheuse of flexibility.

Required Documentation
for Prior Authorization
Requests

Nurses in independent practice are required to
submit the following formsfor PA requests:

e Prior Authorization Request Form.

»  Private Duty Nursing Prior Authorization
Acknowledgment, HCF 11041,

» Either the PA/HCA or the recipient’s
POC in another format that contains all of
the components requested in the compl etion
instructions of the PA/HCA.

Prior Authorization Request Form

The PA/RF isused by Wisconsin Medicaid and
ismandatory for providers when requesting PA.
The PA/RF serves as the cover page of a PA
request. Refer to Appendices 6-9 of this
handbook for completioninstructionsand
sample PA/RFs. Refer to the Prior Authorization
section of the All-Provider Handbook for
information on obtaining the PA/RF.

Providersarerequired to indicate the provider,
recipient, and basic serviceinformation on the
PA/RF. Each PA request is assigned a unique
seven-digit number. This PA number must be
indicated on aclaim for the service because it
identifies the service as one that has been prior
authorized.

The total hours requested on the PA/RF
cannot exceed the number of hours on the
physician-signed POC.

In accordance with HFS 107.12(2)(c), Wis.
Admin. Code, an LPN isrequired to indicate
on the PA/RF the name, credentias, and
license number of the RN or physician who
has agreed to provide supervision of the LPN’s
performance. Refer to Appendix 8 of this
handbook for a sample PA/RF.

Asspecifiedin HFS 107.12(2)(d), Wis. Admin.
Code, a PA request for care for arecipient
who requires more than one nurse to provide
medically necessary care shadl includethe
name and license number of the RN performing
coordination responsibilities. Refer to Appendix
7 of this handbook for a sample PA/RF.

For aventilator-dependent recipient receiving
PDN services, a PA request shall include the
name and license number of the RN who is
responsiblefor coordination of all careprovided
under Wisconsin Medicaid for therecipientin
hisor her home as stated in HFS 107.113(3)(a),
Wis. Admin. Code-Refer toAppendix 8 of this
handbook for a sample PA/RF.

Private Duty Nursing Prior
Authorization Acknowledgment

WisconsinM edi caid requires nursesto submit
acompleted and signed Private Duty Nursing
Prior Authorization Acknowledgment with all
PA requests. This form acknowledges that the
recipient or therecipient’slegal representative
has read the POC and PA request. The
Private Duty Nursing Prior Authorization
Acknowledgment, islocatedin Appendix 2 of
thishandbook for photocopying and may aso
be downloaded and printed from the Medicaid
Web site.

Prior Authorization Attachments

Providers are required to attach a copy of
either the PA/HCA or the recipient’'s POC in
another format that contains all of the
componentsrequested inthe completion
instructions of the PA/HCA to the PA request.
Refer to the Plan of Care chapter of this
handbook for moreinformetion.
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requires nurses to
submit a
completed and
signed Private Duty
Nursing Prior
Authorization
Acknowledgment
with all PA
requests.



For initial or
renewal requests,
providers are
encouraged to
submit PA requests
at least 30 days
before they plan to
begin providing
services.

Submitting Prior
Authorization Requests

For initia or renewal requests, providersare
encouraged to submit PA requests at least 30
daysbeforethey plan to begin providing
services. Prior authorization requests may be
submitted no earlier than 62 days prior to the
requested effective date.

Refer to the Prior Authorization section of the
All-Provider Handbook for specificinstructions
on submitting PA requests by mail, fax, or the
Web. Providers are encouraged to retain copies
of al PA requests and supporting documentation
before sending them to Wisconsin Medicaid.

Prior Authorization
Effective Dates

Each approved PA request has a grant (start)
date and an expiration (end) date. Prior
authorization regquests are gpproved for varying
periodsof timebased onclinical justification
submitted. Refer tothe Prior Authorization
sectionof theAll-Provider Handbook for further
information on grant and expiration dates.

Prior Authorization
Responses

Prior authorization decisionsaremadewithin
20 working days from the receipt of all
information necessary to process the request.
(Most decisions are made within 10 working

days.)

After the clerical and clinical reviews of the
PA request are complete, one of the following
decisionsis made for the PA request:

* Approved.
*  Approvedwithmodification.

e Returnedtothe provider for additional
information or clarification.

e Denied.

It isessentia that providersrefer to the Prior
Authorization section of theAll-Provider
Handbook for detailed information about each

type of response.

Providers should review the comments made
by Wisconsin Medicaid on the PA/RF and take
appropriate action. Providers are required to
keep therecipient informed throughout the
entire PA process.

Prior Authorization
Backdating

Backdating a PA request to a date prior to
Wisconsin Medicaid'sinitial receipt of the
request may bedlowedinlimited circumstances.

Each nurseissolely responsiblefor submitting
PA requestsin atimely manner. Failureto do
S0 may result in denied PA requests.

Initial Requests

Aninitial PA request may be backdated up to

14 calendar days from the first date of receipt
by Wisconsin Medicaid. For backdating to be

authorized, both of thefollowing criteriamust

bemet:

e Theprovider specifically requests
backdating in writing on the PA request.

*  Therequestincludesclinical judtification
for beginning the service before PA was
granted.

Extraordinary Circumstances

In the following cases, a PA request may be
backdated for more than 14 days:

e A court order or hearing decision requiring
Wisconsin Medicaid coverageis attached
to the PA request.

* Therecipientisretroactively digible.
(Indicate in Element 19 of the PA/RF that
the service was provided during aperiod of
retroactiverecipient digibility. Indicatethe
actual date the service was provided in
Element 14.)
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Subsequent Requests Will Not Be
Backdated

Wisconsin Medicaid will not backdate
subsequent PA requests for continuation of
ongoing services. To prevent alapsein
coverage, al subsequent PA requests must
arriveat Wisconsin Medicaid prior to the
expiration date of the previous PA.

Returned Requests

Aninitial PA request returned for additional
information may be backdated 14 calendar
daysfromthe dateit wasinitialy received by
Wisconsin Medicaid if theadditional corrected
informationisreturned with theorigina PA/RF.
Reasons for returned requests are outlined in
the Prior Authorization section of theAll-
Provider Handbook.

Amendment Requests

Prior authorization amendment requests may
be backdated 14 calendar days from the date
of receipt by Wisconsin Medicaid if the request
isfor urgent situationsin which medical
necessity could not have been predicted.

Denied Requests

Once a PA request has been denied, that PA
number can no longer be used. A new PA
number must be used with anew request. A
new request following adenia may be
backdated to the original date the denied
request was received by Wisconsin Medicaid
when dl of thefollowing criteriaare met:

* Theealier grant date is requested.

* Thedenied PA request isreferred to in
writing.

*  Thenew PA request has information to
justify gpproval.

»  Therequest for reconsideration submitted
with additiona supporting documentationis
received within 14 calendar days of the
adjudication dateon the original denied PA
request.

Amending an Approved or
Modified Prior
Authorization Request

Under certain circumstances, providers may
amend an approved or modified PA. Examples
of these types of circumstancesinclude, but

arenot limited to, thefollowing:
Wisconsin Medicaid

«  Therecipient' sMedicaididentification will not backdate

number changes. subsequent PA
¢ Thereisashort-term changein the requests for
continuation of

recipient’smedical conditionandthe
frequency of a service needs to be
modified temporarily, regardless of
whether it is an increase or decrease in
level of care or hours. Physician orders
that reflect the change are required.

e A provider reduces the number of hours of
service because another provider beginsto
share the case. Requests for additiona
services by another-provider may be
denied.if the number of hoursonthefirst
PA are not reduced at the same time.

* ~Thereisachangein case coordination
responsibilitieson aventilator-dependent
recipient’'s case.

ongoing services.

Providers may also submit areconsideration
request in the form of an amendment when a
request has been modified. Providers may
request reconsideration by submitting an
amendment request with additional
documentation that supportstheorigina
request. The amendment request should be
received within 14 calendar days of the
adjudication date onthe original PA/RF or
amendment. If the amendment request is
approved, Wisconsin Medicaid will notify the
provider of the effective date.

Note: If thereisasignificant, long-term
change that requires a new POC, then
Wisconsin Medicaid recommendsthat
providers enddate the current PA and
submit a new PA request.
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An NIP may
accompany a
recipient who is
traveling out-of-
state only when a
PA amendment
request is
submitted
requesting out-of-
state travel.

Theamendment request shouldinclude:

e Acompleted Prior Authorization
Amendment Request, HCF 11042,
describing the specific change requested
and the reason for the request. Provide
sufficient detail for Wisconsn Medicaidto
determine the medical necessity of the
requested services.

» A copy of the PA/RF to be amended (not
a new PA/RF).

* A copy of the updated PA/HCA,
the recipient’s POC in another format that
contains all of the components requested in
the completion ingtructions of the PA/HCA,
or the physician’s orders. If current orders
continue to be compatible with the new
request, new orders are not necessary.

e Additiona supporting materialsor medical
documentation explaining or justifying the
requested changes.

Thecompletioninstructionsand Prior
Authorization Amendment Request arelocated
inAppendices 10 and 11 of this handbook for
photocopying and may also be downl oaded and
printed from the Medicaid Web site.

Enddating a Prior
Authorization Request

When arecipient choosesto discontinue
receiving prior authorized servicesor a
provider choosesto discontinuedelivering prior
authorized services, thehilling provider should
request the PA be enddated. Thiswill facilitate
therecipient’seligibility for other care, if
necessary.

To enddate aPA, the provider should submit
an amendment request and amend the
expiration date of the PA to show the actua
date of discharge.

Out-of-State Private Duty
Nursing

Occasionaly, arecipient may request that an
NIP accompany him or her on out-of-state
travel to assist with skilled nursing needs. An
NIP may accompany arecipient whois
traveling out-of-state only when a PA
amendment request is submitted requesting
out-of -state travel.

For additional policy detailson out-of-state
certification, providers may refer to the
Certification and Ongoing Responsihilitiesand
the Prior Authorization sectionsof theAll-
Provider Handbook.

Out-of-State Prior Authorization
Request Requirements

AnNIPisrequired to meet thefollowing
requirements when accompanying arecipient
on out-of-state travel:

*  Therecipient must beeligiblefor PDN
servicesasdefined in the Covered
Servicesand Related Limitations chapter
of thishandbook.

. Authorizationfor caresprovided when
accompanying arecipient out-of-state can
not exceed the number of hoursthe
recipient isauthorized to receive on hisor
her current PA.

» Authorizationislimitedto 12 hoursineach
24-hour period and 60 hoursin acalendar
week for any one nurse.

Nursesin independent practice requesting to
accompany arecipient on out-of-state travel
areresponsiblefor verifying licensure
requirementsin the state(s) in which they will
beproviding services.
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Procedure for Obtaining
Authorization for Out-of-State
Travel

An NIP requesting authorization to accompany
arecipient out-of-state is required to submit a
Prior Authorization Amendment Request. The

request shouldinclude: An NIP requesting
authorization to

»  Aphysician’sorder indicating therecipient accompany a
ismedically stableto travel to the out-of- recipient out-of-
state destination. state is required

e Thereason for the travel. to submit a Prior

«  The name of the state to which the Authorization
recipientistraveling. Amendment

«  Thedatesof travel. Request.

e Thename of acontact physicianin the
date of destination (if oneisavailable).

e A copy of the current PA/RF.

Each NIP that will be accompanying the
recipient needs to amend his or her own PA.
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When billing
Wisconsin
Medicaid, providers
may submit claims
electronically

or on paper.

Claims Submission

To recelvereimbursement, claimsand
adjustment requests must be received by
Wisconsin Medicaid within 365 daysof the
date of service (DOS). To receive
reimbursement for claimsand adjustment
requests for coinsurance, copayment, and
deductible must bereceived by Wisconsin
Medicaid within 365 days of the DOS.

For moreinformation about exceptionsto the
clamssubmissondeadline, Medicaid
remittanceinformation, adjustment requests,
and returning overpayments, refer to the
Claimslnformation section of theAll-Provider
Handbook.

Claims Submission
Options

When billingWisconsin Medicaid, providers
may submit claimselectronically or on paper.
All claims, whether electronic or paper, are
subject to the same Medicaid processing and
legd requirements.

Providers are encouraged to submit claims
electronicaly. Electronic clamssubmission:

e Improves cash flow.

* Reduces clerical effort.

*  Reduceshilling and processing errors.
*  Allowsflexiblesubmisson methods.

e Adaptsto existing systems.

o Offersefficient and timely payments.

