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To:

School-Based
Services
Providers

HMOs and Other
Managed Care
Programs

School-Based Services Transportation
Reimbursement Changes
Effective for dates of service on and
after September 1, 2005, Wisconsin
Medicaid will reimburse school-based
services (SBS) providers for
transportation services based on a per-
trip rate. Wisconsin Medicaid will no
longer reimburse transportation services
based on a daily rate.

Also, SBS providers are required to
document each trip for a child who
receives school-based transportation
services and retain that documentation
in the child’s record.

Per-Trip Billing Required for
Transportation Services
Effective for dates of service (DOS) on and
after September 1, 2005, Wisconsin Medicaid
will reimburse school-based services (SBS)
providers for transportation services based on a
per-trip rate rather than a daily rate. This
reimbursement change is based on Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
requirements for Medicaid SBS providers.

Trip Base Rate Includes First 10 Miles
Effective for DOS on and after September 1,
2005, the per-trip base rate includes the first 10
miles of the trip. School-Based Services

providers are required to continue to use
Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System
(HCPCS) procedure code T2003 (Non-
emergency transportation; encounter/trip) with
modifier “TM” (Individualized education
program [IEP]) on claims for transportation
services. The unit rate for procedure code
T2003 will be $15.10 to reflect the change from
a daily rate to a per-trip rate.

Refer to Attachment 1 of this Wisconsin
Medicaid and BadgerCare Update for the
procedure codes, procedure code descriptions,
and reimbursement rates used for per-trip
reimbursement.

Indicating Mileage Over the 10-Mile Base
Rate
Providers should continue to use HCPCS
procedure code A0425 (Ground mileage, per
statute mile) with modifier “TM” to indicate
mileage over the 10 miles included in the per-
trip base rate.

Refer to Attachment 2 for billing examples
using the per-trip rate.
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Documentation Requirements
Effective for DOS on and after September 1,
2005, SBS providers are required to include all
of the following information in the record of
each child who receives school-based
transportation services for each trip:
• The child’s first and last name and date of

birth.
• The general service category

(transportation).
• The DOS that school-based transportation

services were provided.
• Documented verification that the child was

in school and received a school-based
service other than transportation on the
date the transportation was provided.

Note: It is critical that providers verify that
a recipient received a school-based service
on a particular day before billing for
transportation services for that day.

• The total number of miles, only when
seeking reimbursement for more than the
10-mile per-trip base rate. The provider will
need to use procedure code A0425 in
addition to T2003 for claims.

• The pick-up and drop-off locations, only
when seeking reimbursement for more than
the 10-mile per-trip base rate for that day.
If the locations are home or school, these
can be described in general terms, such as
“home to school” or “school to home.” If
the school-based service is at a place other
than the school, a more specific description
including the name of the facility and street
address is required.

This information may be included in the trip log.

Providers are not required to submit this
documentation to Wisconsin Medicaid. Hard
copies of this documentation should be readily
available or easily attainable upon request by
Wisconsin Medicaid for audit purposes.

The previously mentioned documentation
requirements reflect current Medicaid policy,
except that the documentation is per trip.

School-Based Services Covered
Transportation Policy
Refer to Attachment 3 for the CMS SBS-
covered transportation policy for the
requirements to submit claims for school-based
transportation services. The policy is taken
verbatim from the School-Based Services
Handbook.

Information Regarding Medicaid
HMOs
This Update contains Medicaid policy and
applies to providers of services to recipients
enrolled in both HMOs and fee-for-service
Medicaid.

The Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare
Update is the first source of program policy and
billing information for providers.

Although the Update refers to Medicaid
recipients, all information applies to BadgerCare
recipients also.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare are
administered by the Division of Health Care
Financing, Wisconsin Department of Health and
Family Services, P.O. Box 309, Madison, WI
53701-0309.

For questions, call Provider Services at
(800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883 or visit our Web
site at dhfs.wisconsin.gov/medicaid/.

