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Department of Health and Family Services   

To: All Providers, HMOs and Other Managed Care Programs 

Reimbursement to Members Due to Retroactive 
Enrollment
Revisions to the Wisconsin Statutes in the 2007-2009 
Wisconsin Biennial Budget provide that, effective for 
dates of service on and after October 27, 2007, 
providers are required to refund the member the full 
amount that the member paid for a service if a member 
becomes retroactively enrolled in Wisconsin Medicaid 
or BadgerCare Plus. 

 

Retroactive Enrollment  
Retroactive enrollment occurs when an individual has 
applied for Wisconsin Medicaid or BadgerCare Plus and 
enrollment is granted with an effective date prior to the 
date the enrollment determination was made. A 
member’s enrollment may be backdated to allow 
retroactive coverage for medical bills incurred prior to 
the month of application.  
 
The retroactive enrollment period may be backdated up 
to three months prior to the month of application if all 
enrollment requirements were met during the period. 
Enrollment may be backdated more than three months 
if there were delays in determining enrollment or if 
court orders, fair hearings, or appeals were involved.  
 
Refer to the Recipient Eligibility and the Covered and 
Noncovered Services sections of the Wisconsin 
Medicaid All-Provider Handbook for more information 
about retroactive enrollment and policies regarding 
covered and noncovered services. 
 

Return of Payment 

When a member is retroactively enrolled, he or she has 
the right to request the return of payments made to a 
Medicaid-certified provider for a covered service during 
the period of retroactive enrollment, according to HFS 
104.01(11), Wis. Admin. Code. A Medicaid-certified 
provider is required to submit claims for covered 
services provided to a member during periods of 
retroactive enrollment. Wisconsin Medicaid and 
BadgerCare Plus cannot directly refund the member. 
 
Effective for dates of service (DOS) on and after 
October 27, 2007, if a provider receives reimbursement 
for services provided to a retroactively eligible member, 
and the member has paid for the service, the provider is 
required to reimburse the member or authorized person 
acting on behalf of the member the full amount that the 
member paid for the service. 
 
If a claim cannot be filed within 365 days of the DOS 
due to a delay in the determination of a member’s 
retroactive enrollment, the provider is required to 
submit the claim to Timely Filing within 180 days of 
the date the retroactive enrollment is entered into 
Wisconsin’s Enrollment Verification System (if the 
services provided during the period of retroactive 
enrollment were covered). Refer to the Claims 
Information section of the All-Provider Handbook for 
more information on filing claims for services 
performed with DOS beyond the claims submission 
deadline (timely filing appeals requests). 
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The current wording of HFS 104.01(11), Wis. Admin. 
Code, and HFS 106.04(3)(b), Wis. Admin. Code, is 
inconsistent with the change in statutes and no longer 
governs to the extent of the conflict; the Department of 
Health and Family Services will be amending these rules 
to be consistent with the change in the statutes. 

BadgerCare Plus 

Effective with the implementation of BadgerCare Plus 
on February 1, 2008, this policy will affect members 
enrolled in the BadgerCare Plus Standard Plan and 
BadgerCare Plus Benchmark Plan. For more 
information about BadgerCare Plus, refer to the 
November 2007 BadgerCare Plus Update (2007-79), titled 
“Introduction to BadgerCare Plus — Wisconsin’s New 
Health Care Program.” 
 
 
The BadgerCare Plus Update is the first source of 
program policy and billing information for providers. All 
information applies to Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus 
unless otherwise noted in the Update.  
 
Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Plus are 
administered by the Division of Health Care Access and 
Accountability, Wisconsin Department of Health and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-
0309. 
 
For questions, call Provider Services at (800) 947-9627 
or (608) 221-9883 or visit our Web site at 
dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/. 
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