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TO:

All Providers

HMOs and other Managed Care
Programs

Provider-Based Billing

This update replaces Update 95-53,
issued December 22, 1995.

What is a provider-based billing
claim?

Provider-based billing reduces Medicaid costs
by ensuring that maximum reimbursement for
covered services is received from health care
plans that are primary to Wisconsin Medicaid.
In other words, Wisconsin Medicaid is the payer
of last resort (except for a certain few
governmental programs).

A provider-based billing claim is a completed
claim form that Wisconsin Medicaid sends to
providers for services Wisconsin Medicaid has
already paid. A provider-based billing claim is
created when the following occurs:

1. Wisconsin Medicaid retroactively
identifies that another health care plan
exists and may cover those services.

2. To process the claim, the other
health care plan may require additional
documentation from the provider.

Since benefits under Wisconsin Medicaid are
secondary to those provided by heaith
insurance, providers are required to seek
reimbursement from the heaith insurance [HFS
106.03 (7), Wis. Admin. Code]. Providers may
not bill the recipient for these services.

When Wisconsin Medicaid
produces provider-based billing
claims

Wisconsin Medicaid has produced provider-
based billing claims for Medicare Part A covered
services since September 1994. On January 29,
1996, Wisconsin Medicaid began producing
provider-based billing claims for CHAMPUS and
commercial health insurance.

The rest of this update gives information on
provider-based billing and what providers need to

do.

What happens when providers
receive a provider-based billing
claim?

When Wisconsin Medicaid sends provider-based
billing claims to providers, a Provider-Based Billing
Summary is also sent. The summary lists each
Medicaid claim that a provider-based billing claim
form was generated from and its corresponding
claim internal control number (ICN).

Within 120 days of the date on the Provider- Based
Billing Summary, providers must provide
information to document that they have accurately
billed the responsible health insurance company
and received or have been denied payment.

issued by Bureau of Heaith Care Financing, Division of Health, Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services
if you have any questions, call EDS - Medicaid Fiscal Agent at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-8883



If Wisconsin Medicaid does not receive a
response within 120 days of the date of the
Provider-Based Billing Summary, Wisconsin
Medicaid will temporarily defer future payments
in the amount equal to the original Medicaid
payment. Payment deferral is not a final action;
therefore, it is not necessary to request a
hearing. Wisconsin Medicaid will accept
documentation of the insurance company’s
payment, denial, or non-action after 120 days
have elapsed.

Provider instructions within 120

days

When you receive the provider-based billing
claim(s), please take the following actions for
each claim within 120 days:

1.

File claim(s) to the health insurance
company for the ICNs identified on

the Provider-Based Billing Summary.
The recipient’s designated insurance
company appears at the top right comer.

» Prepared claims are included for
your convenience so that you may

bill the insurance company. You may

use them or produce your own.

« Attach all additional documentation

required by the insurance company,

including the Explanation of
Medicare Benefits, if applicable.

« You may find more than one claim
per service due to a recipient
having multiple insurance
coverages. Please coordinate
benefits with the insurance
companies.

If the insurance company pays or
partially pays your claim(s), you must
forward copies of the insurance

company's Explanation of Benefits and

the Provider-Based Billing Summary to
the EDS Coordination of Benefits Unit.

3.

If the insurance company denies your
claim, you must submit documentation
of the denial along with a copy of the
Provider-Based Billing Summary.
Submit both to the EDS Coordination
of Benefits Unit. Documentation of the
denial may be in the form of:

« Insurance company’s Explanation
of Benefits.

« A written statement from the
insurance company identifying its
reason for denial.

« A letter from the insurance
company indicating a termination
date of the policy which precedes
the dates of service.

« Documentation indicating that the
insurance company paid the
recipient.

« A copy of the insurance card or
other documentation from the
insurance company that indicates
the policy provides limited
coverage such as pharmacy,
dental, Medicare supplemental
coverage only, etc.

If your records indicate the

insurance information is invalid,

you may call EDS at (608) 221-4746,
ext. 3142. You will need to fax the
corresponding Provider-Based Billing
Summary at the time of the phone call.
The fax number is (608) 221-4567.

Send all responses, including
supporting documentation and the
Provider-Based Billing Summary, to:

COORDINATION OF BENEFITS UNIT

EDS
P O BOX 6220

MADISON Wi 53716-0220
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Provider instructions after 120 days

When payment deferral has already occurred:

1.

