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For Wisconsin Medicaid-certified providers

Commonly asked questions about BadgerCare

BadgerCare, which begins in July 1999, processes, reimbursement, and subcontracting
extends Medicaid coverage to uninsured concems.

children and parents with incomes below
185% of the federal poverty level and
who meet the other program require-
ments. A BadgerCare fact sheet is

wisconsin
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Medicaid restricts
billing recipients

The Health Care Financing Administration
(HCFA) recently sent a letter to state Medicaid
directors to alert them about an incident that
occurred in another state. Following is an
excerpt from their letter:

In the past few months we [HCFA]
have received reports of providers
which have inappropriately required
Medicaid patients to make cash pay-
ments for Medicaid covered services.
There have been reports from States of
incidents where an anesthesiologist
would not provide an epidural to a
Medicaid patient in childbirth unless she
paid in advance, with her own funds, for
the procedure. In one instance, the
obstetrician had ordered the epidural in
advance but when the woman was in
active labor, she was refused this
service for lack of pre-payment.

Although an incident such as this has not been
reported in Wisconsin, HCFA has encouraged
state Medicaid programs to inform Medicaid-
certified providers about this situation. In
response to this request, the Medicaid policies
on billing managed care and fee-for-service
recipients are outlined below.

Providers prohibited from billing
recipients for Medicaid-covered
services

Under federal and state laws, a Medicaid
provider must not seek payment from a
recipient, or other person on behalf of the
recipient, for services that are covered under
Wisconsin Medicaid' even if:

*  The provider fails to meet Wisconsin
Medicaid program requirements or fails to
comply with program policy and is denied
Medicaid reimbursement.

e There is a difference between the
provider’s normal charge for a service and
the Medicaid reimbursement to the pro-
vider for that service.

e The provider fails to seek or fails to obtain
necessary prior authorization to perform the
services and is denied Medicaid reimburse-
ment.

See the exception to this requirement under
“Fee-for-service recipient copayments.”

Under state and federal laws, if a provider
knowingly requests payment from an eligible
recipient, or from anyone else on behalf of the
recipient, for Medicaid-covered services,
except for any required Medicaid copayment
amounts, that provider is subject to program
sanctions including termination of Medicaid
certification. In addition, the provider may also
be fined not more than $25.000, or imprisoned
not more than 5 years, or both (as of Dec. 31,
1999, the term will change to 7 years, 6 months)
per s. 49.49(3m), Wis. Stats.

Provider responsibilities for billing
recipients for noncovered services

Wisconsin Medicaid will only reimburse
providers for Medicaid-covered services or
services for which prior authorization has been
approved. If a recipient requests noncovered
services or services for which prior authoriza-
tion was denied, then he or she is responsible
for payment only if the provider informs the
recipient prior to performing the service that it
is a noncovered service and, therefore, he or
she will be responsible for payment. If the
noncovered service is separate or distinct from
a related covered service, such as anti-glare
coating put onto eyeglasses that are covered,
the recipient is only responsible for the
noncovered service if he or she is informed
prior to receiving that service.

Under federal
and state
laws, a Medicaid
provider must
not seek pay-
ment from a
recipient, or
other person,
for services that
are covered
under Wisconsin
Medicaid...
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f a recipient

agrees to
receive a
noncovered
service, the
provider and
recipient should
make payment
arrangements
for that service.

If a recipient agrees to receive a noncovered
service, the provider and recipient should make
payment arrangements for that service.

Fee-for-service recipient copayments

Providers who perform services for fee-for-
service recipients that require recipient Medic-
aid copayment are required to make a reason-
able attempt to collect that copayment from the
recipient, unless the provider determines that
the cost of collecting the copayment, coinsur-
ance, or deductible exceeds the amount to be
collected. Providers may not waive the recipi-
ent copayment requirement. Providers may not
deny services to a recipient for failing to make
a copayment.

Managed care providers must not charge
recipients a copayment.