For further information on submitting claims
electronicaly, providersshould refer tothe
Claims|Information section of the All-Provider
Handbook.

Providers are required to submit a paper claim,
not an electronic claim, when submitting a
claimthat requiresadditiona documentation.

Paper Claims Submission

Providers submitting paper claimsare required
to use the UB-92 claim form. Refer to
Appendices 15-17 of thishandbook for claim
instructionsand sampleclaims.

Wisconsin Medicaid deniesclaimsfor private
duty nursing servicesthat are submitted on any
paper claim form other than the UB-92 claim
form. Photocopied claims are acceptable for
submission aslong astheclamsarelegible.
Do not attach documentation to the claim
unlessitisspecificaly requested by Wisconsin
Medicaid.

To expedite processing of paper claims, follow
these suggestions:

s | Supply all dataaccurately.

e Supply all datain alegiblemanner onthe
faceof theclaimform by printing or typing
information.

*_ Followtheclaimformingtructionsexactly
as stated in this handbook or subsequent
publications.

Obtaining the UB-92 Claim Form

Wisconsin Medicaid doesnot supply theUB-92
claim form. Forms may be obtained from a
number of commercia form suppliers.

Follow-Up to Claims
Submission

Itistheprovider’sresponsibility toinitiate
follow-up procedureson claims submitted to
Wisconsin Medicaid. The Medicaid remittance
information indicates processed clamseither as
paid, pending, or denied.
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Wisconsin Medicaid does not take any further
action on adenied claim until the provider
corrects the information and resubmitsthe
claim. If Wisconsin Medicaid paysaclam
incorrectly, the provider isresponsiblefor
submitting anAdjustment/Reconsideration
Request, HCF 13046, to Wisconsin Medicaid.
Refer to the All-Provider Handbook for
detailedinformation regarding:

*  Adjustment requests.

* Deniedclams.

*  Overpayment.

* GoodFathclams.

*  Remittanceinformation.

Providers may contact Provider Serviceswith
questionsregarding delaysin payment or other
claimssubmission questions. TheAdjustment/
Reconsideration Request formisavailableon
the Forms page of the Wisconsin Medicaid
Web site.

Billing Across Midnight

Providers are required to bill for each DOS
that care was provided. If a nurse provides
care for arecipient across midnight, the nurse
is required to split the billing over two DOS
since the shift extends over two dates. This
means that two modifiers must be used, one
for the hours of the shift occurring before
midnight, and another to designate the hours of
the shift occurring after midnight on the next
caendar day.

For example, if anurse begins carefor a
recipient at 8:00 p.m. on December 1 and ends
care at 4:00 am. on December 2, the nurse
should hill for four hours of care on December
1 with modifier “UH” and four hours of care
on December 2 with modifier “UJ.” Refer to
Appendix 13 of thishandbook for alist of
modifiersand their descriptionsand Appendix
16 of thishandbook for asample claim form of
two shiftsgpanning midnight.

Daylight Savings Time

Wisconsin Medicaid reimbursesonly for the
number of hours actually worked. Providers
who work when daylight savingstime ends are
till required to adheretothelimitationson
authorized services. Authorizationislimited to
12 hoursin each 24-hour period and 60 hours
in acalendar week for any one nurse. Nurses
are expected to adjust their schedulesin
advance to accommodate changes in the clock
time.
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If a nurse provides
care for a recipient
across midnight,
the nurse is
required to split
the billing over two
DOS since the shift
extends over two
dates.



No more than four
modifiers can be
entered for each
day on the claim
form.

Codes for Prior Authorization and

Claims

Thischapter containsinformation about the
codes required for certain components of prior
authorization (PA) requestsand claims
submission for nursesinindependent practice
(NIP).

Revenue Codes

Providers are required to use a revenue code
when submitting claimstoWisconsn Medicaid.
Refer to Appendix 12 of this handbook for a
list of revenue code examples. For the most
current and complete list of revenue codes,
contact the American Hospital Association
Nationa Uniform Billing Committee. Providers
should use the appropriate revenue code that
best describes the service performed.

Date of Service

Under specifie circumstances, providers may
enter up to four dates of service (DOS) on.one
line for each revenue and procedure code
when submitting claims. For further information
on serieshilling, refer to Form Locator 43 of
theclamformingtructionsin Appendix 15 of
thishandbook.

Procedure Codes

When submitting PA requests and claimsfor
private duty nursing (PDN) services, NIP are
required to use the Healthcare Common
Procedure Coding System procedure codes
listedinAppendix 13 of thishandbook.

Nurses providing servicesto ventilator-
dependent recipients may use the Current
Procedural Terminology procedure code
listed inAppendix 13 of thishandbook on PA
requests and claims.

Modifiers

All NIP arerequired to use nationally
recognized modifiers with procedure codes
on PA requests and claim forms. Refer to
Appendix 13 of this handbook for acomplete
list of al modifiers, their definitions, and the
procedure codes to which they apply. No
more than four modifiers can be entered for
each day on the claim form.

Start-of-Shift Modifiers

Nurses providing PDN are required to use
state-defined start-of -shift modifierson claims.
Start-of-shift modifiers are not required on PA
requests.

Providers should choose the start-of-shift
modifier that most closely representsthetime
each shift began. For each day, enter the
modifiersin the order of occurrence. If a
single shift spansover midnight from one day
to the next, providers are required to use two
start-of-shift modifiers. Refer to the Claims
Submission chapter of thishandbook for more
information about billing acrossmidnight.

Professional Status Modifiers

Nurses providing servicesto ventilator-
dependent recipients are required to use one
of two nationally recognized modifiersto
indicatetheir professional status. Professional
status modifiers are required on PA requests
andclams.

Case Coordination Modifier

Registered nurses providing reimbursable
coordination servicesto ventil ator-dependent
recipients are required to use both modifier
“U1” (indicating coordination services) and a
start-of-shift modifier on claims. Only the
“U1” modifier isrequired on PA requests; a
start-of-shift modifier isnot required.
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Units of Service

Private duty nursing services are rounded and
billed in haf-hour increments. If billing multiple
DOSonasngleline(serieshilling), refer tothe
instructionsin Form Locator 43 of the UB-92
Claim Form Instructionsin Appendix 15 of this
handbook. All conditionsoutlinedin Form
Locator 43 must be followed when series

billing.

Rounding Guidelines

The rounding guidelinesfor PDN servicesare
asfollows:

e |f thevisit endsin an increment between
oneand 30 minutesin length, round the
timeto 30 minutesand bill the serviceasa
quantity of .5.

e Ifthevisit endsinanincrement over 30
minutesin length, round up or down to the
nearest 30-minuteincrement, using the
common rulesof roundinglistedin
Appendix 14 of thishandbook.

Prior Authorization
Number

Each PA request is assigned a unique seven-
digit number. This PA number must be
indicated on aclaim for the service because it
identifies the service as one that has been prior
authorized. Nursesareresponsiblefor including
the correct PA number on the claim form. Only
one PA number isallowed per claim.

Diagnosis Code

Providersareresponsiblefor submitting PA
requests and claims using the most current
diagnosiscodes. Claimssubmitted using out-

i : Provid
dated or incorrect codes will be returned to the roygicrs are

responsible for

provider. ns
submitting PA

All claimsfor services provided to ventilator- requests and

dependent recipients must list International claims using the
most current

Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision,
Clinical Modification codeV.46.11
(Dependence on respirator, status) as the
primary diagnosiscode on the claim form.
Wisconsin Medicaidwill not remburseclaims
for respiratory serviceswithout this code.

diagnosis codes.

Clamsfor PDN servicesthat de not include
services provided to aventilator-dependent
recipient do not require aspecific diagnosis
code.
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Appendix 1
Wisconsin Medicaid Private Duty Nursing — A Guide for Medicaid
Recipients and Their Families
(for photocopying)
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(A copy of the Wisconsin Medicaid Private Duty Nursing — A Guide for Medicaid Recipients
and. Their Families brochure-is located on the following pages.)
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A
’mOc.ﬂ WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIVATE DuTY NURSING

Wisconsin Medicaid covers private duty nursing
(PDN) for recipients with medical conditions that
require eight or more hours of skilled nursing care
in a 24-hour period.

*  PDN supplements the care families and other
health professionals are able to provide in the
home.

*  PDN services are generally provided in a
recipient’s home. However, PDN may also be
provided outside the home if the recipient’s
normal activities, like school or work, require
him/her to leave home.

*  Recipients may use their authorized daily
hours of PDN care flexibly over periods of
time up to 8 weeks in length.

*  The number of PDN hours covered daily is
based on medical need and must be prior
authorized by Wisconsin Medicaid medical
consultants.

*  Only Medicaid-certified home health agencies
or independent nurses may provide Medicaid
PDN.

,‘.c_o_zo RECIPIENTS THROUGH

THE PROCESS

If it appears that you, the Medicaid recipient, may
qualify for PDN services, the PDN provider will
work with you and your physician to help you get
the care you need.

If you do not require eight or more hours of skilled
nursing care in-a day, the PDN provider can refer
you to providers of part-time intermittent skilled
nursing care.

PLAN OF TREATMENT

The PDN provider will work with you and your
physician to develop a Plan of Treatment, some-
times called a Plan of Care. A Plan of Treatment
includes:

* A medical assessment.

¢ Medication and treatment orders.
*  Treatment goals.

*  Methods of care to be used.

¢ Plan for care coordination by nurses and other
health professionals:

FAMILY SUPPORT

The PDN provider will ask questions about your
family support needs, including:

*  Your family’s ability to provide medical care.

* Daily schedules — including hours of work,

school, sleep, and care for other family depen-
dents.

N
('JA‘C_U_ZQ RECIPIENTS THROUGH

THE PROCESS (CONT.)

REQUEST FOR PRIOR AUTHORIZATION

Based on the Plan of Treatment and the family sup-
port information, the provider will:

*  Prepare a written prior authorization request.

¢ Obtain a signed statement from you or a respon-
sible family member saying that you or he/she
has read both the Plan of Treatment and the Prior
Authorization Request.

¢ Submit the Prior Authorization Request and the
Plan of Treatment to the Medicaid medical con-
sultants who will review the request.

APPROVAL OF PDN

Medicaid medical consultants will review a request
for prior authorization of PDN services within two
weeks after it is received.

e If the information is not complete, the Prior
Authorization Request will be returned to the pro-
vider.

* If the information is complete, the request will
be approved, modified, or denied.

e If the request is modified or denied, you will
receive a letter explaining the reason for the de-
cision and what further steps you may take.



Appendix 2

Private Duty Nursing Prior Authorization Acknowledgment
(for photocopying)
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(A copy of the Private Duty Nursing Prior Autherization Acknowledgment is located on the
following page.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11041 (Rev. 09/05)

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIVATE DUTY NURSING PRIOR AUTHORIZATION ACKNOWLEDGMENT

Wisconsin Medicaid requires certain information to enable Medicaid to authorize and pay for medical services provided to eligible
recipients.

Recipients are required to give providers full, correct, and truthful information for the submission of correct and complete claims for
Medicaid reimbursement. This information should include, but is not limited to, information concerning eligibility status, accurate name,
address, and Medicaid identification number (HFS 104.02[4], Wis. Admin. Code).

Under s. 49.45(4), Wis. Stats., personally identifiable information about Medicaid applicants and recipients is confidential and is used
for purposes directly related to Medicaid administration such as determining eligibility of the applicant or processing provider claims for
reimbursement. Failure to supply the information requested by the form may result in denial of Medicaid payment for the services.

The information on this form is mandatory. The use of this form is voluntary and providers may develop their own form as long as it
includes all the information on this form and is formatted exactly like this form.

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Allow the recipient, or recipient’s parent, guardian, or legal representative, to read the plan of care and prior authorization (PA)
request. Answer any questions the recipient may have.

2. Have the recipient or the recipient’s legal representative sign and date this form.

3. Attach this completed form to the Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF), HCF 11018, and/or Prior Authorization Amendment
Request, HCF 11042.

4. For more information on private duty nursing documentation, contact Wisconsin Medicaid Provider Services at (800) 947-9627
or (608) 221-9883.

Name — Recipient Recipient Medicaid Identification Number

Prior Authorization Number

| have read the attached Plan of Care and the PA request.

