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To:

Personal Care
Providers

HMOs and Other
Managed Care
Programs

Effective for dates of service on and
after July 1, 1999, personal care agen-
cies may receive a Medicaid maximum
allowable reimbursement for personal
care worker services and personal care
travel time of $12.00 per hour.

Wisconsin Act 9, the biennial budget for state
fiscal years 2000-2001, was enacted on Oct. 27,
1999. The budget authorized a $0.50 increase in
Medicaid maximum allowable hourly reimburse-
ment for personal care workers and travel time
in state fiscal year 2000 and another $0.25 per
hour increase in the second year of the bien-
nium, beginning July 1, 2000.

This Update applies to fee-for-service Medicaid
providers only. If you are a Medicaid managed
care network provider, contact your managed
care organization (MCO) for information about
personal care reimbursement.

Payment of new claims at the state fiscal
year 2000 maximum allowable fees

Due to the late date of the enactment of the
budget, the Department of Health and Family
Services will not begin paying new claims at the
state fiscal year 2000 rates until January of
2000.

When the state fiscal year 2000 rates are
entered into the claims processing system, new
claims will be reimbursed at their usual and
customary charge or the state fiscal year 2000
maximum allowable fee, whichever is less.

Rate increase for personal care agencies
Remittance and Status (R/S) Reports will
contain an announcement that the rate in-
crease has been implemented.

Most paid claims will be adjusted
automatically

In spring after the state fiscal year 2000 rates
have been implemented, Wisconsin Medicaid
will reprocess paid claims for services provided
on and after July 1, 1999, and paid prior to the
state fiscal year 2000 rate implementation,
using the state fiscal year 2000 maximum
allowable fee schedule.

The claims processing system will automati-
cally pay the lesser of the usual and customary
charge or the state fiscal year 2000 reimburse-
ment rate, minus the amount already paid, if
the billed amount was the same or higher than
the state fiscal year 2000 maximum allowable
fee.

When the automatic adjustment payments are
made, a message will appear on the R/S
Report.

Requesting adjustments for other
claims

The claims processing system cannot auto-
matically adjust paid claims on which the usual
and customary charge was less than the state
fiscal year 2000 maximum allowable fee. If the
usual and customary charges on paid claims
for services provided on and after July 1, 1999,
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were less than the state fiscal year 2000
maximum allowable fee, providers may submit
a request to adjust their charges. Wisconsin
Medicaid cannot alter these claims without a
written request from the provider.

Refer to Section XI, Appendix 27 of Part A, the
all-provider handbook, for an Adjustment
Request Form and instructions. For adjustments
that will exceed the 365-day after date-of-
service filing deadline, follow the directions in
section IX, Part A, the all-provider handbook.

  Procedure   Maximum Fee     Provider Types   Procedure Description

W9900   $12.00     86   Personal care by PC-only agency

W9902   $12.00     86   Personal care travel time (PC/TT)

W9903   $12.00     44 with 86   Personal care by Home Health Agency

W9906   $40.28/visit     86   Personal care worker (PCW) Supervisor visit by

W9044   $40.28/visit     86   PCW Supervisor Visit by RN - Recipient receives
skilled care

PERSONAL CARE MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE FEES

(Effective July 1, 1999)

registered nurse (RN) or Therapist - Recipient
receives only unskilled care