Recipient liability

If an individual who has already paid for
services he or she has received is determined to
be retroactively eligible for Wisconsin Medicaid,
a Medicaid-certified provider may bill Wiscon-
sin Medicaid within 180 days after the mailing
of the backdated Wisconsin Medicaid identifica-
tion card to the recipient, if the services pro-
vided were Medicaid covered. If a provider
receives reimbursement from Wisconsin
Medicaid for services rendered to a retroac-
tively eligible recipient, then the provider is
required to reimburse the recipient, minus the
copayment amount. The provider is not re-
quired to reimburse the recipient more than the
amount paid by Wisconsin Medicaid according
10 5.49.43 (3m), Wis. Stats.

For more information
Providers
HEFS 104 and 106, Wis. Admin. Code, and Part

A, the all-provider handbook, contain further
information regarding provider rights and

responsibilities, and recipient rights. If you have
further questions, please contact Provider
Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883.

Recipients

If a recipient has questions about recipient
rights or responsibilities, please refer him or her
to Recipient Services at (800) 362-3002.

! Please refer to HFS 107, Wis. Admin. Code, and
to the appropriate service-specific handbook for a
detailed discussion of services covered by
Wisconsin Medicaid. +

Y2K-ready electronic
billing software is

available

Starting July 1, 1999, the Medicaid fiscal
agent will have Year 2000 (Y2K)-ready
electronic billing software available for
providers.

Electronic claims software availability

Year 2000 (Y2K)-ready electronic billing
software distributed by the Medicaid fiscal
agent to submit fee-for-service claims to
Medicaid is now available. This free software
replaces the billing software currently distrib-
uted by the fiscal agent. In June, providers
using the current billing software received a
letter and software request form. Providers
should complete and return the request form to
the fiscal agent to receive the new version of
the software called PACE or EZ-Link. PACE
is used for services billed on the UB-92 claim
form and EZ-Link is used for services billed on
the HCFA 1500 claim form. Please contact the
fiscal agent’s Electronic Media Claims (EMC)
Department at (608) 221-4746 if you:

*  Did not receive the June letter and request
form.
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*  Are not currently using the electronic
claims software and wish to use PACE or
EZ-Link.

*  Have questions.

Providers should install and use the new

software as soon as possible so they can
ensure there are no problems with claim
submissions prior to the year 2000.

Claims submission process

Proservices is the software vendor that devel-
oped the PACE and EZ-Link software. In
addition, Proservices also acts as a claims
clearinghouse for electronic billing claims.
Providers who use the new electronic billing
software will transmit their claims to the fiscal
agent via Proservices. Proservices will then
transfer the claims to the fiscal agent.

System requirements

PACE and EZ-Link software are Windows-
based products. A summary of the system
requirements needed to use the Y2K-ready
software, which was included in the May 1999
Medicaid Update, is as follows:

Hardware requirements

* 166 MHz Pentium level CPU*.
* 32 MB RAM*,

*  Local hard drive.

*  Mouse or trackball.

*  Printer.

e CD-ROM (recommended).

*Please note that system performance may
be affected by the hardware you use. If
you will be processing a large volume of
claims, a 233 MHz Pentium level CPU with
64 MB of RAM may be a more appropriate
platform configuration.

Hard drive requirements

e 100 MB of available hard drive space.

Suggested guidelines for hard drive storage

Number Length
of claims of storage Minimum
processed for data on amount
per month hard drive of disk space
500 4 months 40MB
1000 4 months 80MB
2000 4 months 160 MB
3000 4 months 240MB
Note: The software application requires 6.5 MB of
hard drive space.

Software requirements

¢ Windows 95, Windows 98, or Windows NT
4 X workstation.

Communications requirements

»  14.4K or higher Windows-ready modem. +

What's new on the
Medicaid web site

The Wisconsin Medicaid web site in-
cludes provider and recipient publica-
tions, Medicaid contacts and statistics,
and eligibility and benefit information.
The following is a list of what has re-
cently been added to the Medicaid web
site.

You may visit the Medicaid web site at
www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid.