Name — Person Signing Form (Print) Relationship to Recipient
(If Person Signing Form Is Not Recipient)

SIGNATURE — Person Signing Form Date Signed

Check one of the following to identify person signing form.
1 Recipient

1 Recipient’s Parent

1 Guardian

. _Legal Representative




Appendix 3
Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA)
Completion Instructions
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located on-the following pages.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11096A (09/05)

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION / HOME CARE ATTACHMENT (PA/HCA)
COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS

Wisconsin Medicaid requires certain information to enable Medicaid to authorize and pay for medical services provided to eligible
recipients.

Recipients are required to give providers full, correct, and truthful information for the submission of correct and complete claims for
Medicaid reimbursement. This information should include, but is not limited to, information concerning eligibility status, accurate name,
address, and Medicaid identification number (HFS 104.02[4], Wis. Admin. Code).

Under s. 49.45(4), Wis. Stats., personally identifiable information about Medicaid applicants and recipients is confidential and is used
for purposes directly related to Medicaid administration such as determining eligibility of the applicant, processing prior authorization
(PA) requests, or processing provider claims for reimbursement. Failure to supply the information requested by the form may result in
denial of PA or Medicaid payment for the services.

The Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA), HCF 11096, is a plan of care (POC) that may be completed for Wisconsin
Medicaid recipients receiving home care services. The information on this form is mandatory. The use of this form is voluntary and
providers may develop their own form as long as it includes all the components requested on this form. If necessary, attach additional
pages if more space is needed. Provide enough information for Wisconsin Medicaid medical consultants to make a reasonable
judgment about the case.

Retain the original, signed PA/HCA. Attach a copy of the PA/HCA to the Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF), HCF 11018, and
submit it to Wisconsin Medicaid along with any attached additional information. Providers may submit PA requests by fax to Wisconsin
Medicaid at (608) 221-8616. Providers who wish to submit PA requests by mail may do so by submitting them to the following address:

Wisconsin Medicaid
Prior Authorization

Ste 88

6406 Bridge Rd
Madison W1 53784-0088

The provision of services which are greater than or significantly different from those authorized may result in nonpayment of the billing
claim(s).

SECTION | — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

Element 1 — Prior Authorization Number
Enter the unique seven-digit number from the PA/RF. Enter the same PA number in the spaces provided at the top of each subsequent
page of the form.

Element 2 — Name and Telephone Number — Recipient
Enter the name and telephone number, including the area code, of the recipient. If the recipient’s telephone number is not available,
enter “N/A.”

Element 3 — Start of Care Date

Enter the date that covered services began for the recipient in MM/DD/YY format (e.g., March 13, 2005, would be 03/13/05). The start
of care date is the date of the recipient’s first billable home care visit. This date remains the same on subsequent POC until the
recipient is discharged.

Element 4 — Certification Period
Enter the beginning and ending dates of the recipient’s certification period respectively in the “From” and “To” portions of this element in
the MM/DD/YY format. The certification period identifies the period of time approved by the attending physician for the POC.

The “To” date can be up to, but not more than, 62 days later than the “From” date. (Medicare certified agencies should use the
timeframe of up to, but not more than 60 days later.) For certification periods that cover consecutive 31-day months, providers should
be careful not to exceed 62 days.

Services provided on the “To” date are included in the certification period. On subsequent periods of recertification, the certification
period should begin with the day directly following the date listed as the “To” date in the immediately preceding certification period.

Example: Initial Certification Period Subsequent Recertification Period
“From” date 12/01/04 “From” date 02/01/05
“To” date 01/31/05 “To” date 04/03/05
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SECTION Il — PERTINENT DIAGNOSES AND PROBLEMS TO BE TREATED

Element 5 — Principal Diagnosis

Enter the principal diagnosis information. Include the appropriate International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical
Modification (ICD-9-CM) diagnosis code, diagnosis code description, and the date of onset in MM/DD/YY format. If the recipient’s
condition is chronic or long-term in nature, use the date of exacerbation.

Element 6 — Surgical Procedure and Other Pertinent Diagnoses

Enter the surgical procedure information, if any, that is relevant to the care rendered or the services requested. Include the appropriate
ICD-9-CM diagnosis code, diagnosis code description, and the date of the surgical procedure in MM/DD/YY format. The month and
year of the date of the surgical procedure must be included. Use “00” if the exact day of the month is unknown (e.g., March 2005, would
be 03/00/05).

Enter all other diagnoses pertinent to the care rendered for the recipient. Include the appropriate narrative or ICD-9-CM diagnosis code,
code description, and the date of onset in MM/DD/YY format. Include all conditions that coexisted at the time the POC was established
or that subsequently developed. Exclude conditions that relate to an earlier episode not associated with this POC. Other pertinent
diagnoses in this element may be changed to reflect changes in the recipient’s condition.

If a relevant surgical procedure was not performed and there are no other pertinent diagnoses, enter “N/A” (do not leave the element
blank).

SECTION Il — BRIEF MEDICAL AND SOCIAL INFORMATION

Element 7 — Durable Medical Equipment
Identify the item(s) of durable medical equipment (DME) ordered by the attending physician and currently used by the recipient. Enter
“N/A” if no known DME has been ordered.

Element 8a — Functional Limitations
Enter an “X” next to all items that describe the recipient’s current limitations as assessed by the attending physician and the nurse or
therapist. If “Other” is checked, provide further explanation in Element 8b:

Element 8b
If “Other” is checked in Element 8a, specify the-other functional-limitations.

Element 9a — Activities Permitted
Enter an “X” next to all activities that the attending physician permits and/or that are documented in the attending physician’s orders. If
“Other” is checked, provide further explanation in Element 9b.

Element 9b
If “Other” is checked in Element 9a, specify the other activities the recipient is permitted.

Element 10 — Medications

Enter the attending physician’s orders for all of the recipient's medications, including the dosage, frequency, and route of administration
for each. If any of the recipient’'s medications cause severe side effects or reactions that necessitate the presence of a nurse, therapist,
home health aide, or personal care worker, indicate the details of these circumstances in this element.

Element 11 — Allergies
List any medications or other substances to which the recipient is allergic (e.g., adhesive tape, iodine, specific types of food). If the
recipient has no known allergies, indicate “no known allergies.”

Element 12 — Nutritional Requirements
Enter the attending physician’s instructions for the recipient’s diet. Include specific dietary requirements, restrictions, fluid needs, tube
feedings, and total parenteral nutrition.

Element 13 — Mental Status
Enter an “X” next to the term(s) that most accurately describes the recipient's mental status. If “Other” is checked, provide further
explanation.

Element 14 — Prognosis
Enter an “X" next to the one term that specifies the most appropriate prognosis of the recipient.
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SECTION IV — ORDERS

Element 15 — Orders for Services and Treatments

Indicate the following as appropriate for each individual service:

. Number of recipient visits (e.g., home health skilled nursing, home health aide, or medication management), frequency of visits,
and duration of visits ordered by the attending physician’s orders (e.g., 1 visit, 3 times/week, for 9 weeks).

. Number of hours required for recipient visits (e.g., private duty nursing [PDN] or personal care), frequency of visits, and duration

of visits ordered by the attending physician’s orders (e.g., 8 hours/day, 7 days/week, for 9 weeks).

Duties and treatments to be performed.

Methods for delivering care and treatments.

Procedures to follow in the event of accidental extubation, as applicable.

Ventilator settings and parameters, as applicable.

Services include, but are not limited to, the following:
. Home health skilled nursing.

. Home health aide.

. Private duty nursing.

Orders must include all disciplines providing services for the recipient and all treatments the recipient receives regardless of whether or
not the services are billable to Wisconsin Medicaid. Orders indicated on this POC should be as detailed and specific as those ordered
and written by the attending physician.

Pro re nata (PRN), or “as needed,” home care visits or hours may be ordered on a recipient’'s POC only when indicating how these
visits or hours will be used in a manner that is specific to the recipient’s potential needs. Both the nature of the services provided and
the number of PRN visits or hours to be permitted for each type of service must be specified. Open-ended, unqualified PRN visits or
hours do not constitute an attending physician’s orders because both the nature and frequency of the visits or hours must be specified.

Nurses in independent practice (NIP) are required to include the name and license number of the registered nurse (RN) providing
coordination services under this element. An NIP that is a licensed practical nurse is required to include the name and license number
of the RN supervisor under this element.

Element 16 — Goals / Rehabilitation Potential / Discharge Plans

Enter the attending physician’s description of the following:

. Achievable and measurable goals for the recipient.

. The recipient’s ability to attain the set goals, including an estimate of the length.of.time required to attain the goals.
. Plans for the recipient’s care after discharge.

SECTION V — SUPPLEMENTARY MEDICAL INFORMATION

Element 17 — Date Physician Last Saw Recipient
Enter the date the attending physician last saw the recipient in MM/DD/YY format. If this date cannot be determined during the home
visit, enter “Unknown.”

Element 18 — Dates of Last Inpatient Stay Within 12 Months
Enter the admission and discharge dates of the recipient’s last inpatient stay within the previous 12 months, if known. Enter “N/A” if this
element does not apply to the recipient.

Element 19 — Type of Facility for Last Inpatient Stay
Enter one of the following single-letter responses to identify the type of facility of the recipient’s last inpatient stay, if applicable:

e A (Acute hospital). e | (Intermediate care facility).
S (Skilled nursing facility). e O (Other).
e R (Rehabilitation hospital). e U (Unknown).

This element must be completed if a surgical procedure was entered in Element 6. Enter “N/A” if this element does not apply to the
recipient.
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Element 20 — Current Information
For initial certifications, enter the clinical findings of the initial assessment visit for each discipline involved in the POC. Describe the
clinical facts about the recipient that require home care services and include specific dates in MM/DD/YY format.

For recertifications, enter significant clinical findings about the recipient’s symptoms, new orders, new treatments, and any changes in
the recipient’s condition during the past 60 days for each discipline involved in the POC. Document both progress and nonprogress for
each discipline. Include specific dates in MM/DD/YY format.

Include any pertinent information about any of the recipient’s inpatient stays and the purpose of contact with the physician, if applicable.

Element 21 — Home or Social Environment

Enter information that will justify the need for home care services and enhance the Wisconsin Medicaid consultant’s understanding of the

recipient’'s home situation (e.g., recipient lives with mentally disabled son who is unable to provide care or assistance to recipient). Include
the availability of caretakers (e.g., parent’s work schedule). The description may document problems that are, or will be, an impediment to
the effectiveness of the recipient’s treatment or rate of recovery.

Element 22 — Medical and / or Nonmedical Reasons Recipient Regularly Leaves Home
Enter all reasons that the recipient leaves home. Indicate both medical and nonmedical reasons, including frequency of occurrence of
the trips (e.g., doctor appointment twice a month, barbershop once a month, school every weekday for three hours).

Element 23 — Back-up for Staffing and Medical Emergency Procedures
This element is required for all providers requesting PDN services. It is optional for all other home care providers.

Enter the back-up plan for staffing and medical emergency procedures. The following information must be included in this element:
e A plan for medical emergency, including:
v" A description of back-up personnel needed.
v" Provision for reliable, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week emergency service for repair and delivery of equipment.
v' Specification of an emergency power source.
¢ A plan to move the recipient to safety in the event of fire, flood, tornado warning or other severe weather, or any other
condition which threatens the recipient's immediate environment.

SECTION VI — SIGNATURES

Those signing the POC are to acknowledge their responsibilities and consequences for non-compliance. Provider-created formats must
contain the following statement that is included on the PA/HCA:

“Anyone who misrepresents, falsifies, or conceals essential information required for payment of state and/or

federal funds may be subject to fine, imprisonment, or civil penalty under applicable state and/or federal law.”

Element 24 — Signature — Authorized Nurse Completing Form
The nurse completing this PA/HCA is required to sign this form. The signature certifies that the nurse has received authorization from
the attending physician to begin providing services to the recipient.

Provider-created formats must contain the following statement accompanying the authorized nurse’s signature:
“As the nurse completing this plan of care, | confirm the following: All information entered on this form is complete
and accurate. | am familiar with all information entered on this form. | am responsible for ensuring that the plan of
care is carried out as specified. | have received authorization from the attending physician to provide services to
the recipient. | have reviewed the information in this document with the attending physician on the date specified.”

(The date specified refers to the date requested in Element 25.)

Element 25 — Date Reviewed with Attending Physician
Enter the date the nurse signing in Element 24 reviewed the information contained in this document with the attending physician.

Element 26 — Date Received Physician-Signed Form
Enter the date the PA/HCA signed by the attending physician was received by the nurse or in the agency.

