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TO:

All Providers

HMOs and Other Managed Care
Programs

Claim Submission Deadline and Exceptions

This Lipdate summarizes existing
Medicaid policy regarding the claim
submission deadline and the eight

Providers must submit all claims
within 365 days

State and federal laws require providers to
submit all claims, inciuding ali adjustments to
claims, within 365 days from the date of
service.

Adjustments to claims may include correcting
billing errors, adding and deleting services,
and requesting medical consuitant review.
(Providers must use adjustment request forms
when making claim adjustments.)

Providers must correct all billing errors and
submit corrected claims or adjustment forms
within 365 days from the date of service.

To resolve claim problems within 365 days
from the date of service, Wisconsin Medicaid
advises providers to use all available
resources. Available resources include
Medicaid publications, EDS (Medicaid Fiscal
Agent) Provider Correspondence Unit for
Policy/Billing Information, and EDS Professional
Relations Representatives.

State and federal laws allow only
eight exceptions

State and federal laws provide only eight
exceptions to the requirement that providers
submit claims correctly within 365 days from
the date of service. Refer to the attachment for
the eight exceptions.

exceptions to the deadline.

Wisconsin Medicaid has no authority to approve
any other exceptions. For more detailed
information, refer to Section IXin Part A, the all-
provider handbook.

No other exceptions

Wisconsin Medicaid has no authority to approve
any other exceptions to the 365 days from the
date of service claim submission deadline. HFS
106.03, Wis. Admin. Code, permits only eight
exceptions to the claim submission deadline.
Wisconsin Medicaid's exceptions to the claims
submission deadline are not appealable, as stated
in HFS 106.12, Wis. Admin. Code, and are not
waivable under HFS 106.13, Wis. Admin. Code.

Claim or adjustment submission
delays not considered exceptions

Claim or adjustment submission delays do not
qualify as one of the eight exceptions. Examples
of delays include:

« Providers not correcting claims after EDS
denies the claims correctly. (Providers
sometimes have submitted the same claim
numerous times without making the
necessary corrections.)

= Providers not resubmitting or adjusting a claim
that was processed with a keying error within
365 days of the date of service.

Wisconsin Medicaid is administered by the Bureau of Health Care Financing,
Division of Health, Wisconsin Department of Heaith and Family Services, P.O. Box 308, Madison, Wit 53701-0308
For provider questions, call the Medicaid Fiscal Agent, EDS, at (800) 947-9627 or {608) 221-9883



» Providers’ biliing errors, regardless of the
number of times that providers submitted
claims before the filing deadline.

+ Providers' billing staff problems, including
personnel changes.

»  Provider billing agents not following up on
incorrect billing procedures.

= Slow response by health insurance.
(Refer to Section IX-D of Part A, the all-
provider handbook for instructions
regarding prompt handling of claims
involving health insurance.)

« Claims or adjustments received by EDS
beyond the special filing deadline for late
billing exceptions.
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Afttachment 1

Exceptions to Submitting Claims within 365 Days
(HFS 106.03, Wisconsin Administrative Code)

1. Eligibility Denial

This exception exists when a claim is initially received by EDS within 365 days of the date of service
but denied due to an error on the EDS eligibility file or incorrect HMO designation.

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 455 days from the date of service to have the
claim resolved:

- Properly compieted claim or adjustment (adjustment form copy is in Appendix 27 of Part A, the
all-provider handbook).

* Acopy of the Remittance and Status (R&S) report showing the claim was submitted in a timely
manner and denied for an eligibility related Explanation of Benefits (EOB). EOB codes may
inciude 29 (last name incorrect), 172 (not eligible for dates of service), 281 (incorrect recipient
Medicaid ID number), 293 (Good Faith Claim Denied - certifying agency did not verify recipient
eligibility within 70-day period), 418 {Good Faith Claim previously denied by certifying agency -
resubmit claim with copy of Medicaid |1D card), or 614 {first name incorrect).

= Acopy of the recipient’s Medicaid 1D card. (This is not necessary, but helpful.)