*  BadgerCare summary. Gives overall
summary of BadgerCare program that
extends Medicaid coverage to low-income

families and children who meet the require-

ments.
*  May and June 1999 Medicaid Updates.

*  Medicaid Outreach information. Explains
how Wisconsin has developed a plan to
help potentially eligible families apply for
Medicaid benefits and to promote maxi-

Providers
should install
and use the
new software as
soon as pos-
sible so they
can ensure
there are no
problems with
claim submis-
sions prior to
the year 2000.
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Providers
should
submit claims
for a
BadgerCare
recipient in the
same way they
do for any
Medicaid recipi-
ent.

mum participation in Medicaid as major
changes occur in the welfare system.

*  Publications listed by provider type. Choose
your provider type to access a list of
Medicaid Updates that have been issued
since 1995.

e Some downloadable commonly used
appendices from Part A, the all-provider
handbook. Appendices include forms such
as the Provider Change of Address or
Status Form and Instructions, Fee Schedule
and Related Information Order Form,
Paperless Claims Request Form, and
Adjustment Request Form and Instructions.

Keep in mind that if you do not have a com-

puter with Internet access, many schools and
libraries have access. +

BadgerCare questions

Continued from page [

reimbursed for those services. HMO network
providers should contact their HMO for
specific questions regarding contracting issues.

Will I be able to distinguish between
BadgerCare and Medicaid recipients?

No. BadgerCare and Medicaid recipients” ID
cards are identical. It is not necessary for
providers to identify Medicaid versus
BadgerCare recipients because the benefits,
claims submission, and reimbursement are the
same.

How do I submit claims for
BadgerCare?

Providers should submit claims for a
BadgerCare recipient in the same way they do
for any Medicaid recipient. Refer to your
Medicaid service-specific handbook or your
HMO for more information on submitting
claims.

What reimbursement will I receive for
providing services to BadgerCare
recipients?

Reimbursement is identical for services pro-
vided to BadgerCare and Medicaid recipients.
All applicable copayments are still in effect for
fee-for-service recipients. HMO network
providers should contact their HMO for
specific reimbursement policies.

Will I notice an increase in the number
of Medicaid and BadgerCare recipients
in my facility?

Providers may see an increase in the number of
Medicaid and BadgerCare recipients they see.
It may depend on the services you offer or your
geographic area.

Where should I refer potential
recipients regarding eligibility and
income requirements for BadgerCare?
Providers should refer potential Medicaid or
BadgerCare recipients to their county social or
human services department, tribal agency,
Wisconsin Works (W-2) agency, or Medicaid
outstation. If recipients have questions about
Medicaid or BadgerCare coverage, they may
also call Recipient Services at (800) 362-3002
(recipient use only). In addition, recipients may
refer to the Department of Health and Family
Services” (DHFS) web site at
www.dhfs.state.wi.us for more information
about BadgerCare.

Who can I contact if I have more
questions?

Providers who have questions about
BadgerCare may call Provider Services at
(800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883. In addition,
providers may refer to the DHFS™ web site at
www.dhfs.state.wi.us for more information
about BadgerCare, including how to order
promotional materials.
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Where can I get BadgerCare brochures/
posters for my clinic?

The DHFS will have copies of brochures and
posters available to providers and county
agencies in July 1999+

The Wisconsin Medicaid Update is the first
source for provider information including
Medicaid policy and billing information.

Wisconsin Medicaid is administered by the
Division of Health Care Financing, Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services, P.O.
Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-03009.

For questions, call Provider Services at (800)
947-9627 or (608) 221-9883 or visit our web site
at www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid.
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BadgerCare Program Summary

Eligibility
BadgerCare ensures access to health care for all uninsured children and parents with incomes up to 185% of the

federal poverty level (FPL). Once enrolled, families may remain in BadgerCare until family income exceeds 200%
of the FPL. No asset test is required.

BadgerCare fills gaps between Medicaid and private health insurance without supplanting or “crowding out”
private insurance. BadgerCare extends health care coverage to low-income families with children through a
Medicaid expansion under Titles XIX and XXI.