Element 27 — Name and Address — Attending Physician
Enter the attending physician’s name and complete address. The street, city, state, and zip code must be included. The attending
physician establishes the POC, certifies, and recertifies the medical necessity of the visits and/or services provided.
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Elements 28 and 29 — Signature and Date Sighed — Attending Physician

The attending physician is required to sign and date the PA/HCA within 20 working days following the initial start of care. A
recertification of the POC requires the attending physician to sign and date the new PA/HCA prior to the continued provision of services
to the recipient.

Provider-created formats must contain the following statement accompanying the attending physician’s signature:
“The recipient is under my care, and | have authorized the services on this plan of care.”

Verbal authorization may be obtained from the attending physician for the initial certification period PA request. The recipient may then
begin receiving home care services; however, the attending physician is required to sign the PA/HCA within 20 working days of the start
of care date.

The attending physician may not give verbal authorization for certification period renewal PA requests. The attending physician is
required to sign the PA/HCA prior to the continued provision of services to the recipient; home care services may not be provided until
the attending physician’s signature is obtained on the form.

The form may be signed by another physician who is authorized by the attending physician to care for the recipient in his or her
absence.

The nurse or agency staff may not predate the PA/HCA for the attending physician or write the date in the field after it has been
returned. If the attending physician has left Element 29 blank, the nurse or agency staff should enter the date the signed PA/HCA was
received in Element 26.
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Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA)
(for photocopying)
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(A copy of the Prior Authorization/Home Care-Attachment [PA/HCA} is located on the following
pages.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11096 (09/05)

information on completing this form.

STATE OF WISCONSIN

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION / HOME CARE ATTACHMENT (PA/HCA)

Instructions: Print or type clearly. Refer to the Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA) Completion Instructions, HCF 11096A, for detailed

SECTION | — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

1. Prior Authorization Number

2. Name and Telephone Number — Recipient

3. Start of Care Date

4. Certification Period

From To

SECTION Il — PERTINENT DIAGNOSES AND PROBLEMS TO BE TREATED

5. Principal Diagnosis (ICD-9-CM Code, Description, Date of Diagnosis)

6. Surgical Procedure and Other Pertinent Diagnoses (ICD-9-CM Code,
Description, Date of Procedure or Diagnoses)

SECTION Illl — BRIEF MEDICAL AND SOCIAL INFORMATION

7. Durable Medical Equipment

8a. Functional Limitations

8b. If “Other” checked in Element 8a, specify other functional limitations.

1 D Amputation 5 D Paralysis 9 D Legally Blind
2 D Bowel / Bladder 6 D Endurance 10 D Dyspnea with
(Incontinence) Minimal Exertion
3 D Contracture 7 D Ambulation 11 D QOther (Specify in
Element 8b)
4 D Hearing 8 D Speech
9a. Activities Permitted 9b. If “Other” checked in Element 9a, specify other activities permitted.
1 4 Complete Bedrest 6 [ Partial Weight Bearing 10 [d Wheelchair
2 D Bedrest BRP 7 D Independent at Home 11 D Walker
3 D Up As Tolerated 8 D Crutches 12 D No Restrictions
4 [ Transfer Bed / Chair 9 [ cane 13 [ Other (Specify in
Element 9b)
5 D Exercises Prescribed
10. Medications (Dose / Frequency / Route)
11. Allergies
12. Nutritional Requirements
13. Mental Status 1 [ oriented 3 [ Forgetfu 5 [ Disoriented 7 [ Agitated
2 D Comatose 4 D Depressed 6 D Lethargic 8 D Other
14. Prognosis 1 [ Poor 2 [ Guarded 3 O Fair 4 1 Good 5 [ Excellent

Continued
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HCF 11096 (09/05)

Prior Authorization Number

SECTION IV — ORDERS
15. Orders for Services and Treatments (Number / Frequency / Duration)

16. Goals / Rehabilitation Potential / Discharge Plans

Continued
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Prior Authorization Number

SECTION V — SUPPLEMENTARY MEDICAL INFORMATION

17. Date Physician Last Saw Recipient | 18.Dates of Last Inpatient Stay Within 12 Months (If Known) 19. Type of Facility for Last Inpatient Stay
(If Applicable)

Admission Discharge

20. Current Information (Summary from Each Discipline / Treatments / Clinical Facts)

21. Home or Social Environment

22. Medical and / or Nonmedical Reasons Recipient Regularly Leaves Home (Include Frequency)

23. Back-up for Staffing and Medical Emergency Procedures (Required for All Providers Requesting Private Duty Nursing Services / Optional for Other
Home Care Services)

SECTION VI — SIGNATURES

Nurse Certification

As the nurse completing this PA/HCA, | confirm the following: All information entered on this form is complete and accurate. | am familiar with all
information entered on this form. | am responsible for ensuring that the plan of care is carried out as specified. | have received authorization from the
attending physician to provide services to the recipient. | have reviewed the information in this document with the attending physician on the date
specified. (The date specified refers to the date entered in Element 25 of this form.)

24. SIGNATURE — Authorized Nurse Completing Form 25. Date Reviewed with Attending Physician 26. Date Received Physician-Signed
Form

Physician Certification
The recipient is under my care, and | have authorized the services on this PA/HCA.

27.Name and Address — Attending Physician (Street, City, State, Zip Code)

28. SIGNATURE — Attending Physician 29. Date Signed — Attending Physician

Anyone who misrepresents, falsifies, or conceals essential information required for payment of state and/or federal funds may be subject to fine,
imprisonment, or civil penalty under applicable state and/or federal laws.
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Appendix 5

Sample Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA)
for Private Duty Nursing Ventilator-Dependent Recipient Services
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(A copy of the Sample Prior Authorization/Home-Care Attachment-[PA/HCA] for Private Duty
Nursing Ventilator-Dependent Recipient Services is located on the following page.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11096 (09/05)

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION / HOME CARE ATTACHMENT (PA/HCA)

Instructions: Print or type clearly. Refer to the Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA) Completion Instructions, HCF 11096A, for detailed
information on completing this form.

SECTION | — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

1. Prior Authorization Number 2. Name and Telephone Number — Recipient
1234567 (987) 654-3210

3. Start of Care Date 4. Certification Period
04/01/05 From 04/01/05 To 06/01/05

SECTION Il — PERTINENT DIAGNOSES AND PROBLEMS TO BE TREATED

5.

Principal Diagnosis (ICD-9-CM Code, Description, Date of Diagnosis) | 6. Surgical Procedure and Other Pertinent Diagnoses (ICD-9-CM Code,
Description, Date of Procedure or Diagnoses)

V46.11 Ventilator-dependent, 03/02/05 31.29 Surgical Procedure — Tracheostomy, 03/02/05

518.81 Respiratory Failure, 03/02/05

SECTION Il — BRIEF MEDICAL AND SOCIAL INFORMATION

7. Durable Medical Equipment
LP6 ventilator, suction machine, ambu bag, concha humidifier
8a. Functional Limitations 8b. If “Other” checked in Element 8a, specify other functional limitations.
1 D Amputation 5 N Paralysis 9 D Legally Blind
2 D Bowel / Bladder 6 EI Endurance 10 D Dyspnea with
(Incontinence) Minimal Exertion
3 [ contracture 7 X Ambulation 11 [ Other (Specify in
Element 8b)
4 D Hearing 8 EI Speech
9a. Activities Permitted 9b. If “Other” checked.in Element 9a, specify other activities permitted.
1 D Complete Bedrest 6 D Partial Weight Bearing 10 N Wheelchair
2 D Bedrest BRP 7 D Independent at Home ~ 11 D Walker
3 ZI Up As Tolerated 8 D Crutches 12 D No Restrictions
4 [ Transfer Bed / Chair o [ cane 13 [ Other (Specify in
Element 9b)
5 Exercises Prescribed

10. Medications (Dose / Frequency / Route)

Vitamin C 500mg daily GT

Bisacodyl suppository 10mg PRN PR (no BM in 3 days)

Neosporin PRN top trach site redness
11. Allergies

Amoxacillin — rash
12. Nutritional Requirements

Pediasure per G-tube QID. Pediasure 100cc bolus to run over 1 hour followed by 60cc H,0. Vent G-tube PRN abdominal discomfort.
13. Mental Status 1 Oriented 3 [ Forgetfu 5 [ Disoriented 7 [ Agitated

2 D Comatose 4 D Depressed 6 D Lethargic 8 D Other

14. Prognosis 1 [ Poor 2 [ Guarded 3 O Fair 4 Good 5 [ Excellent

64
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HCF 11096 (09/05)

Prior Authorization Number

1234567

SECTION IV — ORDERS

15. Orders for Services and Treatments (Number / Frequency / Duration)

RCS RN/LPN 16hrs/day. Hours may be used flexibly. 1 —24 hrs a day, 7 days a week, not to exceed 896 hrs in an 8-week period. Care to
be provided when parents not available due to work, sleep and family responsibility. Nurse or parent to provide cares while in school.

RCS RN will administer all medications, treatments, and other cares as ordered.
RCS LPN will monitor patient (Pt) status and administer all medications, treatments, and other cares as ordered.

Ptis a full code

RN assesses/LPN monitors: Cardiac, respiratory, Gl, GU, neuro, and integumentary systems q shift & PRN.
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Vital signs:
TPR q shift and PRN. Reporting parameters: T>101 <95F, AP >100 <60, SBP >158 <100, DBP >90 <60, R see vent. settings.

Respiratory:
LP6 up to 24 hrs/day. Wean from vent. 2hrs BID as Pt tolerates.
Settings: SIMV mode, Tidal Volume: 0.4, Rate: 24, Low Pressure alarm: 8, sensitivity: -1, Cycling Pressure 0 - 35.

Check settings, internal battery, external battery, alarms, Pt pressures, & in-line temp g shift and PRN.
Humidity: Pt may use Concha system up to 24 hrs/day.

Tracheostomy:
Neonatal Shiley size 3.5. Downsize tube to 3.0 for emergency use. Site care BID & PRN: cleanse with % peroxide % H,O, dry and apply

split gauze dressing. Change inner cannula daily and PRN. Trach tie changes PRN. Trach tube changes to be completed by MD.

Suctioning:
Suction with 8fr. Catheter PRN. Manual ventilation PRN. Oral suction PRN. Check suction machine pressure q shift.

Case coordinator: IM Provider, 87654321. Case coordinator will also provide LPN supervision.

16. Goals / Rehabilitation Potential / Discharge Plans
Goals:

Pt will remain free of respiratory distress or infection. Pt’s airway will be maintained and kept patent. Pt's G-tube will be maintained and
kept patent and free of s/s of infection. Pt will achieve developmental milestones appropriate to age.

Rehab potential: Fair

Discharge:
Discharge will be considered if pt no longer requires trach to maintain airway or parents are able to assume all cares.

Continued
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Prior Authorization Number
1234567
SECTION V — SUPPLEMENTARY MEDICAL INFORMATION
17. Date Physician Last Saw Recipient | 18. Dates of Last Inpatient Stay Within 12 Months (If Known) 19. Type of Facility for Last Inpatient Stay
(If Applicable)
03/30/05 Admission 03/02/05 Discharge 03/30/05 A
20. Current Information (Summary from Each Discipline / Treatments / Clinical Facts)

Pt hospitalized 03/02/05 for respiratory failure. Tracheostomy performed 03/02/05 and was placed on ventilator for life support 03/02/05.
No other complications while hospitalized. Will be discharged home 04/01/05 to parent’s and nurse’s care. Weaning trails initiated in
hospital and will continue when at home.
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Pt is awake and alert. Currently pt on vent. Lung sounds clear but diminished in the bases. Bowel sounds active and is tolerating bolus
tube feedings. Skin is intact. Vital signs WNL. Voiding and BMs WNL.

21. Home or Social Environment

Patient lives with parents and one school-aged sibling. Both parents work full-time outside the home.

22. Medical and / or Nonmedical Reasons Recipient Regularly Leaves Home (Include Frequency)

MD appointments monthly
School 7am — 3pm, 5 days/wk

23. Back-up for Staffing and Medical Emergency Procedures (Required for All Providers Requesting Private Duty Nursing Services / Optional for Other
Home Care Services)

Available back-up personnel include: IM Alternate.
DME provider (IM Dme) will provide 24 hrs/day service for repair and delivery of necessary equipment.

Ventilator and suction machine have battery back-up. Local electric company, police and EMS have been notified of electrical needs.
Emergency procedures for severe weather and fire are posted in the home.