If a payment or denial is received from
the insurance company and the claim
date of service is within 12 months of the
date of the Provider-Based Billing
Summary, submit a Medicaid claim with
the appropriate insurance indicator to
EDS through normal processing
channels. (Do not use the prepared
provider-based billing claim(s) that

we sent you.)

Please include the insurance payment
amount on the claim when appropriate.
For information on the correct use of

insurance indicators, refer to Appendix
18 in Part A, the all-provider handbook.

If a payment or denial is received from
the insurance company and the claim
date of service is more than 12 months
prior to the date of the Provider-Based

4. If the insurance company does not
respond to an initial and follow-up claim,
and the claim date of service is more
than 12 months prior to the date of the
Provider-Based Billing Summary, you
may submit a claim using insurance
indicator “OI-Y" along with the Provider-
Based Billing Summary to:

EDS
6406 BRIDGE ROAD SUITE 50
MADISON Wi 5§3784-0050

Who can answer questions about
a specific provider-based billing
claim?

You can direct questions about a specific
provider-based bill to: EDS Coordination of
Benefits Unit at (608) 221-4746, ext. 3142.

Frequently asked questions about
provider-based billing

Billing Summary, you may submita Q. How does Wisconsin Medicaid receive
Medicaid claim with the appropriate health insurance information?
insurance indicator to:
A. Wisconsin Medicaid receives health
EDS insurance information from a variety of
6406 BRIDGE ROAD SUITE 50 sources, most often directly from the
MADISON W 53784-0050 insurance companies through monthly tape
. submissions or from county agencies that
(Do ot use the prepared provider- determine Medicaid eligibility. Wisconsin
based billing claim(s) that we sent you.) Medicaid receives additional information
For information on the correct use of from providers via the TPL-17 form.
insurance indicators, refer to Appendix
18 in Part A, the all-provider handbook. Q. Why can't Wisconsin Medicaid bill the
Please include documentation of lsrresrt\:'(ca:sc;e company directly for the
payment or denial and the Provider-
Based Billing Summary. A The services for which provider-based bills
. are created are those which Wisconsin
3. Ifthe insurance company does not Medicaid has determined may require
respond to an initial and fol.low_-up pla_lm, additional documentation from the service
and the claim date of service is within 12 providers in order to be processed by the
months of the date of the Provider-Based insurance company. This additional
Billing Summary, you may submit a claim documentation could be in the form of
using insurance indicator “Ol-Y" to EDS medical records or other information
through normal processing channels. )
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. Can providers send a cash refund to
Wisconsin Medicaid?

. Yes. Please send the cash refund, along
with the Provider-Based Billing Summary to:

COORDINATION OF BENEFITS UNIT

EDS
P O BOX 6220

MADISON W 53716-0220

. Some health insurance companies are
charging copying costs to providers. Is this
billable to Wisconsin Medicaid?

. No. Administrative costs are not billable to
Wisconsin Medicaid.

. Why are provider-based bills for newborns
being produced when the mother is
covered by health insurance, but the
newbom is not covered under her policy?

. Providers bill Wisconsin Medicaid under the
mother's Medicaid number until one is
assigned to the newborn. Thus, in these
cases, it is the mother's Medicaid file that is
accessed for information used in the
provider-based billing process. However,
this is a short-term problem since most
newbomns are assigned their own numbers
very soon after birth.

. What should a provider do if the health

insurance is a private HMO, the provider
did not follow HMO guidelines because
coverage was not displayed on the Medicaid
card until after the service was provided, and
the HMO won't pay the provider-based bill?

. Submit the HMO’s Explanation of Benefits

with the Provider-Based Billing Summary to
EDS.

_ What if the health insurance is CHAMPUS,

and the provider is not able to locate the
patient to obtain a signature?

. No signature is necessary to bill heaith

insurance since Wisconsin Medicaid has
assignment rights.

. How can a provider bill for claims older

than 12 months when he or she doesn’t
have the patient’s group or policy number?

. The policy number is always displayed on the

provider-based bill(s). !f you are unable to
locate this number on the bill, please contact
EDS Correspondence Unit for Policy/Billing
Informaton for assistance. |f the group
number is available, it is also displayed

on the provider-based bill(s). If you need the
group number and it is not on the provider-
based bill(s), contact the recipient or the
insurance company for this information.
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