As allowed under federal law, if BadgerCare enrollment is projected to exceed budgeted enrollment levels, a new
enrollment threshold will be established for new applicants. An expedited review and approval process will be
specified for modifications to the income threshold in the federal waiver. In addition, the State will provide a
minimum of 30 days public notice prior to any change in the income threshold.

If the enrollment threshold changes, families already in BadgerCare will remain enrolled if they continue to meet
eligibility criteria in effect on the date they were enrolled. However, all families in BadgerCare will be required to
report significant changes that may affect eligibility within 10 days and to undergo a redetermination for
BadgerCare every 12 months.

In addition, the State’s current Medicaid entitlement will be maintained.

Premiums

Families with income above 150% of the FPL pay a monthly premium of no more than 3% of family income. No
family with income at or below 150% of the FPL pays a premium.

Family 150% FPL Monthly 185% FPL Monthly 200% FPL Monthly
Size Annual Premium Annual Premium Annual Premium
2 $16,590 $30 $20,461 $45 $22.120 $45
3 $20,820 $45 $25,678 $60 $27.760 $60
4 $25.050 $60 $30,895 $75 $33,400 $75

BadgerCare premiums are collected either through wage withholding, electronic funds transfer (EFT) from a
family’s savings or checking account, or direct pay by check or money order. Families who fail to pay the required
premium are subject to a restrictive re-enrollment period of not more than six months, with exceptions provided for
good cause. During restrictive re-enrollment periods, families cannot be eligible for BadgerCare.

Additional Children and Families Covered

BadgerCare is budgeted to cover an additional 67,535 uninsured, low-income Wisconsin residents, including 24,787
children and 42,748 parents. (In addition, it is anticipated that an additional 7,300 children will be identified as eligible
for Medicaid.)



Crowd-Out of Private Insurance

BadgerCare has several policies related to eligibility and purchasing which prevent crowd-out of private insurance:

e Eligibility Crowd-Out Policies
v BadgerCare requires that applicants are currently not covered or have not been covered by private health

insurance for the three-calendar month period prior to application.

v" Families with current access, or access in the 18-month period prior to enrollment, to employer-provided
health insurance where the employer pays at least 80% of the cost of family coverage are not eligible for
BadgerCare.

* Insurance Purchasing Decisions to Prevent Crowd-Out
The State buys employer-sponsored health insurance for families according to the following requirements:

v" The employer pays between 60% and 80% of premiums.
v" The family was not covered by an employer-sponsored plan in the previous six months.

v’ It is cost-effective to buy an employer plan, including wraparound (BadgerCare fee-for-service) coverage up to
BadgerCare benefit levels.

Health Care Benefits/Delivery System

BadgerCare benefits are identical to the comprehensive package of benefits and services covered by Wisconsin
Medicaid. The existing Wisconsin Medicaid HMO managed care system, including provisions for quality
assurance, for improved health outcomes, and for grievances, is used for BadgerCare.

Funding

The total amount of funding budgeted for BadgerCare at full implementation is $97.6 million — $61.7 million in
federal, $34.2 million in state, and $1.7 million in premium revenue.

BadgerCare will expand Medicaid coverage for families with income up to 185% of the FPL through an 1115(a)
waiver using a combination of funding under Title XIX (for parents) and Title XXI (for children). Health care costs
of children and families who qualify for employer-sponsored coverage through Wisconsin’s Title XXI allocation are
funded at an enhanced federal match rate, with premiums used to offset total Title XXI costs. Parents’ health care
costs and their premiums are funded through Title XIX at the regular match rate, with premiums used as a portion
of the match for Title XIX funds.

Expansion Timetable

e “OBRA Children” (children 15-18 up to 100% of the FPL): April 1999.
e BadgerCare: July 1999.

For More Information Contact:

e Applicants/Recipients: ~ BadgerCare Hotline at (800) 362-3002
*  Providers: Provider Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883
July 1999