Extra trachs available size 3.0 and 3.5. Ambu bag and face mask readily accessible at all times. Maintain all equipment according to
manufacture’s recommendation.

Emergency plan in event of accidental extubation.

1. Replace the tube using a clean tube.
2. If unable to reinsert tube, occlude stoma and manually ventilate with ambu bag and face mask at usual ventilation rate and activate
EMS.

SECTION VI — SIGNATURES

Nurse Certification

As the nurse completing this PA/HCA, | confirm the following: All information entered on this form is complete and accurate. | am familiar with all
information entered on this form. | am responsible for ensuring that the plan of care is carried out as specified. | have received authorization from the
attending physician to provide services to the recipient. | have reviewed the information in this document with the attending physician on the date
specified. (The date specified refers to the date entered in Element 25 of this form.)

24. SIGNATURE — Authorized Nurse Completing Form 25. Date Reviewed with Attending Physician 26. Date Received Physician-Signed
Form

I M Pr OVI der 03/29/05 03/30/05

Physician Certification
The recipient is under my care, and | have authorized the services on this PA/HCA.

27.Name and Address — Attending Physician (Street, City, State, Zip Code)

IM Physician
1234 Oak St
Anytown, WI 55555

28. SIGNATURE — Attending Physician . . 29. Date Signed — Attending Physician
| M Physi ci an wara0i0s

Anyone who misrepresents, falsifies, or conceals essential information required for payment of state and/or federal funds may be subject to fine,
imprisonment, or civil penalty under applicable state and/or federal laws.
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Appendix 6

Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) Completion Instructions for
Private Duty Nursing Services of Nurses in Independent Practice

Wisconsin Medicaid requires certain information to enable Medicaid to authorize and pay for medical services
providedtoeligiblerecipients.

Recipients arerequired to give providersfull, correct, and truthful information for the submission of correct and
completeclaimsfor Medicaid reimbursement. Thisinformation shouldinclude, butisnot limited to, information
concerning eligibility status, accurate name, address, and Medicaid identification number (HFS 104.02[4], Wis.
Admin. Code).

Under s. 49.45(4), Wis. Stats., personally identifiable information about Medicaid applicants and recipientsis
confidential andisused for purposesdirectly related to M edicai d administration such as determining eligibility of
the applicant or processing provider claims for reimbursement. The Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF),
HCF 11018, isused by Wisconsin Medicaid and is mandatory when requesting PA. Failure to supply the
information requested by the form may result in denial of Medicaid payment for the services.

Providers may submit PA requests along with all applicable service-specific attachments, including the Prior
Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA), HCF 11096, and/or the Prior Authorization Amendment
Request, HCF 11042, by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616 or by mail to the following address:

WisconsinMedicaid
Prior Authorization

Ste 88

6406 Bridge Rd
Madison WI 53784-0088

The provision of servicesthat are greater than or significantly different from those authorized may result in
nonpayment of thebilling claim(s).

Note: Wisconsin Medicaid accepts PA requests with a maximum of 12 details per PA number. The Wisconsin
Medicaid PA/RF has space for five items. If a provider’s PA request requires more than five items to be
listed, the provider may continue the PA request on a second and third PA/RF. When submitting a PA
request with multiple pages, indicate the page number and total number of pages for the PA/RF in the
upper right-hand corner (e.g., “page 1 of 2" and “page 2 of 2"). On the form(s) used for page 2 and, if
appropriate, page 3, cross out the seven-digit PA number and write the PA number from the first form.
Refer to theinstructionsin Element 22 for more information.

SECTION | — PROVIDER INFORMATION

Element 1 — Name and Address — Billing Provider

Enter the name and complete address (street, city, state, and zip code) of the billing provider. The name listed in
this element must correspond with the Medicaid provider number listed in Element 4. No other information
should be entered in this element, since it also serves as a return mailing label.

Element 2 — Telephone Number — Billing Provider
Enter the telephone number, including the area code, of the place of business of the billing provider.
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Appendix 6
(Continued)

Element 3 — Processing Type

Enter three-digit processing type “120" — Home Health/Nurses in Independent Practice/Respiratory Care
Services. The processing type is used to identify a category of service requested. Prior authorization requests
will bereturned without adjudication if no processing typeisindicated.

Element 4 — Billing Provider’s Medicaid Provider Number
Enter the eight-digit Medicaid provider number of the billing provider. The provider number in this element must
correspond with the provider name listed in Element 1.

SECTION 1l — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

X
©
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Q
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Element 5 — Recipient Medicaid ID Number

Enter the recipient’s 10-digit Medicaid identification number. Do not enter any other numbers or letters. Use the
recipient’sMedicaid identification card or the Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (EV S) to obtain the
correct identification number.

Element 6 — Date of Birth — Recipient
Enter the recipient’ s date of birthin MM/DD/YY format (e.g., September 8, 1966, would be 09/08/66).

Element 7 — Address — Recipient
Enter the complete address of the recipient’s place of residence, including the street, city, state, and zip code. If
therecipient isaresident of anursing home or other facility, include the name of the nursing home or facility.

Element 8 — Name — Recipient

Enter the recipient’ s last name, followed by hisor her first name and middle initial. Use the EV S to obtain the
correct spelling of the recipient’ s name. If the name or spelling of the name on the Medicaid identification card
and the EV S do not match, use the spelling from the EVS.

Element 9 — Sex — Recipient
Enter an “X” in the appropriate box to specify male or female.

SECTION 111 — DIAGNOSIS / TREATMENT INFORMATION

Element 10 — Diagnosis — Primary Code and Description
Enter the appropriate International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification
(ICD-9-CM) diagnosis code and description most relevant to the service/procedure requested.

Element 11 — Start Date — SOI (not required)
Element 12 — First Date of Treatment — SOI (not required)

Element 13 — Diagnosis — Secondary Code and Description
Enter the appropriate secondary |CD-9-CM diagnosis code and description relevant to the service/procedure
requested, if applicable.

Element 14 — Requested Start Date
Enter the requested start date for service(s) in MM/DD/Y'Y format, if a specific start date is requested.

Element 15 — Performing Provider Number (not required)

Element 16 — Procedure Code
Enter the appropriate Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) code or Heathcare Common Procedure
Coding System (HCPCS) code.
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Appendix 6
(Continued)

Element 17 — Modifiers

Nursesin independent practice providing services to a ventilator-dependent recipient are required to enter either
modifier “TE” (LPN/LVN*) or “TD” (RN**) corresponding to the procedure code listed in Appendix 13 of this
handbook. If case coordination serviceswill be provided to aventilator-dependent recipient, modifier “U1” must
aso beindicated. If the recipient is not ventilator dependent, providers do not enter amodifier.

Element 18 — POS
Enter the appropriate place of service (POS) code(s) designating where the requested service would be provided.

POS Code Description Z
03 School 3
12 Home ;%
9 Other Place of Service

Element 19 — Description of Service

Enter awritten description corresponding to the appropriate CPT code or HCPCS code listed. Indicate in the
description the credentials of theindividual who provided the service (e.g., LPN, RN). When requesting private
duty nursing, indicate the number of hours per day, number of days per week, multiplied by the total number of
weeks being requested.

The name and license number of the RN coordinator of services must be indicated in this element. Also, the
LPN isrequired to indicate the name and license number of his or her supervising RN.

If sharing a case with another provider,.enter “shared case’” ‘and include a statement that the total number of
hours of all providerswill not exceed the combined total number of hours ordered on the physician’s plan of care.

Element 20 — QR
Enter the appropriate quantity (e.g.,.number of services) requested for the procedure code listed.

Element 21 — Charge
Enter the usual and customary charge for each service requested.

Note: The charges indicated on the request form should reflect the provider’s usual and customary charge for
the procedure requested. Providers are reimbursed for authorized services according to the provider
Terms of Reimbursement issued by the Department of Health and Family Services.

Element 22 — Total Charges

Enter the anticipated total charge for this request. If the provider completed a multiple-page PA/RF, the total
charges should be indicated in Element 22 of the last page of the PA/RF. On the preceding pages, Element 22
should refer to the last page (for example, “ SEE PAGE TWO.”)

Element 23 — Signature — Requesting Provider
Theoriginal signature of the provider performing this service/procedure must appear in this element.

Element 24 — Date Signed
Enter the month, day, and year the PA/RF was signed (in MM/DD/YY format).

Do not enter any information below the signature of the requesting provider — this space is reserved for
Wisconsin Medicaid consultants and analysts.

* LPN/LVN = Licensed practical nurse/Licensed vocational nurse.
** RN = Registered nurse.
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Appendix 7

Sample Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) for
Private Duty Nursing Services

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing HFS 106.03(4), Wis. Admin. Code

HCF 11018 (Rev. 10/03)
WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION REQUEST FORM (PA/RF)

Providers may submit prior authorization (PA) requests by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616; or, providers may send the completed form with
attachments to: Wisconsin Medicaid, Prior Authorization, Suite 88, 6406 Bridge Road, Madison, WI 53784-0088. Instructions: Type or print clearly. Before
completing this form, read your service-specific Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) Completion Instructions.

>
S
°
@
>
=
X

FOR MEDICAID USE — ICN AT Prior Authorization Number

5555555

SECTION | — PROVIDER INFORMATION

1. Name and Address — Billing Provider (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 2. Telephone Number — Billing 3. Processing
Provider Type
.M. Provider (555) 123-4567
987 N Elm St . R
Anytown WI 55555 4N.ulr3T|]IkI)|2? Provider's Medicaid Provider 120
87654321
SECTION Il — RECIPIENT INFORMATION
5. Recipient Medicaid ID Number 6. Date of Birth — Recipient 7. Address — Recipient (Street, City, State, Zip Code)
(MM/DD/YY)
1234567890 01/14/02 1234 Oak St
8. Name — Recipient (Last, First, Middle Initial) 9. Sex — Recipient
o am F Anytown WI 55555
Recipient, Ima A.

SECTION IIl — DIAGNOSIS / TREATMENT INFORMATION

10. Diagnosis — Primary.Code and Description 11. Start Date — SOI 12. First Date of Treatment — SOI
770.7 — Bronchopulmonary dysplasia
13. Diagnosis — Secondary Code and Description 14. Requested Start Date
343.9 — Infantile cerebral palsy 07/01/05
15. Performing 16. Procedure Code | 17. Modifiers 18. 19. Description of Service 20. QR 21. Charge
Provider Number 1 2 3 4 | POS

LPN/PDN not to exceed 12 hours per 24-hou
S9124 12,99 |period and 60 hours per calendar week, all
Medicaid recipients combined

3,120 hrs XX.XX

Coordinator: name, license number

Supervising RN: name, license number
An approved authorization does not guarantee payment. Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility of the recipient and provider at the time the service is
provided and the completeness of the claim information. Payment will not be made for services initiated prior to approval or after the authorization expiration 22. Total
date. Reimbursement will be in accordance with Wisconsin Medicaid payment methodology and policy. If the recipient is enrolled in a Medicaid HMO at the time Charges X,XXX.XX
a prior authorized service is provided, Medicaid reimbursement will be allowed only if the service is not covered by the HMO.

1. M. Requesting " peiorios.

FOR MEDICAID USE Procedure(s) Authorized: Quantity Authorized:

23. SIGNATURE — Requesting Provider

a Approved

Grant Date Expiration Date

1 Modified — Reason:

) Denied — Reason:

1 Returned — Reason:

SIGNATURE — Consultant / Analyst Date Signed
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Appendix 8

Sample Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) for
Private Duty Nursing for a Ventilator-Dependent Recipient

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing HFS 106.03(4), Wis. Admin. Code

HCF 11018 (Rev. 10/03)
WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION REQUEST FORM (PA/RF)
Providers may submit prior authorization (PA) requests by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616; or, providers may send the completed form with

attachments to: Wisconsin Medicaid, Prior Authorization, Suite 88, 6406 Bridge Road, Madison, WI 53784-0088. Instructions: Type or print clearly. Before
completing this form, read your service-specific Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) Completion Instructions.

