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TO:

Chiropractors

Dentists

Family Planning Clinics
HealthCheck Agencies
Opficians

Optometrists
Podiatrists

Prescriptions For Specialized Medical Vehicle (SMV) Trips - Effective June 1, 1995

Wisconsin Medicaid Transportation
Covered Services

Wisconsin Medicaid covers necessary
transportation to and from Wisconsin
Medicaid-covered services. County human
services departments and tribal agencies
approve and pay for common carrier
transportation by car, bus, or taxi. Wisconsin
Medicaid covers SMV transportation for
recipients who are temporarily or indefinitely
physically or mentally disabled with
conditions that contraindicate common
carrier transportation. A physician, physician
assistant, nurse midwife, or nurse
practitioner must complete a Physician
Certification Form certifying the disability for
recipients to use SMV transportation.

Prescriptions Now Required For Trips
That Exceed Upper Mileage Limits

In order to reduce the costly and
inappropriate use of SMVs by recipients,
the Legislature adopted changes in

HSS 107.23, Wis. Admin. Code, effective
December 1, 1994. One of the changes
affects chiropractors, dentists, family
planning clinics, HealthCheck agencies,
opticians, optometrists, and podiatrists.

Effective June 1, 1985, Wisconsin
Medicaid requires a prescription for SMV
trips that exceed established one-way
upper mileage limits (except for hospital or

nursing home discharges). Recipients will
no longer be provided trips to distant
medical services without a prescription. If
you refer a recipient who needs SMV
transportation to a medical service that
you suspect is farther away than the
Wisconsin Medicaid one-way upper
mileage limits, write a prescription for the
recipient to show the SMV provider.

SMV providers cannot transport recipients
to health care services beyond the upper
mileage limits without a prescription. SMV
providers need the prescription to get prior
authorization to exceed upper mileage
limits.

Wisconsin Medicaid one-way upper
mileage limits are:

+ 40 miles, if the trip originates in one of
these urban counties:

Brown Dane Fond du Lac
Kenosha LaCrosse Manitowoc
Milwaukee Outagamie Sheboygan
Racine Rock Winnebago

+ 70 miles, if the trip originates in any
other Wisconsin county.

The prescription must include the name of
the provider receiving the referral, the city
where the provider is located, the service
required, and the amount of time the
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recipient needs transportation. Indicate the
duration of the prescription in days, not to
exceed 365 days.

Here is an example of an SMV trip prescription:

Anytown Clinic
1 W. Wiison
Anytown, Wi 55555

Name \/‘ﬁ; tgm;.auut

Address ' SEESS

R Qontod Scncpry, Contin, Hiaen
&J&M% &?
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Prescriber's
Signature _ o/ 75 . ,‘f%,_ﬁ(e? LoY Date_ ¢/, /95

Providers who may refer recipients:and write SMV prescriptions for
exteniled rmileage trips:are: physicians, physician assistants, nurse
ridwives, nurse practiioners, denfists, -optometrists; -opticians,
chirapractors, podiatiists, HealthCheck agencies;;.and family
planning ¢linics. C
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