Send documentation to:
Good Faith-Late Billing
EDS
6406 Bridge Road
Madison, W| 53784-6215

2. Change in Level of Care or Liability Amount

This exception exists when a nursing home claim is reimbursed incorrectly due to an error in the
recipient's authorized leve! of care or liability amount on the EDS eligibility file and the claim was
initially received by EDS within 365 days of the date of service. Submit the following documentation
to EDS within 455 days from the date of service to have the claim resolved:

« Late Billing Request Form (a copy of the formis in Appendlx 24 of Part A, the all-provider
handbook) indicating the late billing exception.

» Properly completed claim or adjustment. Indicate on the adjustment request form the correct
liability amount or level of care. The adjustment request form must indicate the most recent
claim number, even if that claim or adjustment was submitted by EDS.

Send documentation to:
Late Billing Appeals
EDS
6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, WI 53784-6215
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3. Retroactive Eligibility

This exception exists when a decision is delayed by the certifying agency regarding the recipient's
effective date of eligibility. Special consideration is given to claims if retroactive eligibility prevented
the timely submission of the claim.

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 180 days after the mailing of the backdated
Medicaid identification card to the recipient:

+ Properly completed claim.
+ “Retroactive eligibility” indicated on the face of the claim.

Send documentation to:
Late Biling Appeals

EDS
6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, W| 53784-6215

4. General Relief (GR) Retroactive Eligibility

This exception exists when the local certifying agency requests a previous payment back from the
provider because a recipient has become retroactively eligible for Wisconsin Medicaid.

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 180 days after the mailing of the backdated
Medicaid identification card to the recipient:

« Properly completed claim.

- “GR retroactive eligibility” indicated on the face of the claim or copy of the county letter
attached.

Send documentation to:

GR Retro-Eligibility

EDS

6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, Wl 53784-6215

| I
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5. Medicare Payment/Denial

This exception exists when claims submitted to Medicare within 365 days of the date of service are
paid/denied by Medicare after the Medicaid 365-day claim submission deadline. (Please note thata
waiver of the filing deadline may not be authorized for all Medicare denials.)

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 90 days from the Medicare Explanation of
Medicare Benefits (EOMB) date:

- Late Biling Request Form indicating the late billing exception.

« Copy of the Medicare EOMB.

- Properly completed claim including the appropriate Medicare payment/denial determination.

Send documentation to:

Late Billing Appeals

EDS

6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, W1 53784-6215

6. Refund Request from Private Insurance or Medicare

This exception exists when a review of previously paid claims by Medicare or private insurance
companies determines that reimbursement was inappropriate.

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 90 days from the recoupment notification date;

+ Late Billing Request Form indicating the late billing exception.

« A copy of the recoupment notification letter from the insurance company or Medicare.

« Properly completed ciaim or adjustment.

« Remittance and Status Report showing Medicaid recoupment for crossover claims, when
appropriate.

Send documentation to:

Late Billing Appeals

EDS

6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, Wi 53784-6215
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7. Medicaid Reconsideration

-

This exception exists when Wisconsin Medicaid identifies an inappropriate reimbursementdue to a
review of a previously submitted claim or due to a change in reimbursement rate. Wisconsin
Medicaid will initiate an adjustment on a previously paid claim.

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 90 days from the date of the Remittance and
Status (R&S) Report message if a subsequent provider submission is required:

- Late billing request form indicating the late billing exception.
«  Acopy ofthe R&S report message showing the Medicaid initiated adjustment.
« Properly completed claim or adjustment.

Send documentation to:

Late Billing Appeals

EDS

6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, WI 53784-6215

8. Fair Hearing/Court/Department Decision

This exception exists when a decision is made by a court, fair hearing, or the Department of Health
and Family Services (DHFS).

Submit the following documentation to EDS within 90 days from the date of the decision of the
hearing:

+ A complete copy of the notice from the fair hearing, court, or department decision.
«  Properly completed claim for services related to the notice.

Send documentation to:

Late Billing Appeals

EDS

6406 Bridge Road, Suite 50
Madison, Wl 53784-6215

POH1578

UPDATE 97-34 WISCONSIN MEDICAID PAGE 6