FOR MEDICAID USE — ICN AT Prior Authorization Number

5555555

SECTION | — PROVIDER INFORMATION

1. Name and Address — Billing Provider (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 2. Telephone Number — Billing 3. Processing
Provider Type
.M. Provider (555) 123-4567
987 N Elm St 4. Billing Provider’'s Medicaid Provider 120
Anytown WI 55555 Number
87654321
SECTION Il — RECIPIENT INFORMATION
5. Recipient Medicaid ID Number 6. Date of Birth — Recipient 7. Address — Recipient (Street, City, State, Zip Code)
(MM/DD/YY)
1234567890 06/25/68
N — - - — — 1234 Oak St
. Name — Recipient (Last, First, Middle Initial) 9. Sex — Recipient
Recipient, Ima A.
SECTION Illl — DIAGNOSIS / TREATMENT INFORMATION
10. Diagnosis — Primary Code and Description 11. Start Date — SOI 12. First Date of Treatment — SOI
V46.11 — Respirator
13. Diagnosis — Secondary Code and Description 14. Requested Start Date
335.20 — ALS 08/01/05
15. Performing 16. Procedure Code | 17. Modifiers 18. 19. Description of Service 20. QR 21. Charge
Provider Number 1 2 3 4 | POS
LPN/PDN w/ vent services not to exceed 12
99504 TE 12,99|hours per 24-hour period and 60 hours per |3,120 hrs XX XX
calendar week, all Medicaid recipients
combined

Coordinator: name, license number

Supervising RN: name, license humber
An approved authorization does not guarantee payment. Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility of the recipient and provider at the time the service is

provided and the completeness of the claim information. Payment will not be made for services initiated prior to approval or after the authorization expiration 22. Total
date. Reimbursement will be in accordance with Wisconsin Medicaid payment methodology and policy. If the recipient is enrolled in a Medicaid HMO at the time Charges
a prior authorized service is provided, Medicaid reimbursement will be allowed only if the service is not covered by the HMO.

X, XXX XX

. 24. Date Signe
1. M. Requesting " o005,

FOR MEDICAID USE Procedure(s) Authorized: Quantity Authorized:

23. SIGNATURE — Requesting Provider

d Approved

Grant Date Expiration Date

J Modified — Reason:

] Denied — Reason:

] Returned — Reason:

SIGNATURE — Consultant / Analyst Date Signed
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Appendix 9

Sample Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) for
Private Duty Nursing for a Ventilator-Dependent Recipient
with a Request for Case Coordination

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing HFS 106.03(4), Wis. Admin. Code

HCF 11018 (Rev. 10/03)
WISCONSIN MEDICAID

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION REQUEST FORM (PA/RF)

Providers may submit prior authorization (PA) requests by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616; or, providers may send the completed form with >
attachments to: Wisconsin Medicaid, Prior Authorization, Suite 88, 6406 Bridge Road, Madison, WI 53784-0088. Instructions: Type or print clearly. Before —-g
completing this form, read your service-specific Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF) Completion Instructions. %
o

FOR MEDICAID USE — ICN AT Prior Authorization Number =3

SECTION | — PROVIDER INFORMATION

1. Name and Address — Billing Provider (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 2. Telephone Number — Billing 3. Processing
Provider Type
I.M. Provider (555) 123-4567
987 N Elm St 4. Billing Provider's Medicaid Provider 120
Anytown WI 55555 Number
87654321

SECTION Il — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

5. Recipient Medicaid ID Number 6. Date of Birth — Recipient 7. Address — Recipient (Street, City, State, Zip Code)
1234567890 (MWDDIYY) ~ 06/25/68

8. Name — Recipient (Last, First, Middle Initial) 9. Sex — Recipient 1234 Oak St
: - e T N Anytown WI. 55555
Recipient, Ima A. QM /\&F

SECTION Ill — DIAGNOSIS / TREATMENT INFORMATION

10. Diagnosis — Primary Code and Description 11. Start Date — SOI 12. First Date of Treatment — SOI
V46.11 — Respirator
13. Diagnosis — Secondary Code and Description 14. Requested Start Date
335.20 — ALS 09/01/05
15. Performing 16. Procedure Code | 17. Modifiers 18. 19. Description.of Service 20.QR 21. Charge
Provider Number 1 2 3 4 | POS
RN/PDN w/ vent services not to exceed 12
99504 L 12,99\ hours per 24-hour period and 60 hours per [3:060 hrs XX.XX
calendar week, all Medicaid recipients
combined
99504 u Case coordination 5 hrs/month x 12 months 60 hrs XX.XX

Shared case with Agency X. Total hours for
all providers will not exceed total hours on
POC.

An approved authorization does not guarantee payment. Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility of the recipient and provider at the time the service is

provided and the completeness of the claim information. Payment will not be made for services initiated prior to approval or after the authorization expiration 22. Total
date. Reimbursement will be in accordance with Wisconsin Medicaid payment methodology and policy. If the recipient is enrolled in a Medicaid HMO at the time Charges
a prior authorized service is provided, Medicaid reimbursement will be allowed only if the service is not covered by the HMO.

X, XXX XX

24. Date Signed

1. M. Requesting 08/09/05

FOR MEDICAID USE Procedure(s) Authorized: Quantity Authorized:

23. SIGNATURE — Requesting Provider

4 Approved

Grant Date Expiration Date

1 Modified — Reason:

1 Denied — Reason:

1 Returned — Reason:

SIGNATURE — Consultant / Analyst Date Signed
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Appendix 10

Prior Authorization Amendment Request Completion Instructions
(for photocopying)
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(A copy of the Prior Authorization Amendment Request Completion Instructions is located on
the following: pages.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11042A (Rev. 10/05)

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION AMENDMENT REQUEST
COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS

Wisconsin Medicaid requires certain information to enable Medicaid to authorize and pay for medical services provided to eligible
recipients.

Recipients are required to give providers full, correct, and truthful information for the submission of correct and complete claims for
Medicaid reimbursement. This information should include, but is not limited to, information concerning eligibility status, accurate name,
address, and Medicaid identification number (HFS 104.02[4], Wis. Admin. Code).

Under s. 49.45(4), Wis. Stats., personally identifiable information about Medicaid applicants and recipients is confidential and is used
for purposes directly related to Medicaid administration such as determining eligibility of the applicant, processing prior authorization
(PA) requests, or processing provider claims for reimbursement. Failure to supply the information requested by the form may result in
denial of PA or Medicaid payment for the services.

The use of this form is voluntary and providers may develop their own form as long as it includes all the information and is formatted
exactly like this form. If necessary, attach additional pages if more space is needed. Refer to the applicable service-specific handbook
for service restrictions and additional documentation requirements. Provide enough information for Wisconsin Medicaid medical
consultants to make a reasonable judgment about the case.

All of the following must be submitted with the completed Prior Authorization Amendment Request, HCF 11042:

. A copy of the Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF), HCF 11018, to be amended (not a new PA/RF).

. A copy of the updated Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment (PA/HCA), HCF 11096, the recipient’s plan of care in another
format that contains all of the components requested in the completion instructions of the PA/HCA, or the physician’s orders. If
current orders continue to be compatible with the new request, new orders are not necessary.

. Additional supporting materials or medical documentation explaining or justifying the requested changes.

Providers may submit PA adjustment requests by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616 or by mail to the following address:

Wisconsin Medicaid
Prior Authorization

Ste 88

6406 Bridge Rd
Madison W1 53784-0088

The provision of services that are greater than or significantly different from those authorized may result in nonpayment of the billing
claim(s).

SECTION | — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

Element 1 — Today’s Date
Enter today’s date in MM/DD/YYYY format.

Element 2 — Previous PA Number
Enter the seven-digit PA request number from the PA/RF to be amended. The request number is located in the top right section of
the PA/RF.

Element 3 — Name — Recipient
Enter the recipient’'s name as indicated in Element 8 on the PA/RF, including the recipient’s last and first name and middle initial.

Element 4 — Recipient Medicaid Identification No.
Enter the ten-digit recipient Medicaid identification number as indicated in Element 5 on the PA/RF.

SECTION Il — PROVIDER INFORMATION

Element 5 — Name — Billing Provider
Enter the billing provider's name as indicated in Element 1 of the PA/RF.

Element 6 — Billing Provider’s Medicaid Provider No.
Enter the billing provider’s eight-digit Medicaid provider number as indicated in Element 4 on the PA/RF.



PRIOR AUTHORIZATION AMENDMENT REQUEST COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS Page 2 of 2
HCF 11042A (Rev. 10/05)

Element 7 — Address — Billing Provider
Enter the billing provider's address (include street, city, state, and zip code) as indicated in Element 1 of the PA/RF.

Element 8 — Amendment Effective Dates
Enter the dates that the requested amendment should start and end.

SECTION Il — AMENDMENT INFORMATION

Element 9
Enter the reasons for requesting additional service(s) for the recipient.

Element 10
Enter the appropriate procedure code and hours per day, days per week, multiplied by the number of weeks for each service.

Element 11 — Sighature — Requesting Provider
Enter the signature of the provider requesting this amendment.

Element 12 — Date Signed
Enter the month, day, and year this amendment was signed (in MM/DD/YYYY format).



Appendix 11

Prior Authorization Amendment Request
(for photocopying)
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(A copy of the Prior Authorization Amendment-Request is-located on the following page.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES STATE OF WISCONSIN
Division of Health Care Financing
HCF 11042 (Rev. 10/05)

WISCONSIN MEDICAID
PRIOR AUTHORIZATION AMENDMENT REQUEST

Providers may submit prior authorization (PA) amendment requests by fax to Wisconsin Medicaid at (608) 221-8616 or by mail to:
Wisconsin Medicaid, Prior Authorization, Suite 88, 6406 Bridge Road, Madison, W 53784-0088. Instructions: Type or print clearly.
Before completing this form, refer to the Prior Authorization Amendment Request Completion Instructions, HCF 11042A for submission
information.

SECTION | — RECIPIENT INFORMATION

1. Today’s Date 2. Previous PA Number

3. Name — Recipient (Last, First, Middle Initial) 4. Recipient Medicaid Identification No.

SECTION Il — PROVIDER INFORMATION

5. Name — Billing Provider 6. Billing Provider's Medicaid Provider No.

7. Address — Billing Provider (Street, City, State, Zip Code) 8. Amendment Effective Dates

SECTION Il — AMENDMENT INFORMATION

9. List reasons for amendment request.

10. Indicate procedure(s) to be amended by hours per day, days per week, multiplied by the number of weeks.

Registered Nurse

Licensed Practical Nurse

Home Health Aide

Physical Therapist

Occupational Therapist

Speech-Language Pathologist

Personal Care Worker

Other

11. SIGNATURE — Requesting Provider 12. Date Signed




Appendix 12

National Uniform Billing Committee Revenue Codes for
Private Duty Nursing Services

Providerswill be required to use the appropriate revenue codes on the UB-92 claim form for private duty nursing
services. The codesin the following table are examples of codes that might be used.

>
Code Service Description %

>
0550 Skilled Nursing 3
0969 Other Professional Fee

For the most current and complete list of revenue codes, contact the American Hospital Association National Uniform
Billing Committee (NUBC) by calling (312) 422-3390 or writing to thefollowing address:

American Hospital Association
National Uniform Billing Committee
20thH

1N Franklin

ChicagoIL 60606

For more information, refer tothe NUBC Web site at www.nubc.org/.
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Appendix 13

Procedure Code and Modifier Chart for Private Duty Nursing Services

The following table lists the all owabl e procedure codes and modifiers that nurses in independent practice are
required to use when submitting claimsfor private duty nursing services.

Procedure Code and Description
(Limited to current Wisconsin Modifier Start-of-Shift Modifier
Medicaid covered services)

UJ — Services provided at night
(12 a.m. to 5:59 a.m.)

UF — Services provided in the morning

TE (6 a.m. to 11:59 a.m.)

LPN/LVN** UG — Services provided in the afternoon
(12 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.)

UH — Services provided in the evening
(6 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.)

UJ — Services provided at night
(12 a.m. to 5:59 a.m.)
UF — Services provided in the morning
o 99504_ o D (6 a.m. to 11:59 a.m.)
Home visit for mechra]ln|caLvent|lat|on RN*** UG — Services provided in the afternoon
care [per hour] (12 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.)

UH — Services. provided in the evening
(6 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.)

UJ — Services provided at night
(12 a.m. to 5:59 a.m.)
UF —Services provided in the morning
Ul (6.a.m. to 11:59 a.m.)
RN Case Coordinator | UG — Services provided in the afternoon
(12 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.)

UH — Services provided in the evening
(6 p.-m. to 11:59 p.m.)

UJ — Services provided at night
(12 a.m. to 5:59 a.m.)

UF — Services provided in the morning
S9123 (6 a.m. to 11:59 a.m.)

Nlirs;st%fefger;J?s;he thmoeljrgy None UG — Services provided in the afternoon
9 P (12 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.)

UH — Services provided in the evening
(6 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.)

UJ — Services provided at night
(12 a.m. to 5:59 a.m.)

UF — Services provided in the morning
S9124 (6 a.m. to 11:59 a.m.)

|icglnusr::jngrgi;iec,z;lnntjhr(Zehoer;hlgtljr* None UG — Services provided in the afternoon
P ' P (12 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.)

UH — Services provided in the evening
(6 p.m. to 11:59 p.m.)

>
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* Refer to Appendix 14 of this handbook for information about rounding guidelines.
** LPN/LVN = Licensed practical nurse/Licensed vocational nurse.
*** RN = Registered nurse.
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Appendix 14
Rounding Guidelines for Private Duty Nursing Services

Thetotal number of services (hours) billed for each detail line on the UB-92 claim form must belisted in Form Locator
46 of the claim form. Private duty nursing services are rounded and billed in half-hour increments. If the visitisover 30
minutesin length, round up or down to the nearest 30-minute increment, using the common rule of rounding showninthe
followingtable.

p

©

°

0]

>

o

Time (In minutes) Unit(s) Billed =
1-30 0.5
31-44 0.5
45-60 1.0
61-74 1.0
75-90 1.5
91-104 1.5
105-120 2.0
121-134 2.0

Etc.
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Appendix 15

UB-92 (CMS 1450) Claim Form Completion Instructions
for Private Duty Nursing Services Provided by
Nurses in Independent Practice

Usethefollowing claim form compl etion instructions, not theform locator descriptions printed onthe claimform, to
avoid denied claims or inaccurate claim payment. Complete al required form locators as appropriate. Do not include
attachments unless instructed to do so.

>
S
°
@
>
=
X

Theseinstructions are for the completion of the UB-92 (CM S 1450) claim for Wisconsin Medicaid. For complete billing
ingtructions, refer to the National UB-92 Uniform Billing Manual prepared by the National Uniform Billing Committee
(NUBC). The National UB-92 Uniform Billing Manual containsimportant coding information not availableinthese
ingtructions. Providersmay purchasethe National UB-92 Uniform Billing Manual by calling (312) 422-3390 or writing to
thefollowing address:

American Hospital Association
National Uniform Billing Committee
29thFl

1N Franklin

Chicago IL 60606

For more information, refer to the NUBC Web site at www.nubc.org/.

Wisconsin Medicaid recipientsreceiveaM edicaididentification card upon being determined eigiblefor Wisconsin
Medicaid. Alwaysverify arecipient’ seligibility before providing nonemergency servicesby using the Medicaid Eligibility
Verification System (EV S) to determineiif there are any limitationson covered services and to obtain the correct spelling
of the recipient’s name. Refer to the Informational Resources section of the All-Provider Handbook or the Medicaid
Web site for more information about the EV'S.

Submit completed paper claimsto thefollowing address:

WisconsnMedicaid
Claimsand Adjustments
6406 Bridge Rd

Madison WI 53784-0002

Form Locator 1 — Provider Name, Address, and Telephone Number

Enter the name of the provider submitting the claim and the complete mailing address. The minimum requirement isthe
provider's name, street, city, Sate, and ZIP code. The namein Form Locator 1 should correspond with the provider
number in Form Locator 51.

Form Locator 2 — Unlabeled Field (not required)

Form Locator 3 — Patient Control No. (optional)

The provider may enter the patient’sinternal office account number. This number will appear on the Medicaid
remittanceinformation.
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Appendix 15
(Continued)

Form Locator 4 — Type of Bill

Enter the three-digit codeindicating the specific type of claim. Thefirst digit identifiesthe type of facility. The second
digit classifiesthetype of care. Providersof private duty nursing (PDN) are required to bill type*33X.” Thethird digit
(“X™) indicatesthebilling frequency and should be assigned asfollows:

e l=Inpatient admit through dischargeclaim

o 2=Interimbill —firstclaim

e 3=Interimbill — continuing claim

* 4=Interimbill —final claim

Form Locator 5 — Fed. Tax No. (not required)

Form Locator 6 — Statement Covers Period (From - Through) (not required)
Form Locator 7 — Cov D. (not required)

Form Locator 8 — N-C D. (not required)

Form Locator 9 — C-1 D. (not required)

Form Locator 10 — L-R D. (not required)

Form Locator 11 — Unlabeled Field (not required)

Form Locator 12 — Patient Name

Enter the recipient’slast name, first name,-and middleinitia . Use the EV. Sto-obtain the correct spelling of therecipient’s
name. If the name or spelling of the nameon the Medicaid identification card and the EV'S do not match, use the
spellingfromthe EVS.

Form Locator 13 — Patient Address
Enter the complete address of the recipient’s place of residence.

Form Locator 14 — Birthdate

Enter therecipient’sbirth datein MMDDY'Y format (e.g., September 25, 1975, would be 092575) or in
MMDDYYYY format (e.g., September 25, 1975, would be 09251975).

Form Locator 15 — Sex
Specify that the recipientismalewith an “M” or femalewithan “F” If the recipient’s sex is unknown, enter “U.”

Form Locator 16 — MS (not required)
Form Locator 17 — Admission Date (not required)
Form Locator 18 — Admission Hr (not required)

Form Locator 19 — Admission Type (not required)

90 Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare 9 dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/ 4 March 2006



Appendix 15
(Continued)

Form Locator 20 — Admission Src (not required)

Form Locator 21 — D Hr (not required)

Form Locator 22 — Stat (not required)

Form Locator 23 — Medical Record No. (optional)

Enter the number assigned to the patient’s medical/heath record by the provider. This number will appear on the
Wisconsin Medicaid remittanceinformetion.

Form Locators 24-30 — Condition Codes (required, if applicable)

If appropriate, enter acodeto identify conditions relating to this claim that may affect payer processing. Refer to the
UB-92 Uniform Billing Manud for codes.

Form Locator 31 — Unlabeled Field (not required)

Form Locators 32-35 a-b — Occurrence Code and Date (required, if applicable)

If appropriate, enter the code and associated date defining asignificant event relating to this claim that may affect payer
processing. All dates must be printedin MMDDY'Y format. Refer to the UB-92 Uniform Billing Manual for codes.

Form Locator 36 a-b — Occurrence Span Code (From - Through),(not required)

Form Locator 37 A-C — Internal Control Number/Document Control Number (not required)
Form Locator 38 — Responsible Party Name and Address (not required)

Form Locators 39-41 a-d — Value Codes and Amount (not required)

Form Locator 42 — Rev. Cd.

Enter the appropriate four-digit revenue code for the procedure code indicated in Form Locator 44. Enter revenue code
“0001" onthelinewith the sum of al the charges. Refer to Appendix 12 of thishandbook and the UB-92 billing manual
for codes.

Form Locator 43 — Description
Enter the date of service (DOS) in MMDDY'Y format either in thisform locator or in Form Locator 45.

When serieshilling (i.e., billing from two to four DOS onthe sameline), indicate the DOSin the following format:
MMDDYY MMDD MMDD MMDD. Indicate the dates in order of occurence from the firgt to the last of the month.

Providers may enter up to four DOS for each revenue and procedure code if al of the following conditions are met:
» All DOS are in the same calendar month.
» All DOS arelisted in order of occurrence from the first to the last of the month.

» All procedure codes are identical .
* All procedure modifiersareidentical.
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Appendix 15
(Continued)

* All chargesareidentical.
e All quantitiesbilled for each DOS areidentical.

On paper claims, no morethan 23 lines may be submitted on asingleclaim, including the“total charges’ line.

Form Locator 44 — HCPCS/Rates (required, if applicable)

Enter the appropriaefive-digit procedure code, followed by the modifiers, which may include start-of-shift modifiers,
professional status modifiers, and the case coordination modifier. No more than four modifiers may be entered.

Form Locator 45 — Serv. Date

Enter theDOSin MMDDY'Y format either in thisform locator or in Form Locator 43. Do not indicate multiple DOSin
thisform locator. Multiple DOS are required to be indicated in Form Locator 43.

Form Locator 46 — Serv. Units

Enter the number of covered time units. For each DOS, indicate even hours or half-hour increments rounded to the
nearest half hour (one hour = oneunit). If billing multiple DOS on asingleline, the time unitsindicated must be evenly
divisible by the number of daysindicated ontheline. Refer to Appendix 14 of thishandbook for rounding guidelines.

Form Locator 47 — Total Charges

Enter the usual and customary charges for each line. Enter revenue code “0001” to report the sum of al chargesin
Form Locator 47.

Form Locator 48 — Non-covered Charges (not required)

Form Locator 49 — Unlabeled Field (not required)

Form Locator 50 A-C — Payer

Enter al health insurance payers here. For example, enter “T19” for Wisconsin Medicaid and/or the name of
commercia healthinsurance.

Form Locator 51 A-C — Provider No.

Enter the number assigned to the provider by the payer indicated in Form Locator 50 A-C. For Wisconsin Medicaid,
enter the eight-digit provider number. The provider number in Form Locator 51 should correspond with the namein
Form Locator 1.

Form Locator 52 A-C — Rel Info (nhot required)

Form Locator 53 A-C — Asg Ben (nhot required)

Form Locator 54 A-C & P — Prior Payments (required, if applicable)

Enter the actua amount paid by commercia hedlth insurance. (If the dollar amount indicated in Form Locator 54 isgreater
than zero, “ OI-P’ must beindicated in Form Locator 84.) If the commercia hedth insurance denied the claim, enter “000.”

Form Locator 55 A-C & P — Est Amount Due (not required)
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Appendix 15
(Continued)

Form Locator 56 — Unlabeled Field (not required)
Form Locator 57 — Unlabeled Field (not required)
Form Locator 58 A-C — Insured’s Name (nhot required)

Form Locator 59 A-C — P. Rel (not required)

Form Locator 60 A-C — Cert. - SSN - HIC. - ID No.

Enter the recipient’s 10-digit Medicaid identification number. Do not enter any other numbersor letters. Usethe
Medicaid identification card or EV Sto obtain the correct identification number.

Form Locator 61 A-C — Group Name (not required)

Form Locator 62 A-C — Insurance Group No. (not required)

Form Locator 63 A-C — Treatment Authorization Codes (required, if applicable)

Enter the seven-digit prior authorization (PA) number from the approved Prior Authorization Request Form (PA/RF),
HCF 11018. Services authorized under multiple PA regquests must be submitted on separate claim forms with their
respective PA numbers. Wisconsin Medicaid will only accept one PA number per claim.

Form Locator 64 A-C — ESC (not required)

Form Locator 65 A-C — Employer Name (not required)

Form Locator 66 A-C — Employer Location (not required)

Form Locator 67 — Prin. Diag Cd. (required, if applicable)

Enter International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) code V46.11
(Dependence on respirator, status) asthe primary diagnosis code for PDN services provided to a ventilator-dependent
reci pient. Diagnosisdescriptionisnot required. Wisconsin Medicaid denies claimsfor ventil ator-dependent recipients
that do not include this diagnosis code. Claimsfor PDN that do not include servicesfor a ventilator-dependent recipient
do not require adiagnosis code.

Form Locators 68-75 — Other Diag. Codes

Enter the |ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes corresponding to additional conditionsthat coexist at thetime of admission, or
devel op subsequently, and have an effect on the treatment received. Diagnoses that relate to an earlier episode and
have no bearing on this episode are to be excluded. Providers should prioritize diagnosis codes asrelevant to thisclaim.
Etiology (“E”) and manifestation (“M”) codes may not be used asaprimary diagnosis.

Form Locator 76 — Adm. Diag. Cd. (not required)

Form Locator 77 — E-Code (not required)

Form Locator 78 — Race/Ethnicity (not required)

Form Locator 79 — P.C. (not required)
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Appendix 15
(Continued)

Form Locator 80 — Principal Procedure Code and Date (not required)
Form Locator 81 — Other Procedure Code and Date (not required)

Form Locator 82 a-b — Attending Phys. ID
Enter the name and the Unique Physi cian | dentification Number, eight-digit Wisconsin Medicaid provider number, or
licensenumber.

Form Locator 83 a-b — Other Phys. ID (not required)

Form Locator 84 a-d — Remarks (enter information when applicable)

Commercial health insurance billing information

Commercia hedlthinsurance coverage must bebilled prior to submitting Wisconsin Medicaid, unlessWisconsin
M edicaid determinesthe service does not require commercia heath insurancebilling.

If the EV Sindicates that the recipient has dental (“DEN") or has ho commercial health insurance, leave Form Locator
84 blank.

If the EV Sindicates that the recipient has Wausau Health Protection Plan (“HPP”), BlueCross & BlueShield (“BLU”),
Wisconsin Physicians Service (“WPS”), Medicare Supplement (“SUP”), TriCare (“CHA"), visononly (“VIS"), a
health maintenance organization (“HMQ"), or some other (“*OTH") commercia health insurance, and the service
requires other insurance billing accordingto the Coordinati onof Benefits section of theAll-Provider Handbook, then one
of the following three other health insurance (Ol) explanation codes must beindicated in the first line of Form Locator
84. Thedescriptionisnot required, nor isthe policyhol der, plan name, group number, etc.

Code Description

Ol-P PAID in part or in full by commercial health insurance or commercial HMO. In Form Locator 54 of
this claim form, indicate the amount paid by commercial health insurance to the provider or to the
insured.

Ol-D DENIED by commercial health insurance or commercial HMO following submission of a correct

and complete claim, or payment was applied towards the coinsurance and deductible. Do not use
this code unless the claim was actually billed to the commercial health insurer.

ol-Yy YES, the recipient has commercial health insurance or commercial HMO coverage, but it was not
billed for reasons including, but not limited to:

The recipient denied coverage or will not cooperate.

The provider knows the service in question is not covered by the carrier.

The recipient’s commercial health insurance failed to respond to initial and follow-up claims.
Benefits are not assignable or cannot get assignment.

Benefits are exhausted.

AN N NN

Note:  The provider may not use OI-D or Ol-Y if the recipient is covered by acommercid HMO and the HMO
denied payment because an otherwise covered service was not rendered by a designated provider. Services
covered by acommercial HMO are not reimbursable by Wisconsin Medicaid except for the copayment and
deductible amounts. Providers who receive a capitation payment from the commercial HMO may not hill
Wisconsin Medicaid for servicesthat areincluded in the capitation payment.
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Appendix 15
(Continued)

Form Locator 85 — Provider Representative
The provider or the authorized representative must signin Form Locator 85.

Note:  The signature may be a computer-printed or typed name or asignature stamp.

Form Locator 86 — Date
Enter the month, day, and year on which the claim is submitted to the payer. The date must be entered in MMDDY'Y or

MMDDYYYY format.
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Appendix 16

Sample UB-92 Claim Form for Private Duty Nursing Services Provided by
Nurses in Independent Practice Including Shifts Spanning Midnight

APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0279 I‘
!

IM PROVIDER 2 3 PATIENT CONTROL NO
987 N ELM ST 333
ANYTOWN, WI 55555 5 FED. TAXNO. 6 STA‘;’g‘I)AMmTOOVlERS F‘%g?@" 7COVD.| BNCD 9. ¢ID. | 10 LRD.[ 11
(555) 321-1234
T2 PATIENT NAME 73 PATIENT ADDRESS
RECIPIENT, IMA H. 1234 OAK ST ANYTOWN, WI 55555
14 BIRTHOATE 15SEX|16MS| ;e "OMISSION o e | 20 sac |21 O HR |22 STAT[ 23 MEDICAL RECORD NO. u I SONDITION CODES >
092775 F 03 7654321 ] %
h GCCURFENCE % OCCURRENCE gggj ® OCCURRENCE SPAN A @
a 8 3
b c X
a a
b b
c c
d i d
42 REV. CD. | 43 DESCRIPTION 44 HCPCS / RATES 45 SERV.DATE |46 SERV.UNITS 47 TOTAL CHARGES 48 NON-COVERED CHARGES | 49
110550 |070105 S9123 UH 4.0 XXX i XX !
210550 |070205 S9123 UJ UH 8.0 XXX+ XX 2
3l0550 |070305 S9123 UJ 4.0 XXX i+ XX 3
4 4
50001 | TOTAL CHARGES XXXX i XX 5
8 6
7 7
8 8
9 9
10 10
1 "
12 12
13 13
14 14
15 15
16 16
17 17
18 18
19 19
20 20
21 21
22 22
23 23
50 PAYER 51 PROVIDER NO. il 54 PRIOR PAYMENTS 55 EST AMOUNT DUE 56
Al XYZ INSURANCE XXX i XX
B/ T19 MEDICAID 87654321
c
57 b RO PA
58 INSURED'S NAME 59P.REL| 60 CERT. - SSN- HIC. - ID NO. 61 GROUP NAME 52 INSURANCE GROUP NO.
A A
B 1234567890 B
c C
53 TREATMENT AUTHORIZATION CODES #ESC| 65 EMPLOYER NAME 66 EMPLOYER LOCATION
A A
B11234567
c 4
67 PRIN. DIAG CD 8 ooDE ik 10 cobE s OTHERDIAG. CODES i 76 CODE 76 ADM. DIAG. CD. | 77 E-CODE 78
344.00 I‘
79 pC [0 PANCPALPROCEDURE T ool PR PROCEDURE - : 32 ATTENDING PHYS, 1D a
| I IM PRESCRIBING X12345 b
o0 TR PROCEDURE. : - oo | T 83 OTHER PHYS. ID a
b
a| 8¢ REMARKS OTHER PHYS, (D a
b Ol-P _ b
¢ B5 PROVIDER FEPREGENTATIVE 86 DATE
d X TM im dur 080105
UB-92 HCFA-1450 | CERTIFY THE CERTIFICATIONS ON THE REVERSE APPLY TO THIS BILL AND ARE MADE A PART HEREOF.

OCR/Original
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Appendix 17

Sample UB-92 Claim Form for Private Duty Nursing Services Provided to
Ventilator-Dependent Recipients by Nurses in Independent Practice

APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0279 I‘
!

IM PROVIDER 2 3 PATIENT CONTROL NO
987 N ELM ST 333
ANYTOWN, WI 55555 5 FED. TAXNO. 6 STATEMENT COVERS PERICD 7COVD| 8NCD | 9CID. | 10LARD|M
(555) 321-1234
T2 PATIENT NAME 13 PATIENT ADDRESS
RECIPIENT, IMA H. 1234 OAK ST ANYTOWN, WI 55555
14 BIRTHDATE 15 5EX | 16 MS oste "DMISSION e | 20 snc |21 O HR[22 STAT|23 MEDICAL RECORD NO. 2 SONDITION GODES 31 >
092775 F L 03 7654321 S
3(%()DE OCCURF:JEA,;!ECE I 3(43()DE OCCURRDEFEC: B i j ngDE gcRg’:JRHENCE SPA'%HROUGH 37 A 0]
a B B 5
b ¢ x
% B VALDEGODES VALUE CODES
a a
b b
c ¢
d E d
42 REV. CD. | 43 DESCRIPTION 44 HCPCS / RATES 45 SERV.DATE |46 SERV.UNTS |47 TOTAL CHARGES 48 NON-COVERED CHARGES | 49
110550 | MMDDYY 99504 TD UG 9.5 XXX i XX !
20550 | MMDDYY 99504 TD UF 9.5 XXX i XX 2
310550 | MMDDYY 99504 TD UF 6.0 XXX ¢ XX 3
40550 | MMDDYY, MMDD, MMDD, MMDD | 99504 TD UG 24.0 XXX i XX 4
50969 | MMDDYY, MMDD, MMDD, MMDD [99504 Ul UF 4.0 XXX i XX 5
6 6
710001 | TOTAL CHARGES XXXX i XX :
8
9 9
10 10
1 al
12 12
13 13
1 14
15 15
16 16
17 17
18 18
19 19
20 20
21 21
22 22
23 23
50 PAYER 51 PROVIDER NO. LRSS 5¢ PRIOR PAYMENTS 55 EST AMOUNT DUE 56
Al XYZ INSURANCE XXX XX
BIT19 MEDICAID 87654321
C
57 D RO o
58 INSURED'S NAME 59P REL| 60 CERT. - SSN - HIC. - IDNO. 61 GROUP NAME 62 INSURANCE GROUP NO
A A
B 1234567890 B
[ c
§3 TREATMENT AUTHORIZATION CODES szsc| 65 EMPLOYER NAME 66 EMPLOYER LOCATION
A A
B11234567
[ C
67 PRIN. DIAG CD e 10 CoDE - OTHRADIAG. CODES JcoE i 76 ADM. DIAG. CD. | 77 E-CODE 78
V46.11
76 pC [0 PANGPALPROCEDURE T o0 R PROCEOORE T & ATTENDING PHYS. 1D a
| I IM PRESCRIBING X12345 b
g0 THER PROCECURE - ; ; oo FER PROCEDURE 83 OTHER PHYS. ID a
b
a| 8s REMARKS OTHER PHYS. ID a
b Ol-P b
¢ 85 PRIOVIDER REPFESENTATIVE 6 DATE
d X TM “ Brow dun 081505

UB-92 HCFA-1450 | CERTIFY THE CERTIFICATIONS ON THE REVERSE APPLY TO THIS BILL AND ARE MADE A PART HEREOF.

OCR/Original
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Appendix 18
Disposable Medical Supplies Included in Home Care Reimbursement Rate

For the most current list of digposable medica supplies (DM S) included in the home care reimbursement rate, refer to
the DM S Index on the Wisconsin Medicaid Web site. A paper copy of the DM S Index can be downloaded from the
Wisconsin Medicaid Web site or ordered by calling Provider Servicesat (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883.

Disposable medical suppliesincluded inthe home care reimbursement rateinclude, but are not limited to, thoselistedin

thefollowing table. g
@
2
x
Procedure Modifier Description
Code
A4244 — Alcohol per pint
A4365 . Adhesive remover wipes, any type, per 50
(Ostomy use only)
A4402 — Lubricant per ounce
A4455 . Adhesive remover or solvent (for tape, cement,
or other adhesive) per ounce
A4554 Disposable underpads, all sizes
— [when used for purposes other than
incontinence or bowel and bladder programs]
A4927 — Gloves, non-sterile, per 100
A4626 59 Applicators
A4626 22 Cotton balls per 100
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Availability of Records, 22
Billing Across Midnight, 38
Case Sharing, 19
Certification Requirements
for Ventilator-Dependent Services, 8
for Wisconsin Medicaid, 8
Claims Submission, 37
follow-up to, 37
options, 37
Coordination Services
for recipients not ventilator-dependent, 18
for ventilator-dependent recipients, 17
Copayment, 14
Covered Services, 15
Dates of Service, 39
Daylight Savings Time, 38
Diagnosis Code, 40
Disposable Medical Supplies, 17, 101
Documentation Requirements, 21
for medical records, 21
of supervising nurses, 22
after termination as a provider, 23
Emergency Procedures, 12
Hours
flexible, 31

pro re nata, 31

Modifiers, 39, 85

Index

Plan of Care, 25

changes to, 28

developing the, 25
documentation methods, 25
medical necessity and the, 27
obtaining forms, 25
requirements, 27

Prior Authorization, 29

backdating, 33

effective dates, 33

number, 40

required documentation for, 32
responses, 33

responsibility for, 29

services requiring, 29
submission of requests, 33

Prior Authorization Amendment Request

completion instructions, 77
form, 81
information about, 14, 34

Prior Authorization/Home Care Attachment

completion instructions, 49
form, /57

information about, 25, 32
sample form, 61

Prior Authorization Request

amending a, 34
enddating a, 35

Prior Authorization Request Form

completion instructions, 67
information about, 29, 32
sample forms
case coordination, 75
private duty nursing for a ventilator-dependent
recipient, 73
private duty nursing services, 71
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Private Duty Nursing
hours that qualify as, 16
out-of-state, 35
place of service, 16
reimbursement requirements, 16
requesting hours of, 30
requirements, 12

Private Duty Nursing Prior Authorization
Acknowledgment
form, 47
information about, 32

Procedure Codes, 39, 85
Prohibited Fees, 11

Recipients
contracts with, 13
eligibility for private duty nursing services, 15
eligibility for ventilator-dependent services, 15
eligibility verification, 12
responsibilities, 14
rights, 13
terminating service to, 14

Reimbursement not available, 19
Revenue Codes, 39, 83
Rounding Guidelines, 40, 87
Scope of Services, 7
Supervision, 7
UB-92 Claim Form
completion instructions, 89
information about, 37
sample forms
private duty nursing services, 97
private duty nursing services for ventilator-
dependent recipients, 99
Unacceptable Practices, 11

Units of Service, 40

Wisconsin Medicaid Private Duty Nursing — A Guide
for Medicaid Recipients and Their Families, 13, 43
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