    PHC 1250
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ATTACHMENT 1
School-Based Services Procedure Codes

for Per-Trip Reimbursement

Effective for dates of service on and after September 1, 2005, Wisconsin Medicaid will reimburse school-based services
providers for transportation services based on a per-trip rate. The following table lists the procedure code information that
providers use when submitting claims for per-trip reimbursement.

Code Description Criteria Units Unit 
Rate 

Reimbursement 
(Federal Share) 
Paid 9/1/05 to 

9/30/05 

Reimbursement 
(Federal Share) 

Paid on and 
After 10/1/05 

T2003 
Non-emergency 
transportation; 
encounter/trip 

Use when 
documenting 

each Medicaid-
covered trip. 
The base rate 
includes the 

first 10 miles of 
the trip. 

1 trip 
=  

1 unit 
$15.10 $5.28 $5.22 

A0425 Ground mileage, 
per statute mile 

Use when 
documenting all 
miles over the 
10-mile trip 
base rate.  

1 unit 
=  

1 mile 
$3.44 $1.21 $1.19 
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ATTACHMENT 2
Examples of Trip Base Rate and Mileage Reimbursement

The following examples illustrate how providers can bill for various transportation services’ trip lengths.

Child A — Trips Less Than 10 Miles

1. A school-based service other than transportation is provided at school. The bus travels to pick up Child A at home and
transports Child A six miles to school.

2. The bus transports Child A six miles from school to home.

The total trips for Child A are two trips or two units. Since each trip is less than the 10 miles included in the base rate, the
provider may use procedure code T2003 — trip base rate (two units).

Child B — Trips More Than 10 Miles

1. A school-based service other than transportation is provided at school. The bus travels to pick up Child B at home and
transports Child B 12 miles to school.

2. The bus transports Child B 12 miles from school to home.

The total trips for Child B are two trips or two units. Since each trip exceeds the 10 miles included in the base rate by two
miles, the provider may use the following procedure codes:
• Procedure code T2003 — trip base rate (two units).
• Procedure code A0425 — two miles over each trip base rate (four units).

1  Child A’s Home to School = 6 miles

CHILD A =
TWO TRIPS WITH NO
ADDITIONAL MILES

(Do not include miles to or from bus barn.)

Medicaid
Child A’s  Home

Bus Barn

School

2  School to Child A’s Home = 6 miles

1  Child B’s Home to School = 12 miles

School

(Do not include miles to or from bus barn.)

Medicaid
Child B’s  Home

2  School to Child B’s Home = 12 miles

Bus Barn

CHILD B =
TWO TRIPS PLUS

FOUR ADDITIONAL MILES
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Child C — Other Trips: Example Includes Travel to Non-School-Based Service Site

1. A school-based service other than transportation is provided at the hospital. The bus travels to school and picks up
Child C. The bus transports Child C five miles from school to the hospital.

2. The bus transports Child C 18 miles from the hospital to home.

The total trips for Child C are two trips or two units. Only one trip exceeds the base rate. Since trip two is 18 miles (eight
more than the 10 miles included in the base rate), the provider may use the following procedure codes:
• Procedure code T2003 — trip base rate (two units).
• Procedure code A0425 — eight miles over the trip base rate (eight units).

Note: In this example, the provider can only be reimbursed for transportation from the school to the hospital and for the trip
from the hospital to home. The provider cannot be reimbursed for transportation from home to school because no
Medicaid-covered school-based service was provided at the school.

Medicaid
Child C’s  Home

School

Hospital

Bus Barn

(Do not include miles to or from bus barn.)

1  School to Hospital = 5 miles

2  Hospital to Child C’s Home = 18 miles

CHILD C =
TWO TRIPS PLUS

EIGHT ADDITIONAL MILES
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In August 2001, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services approved Wisconsin Medicaid’s State Plan regarding
covered school-based services (SBS) transportation policy. The following is Medicaid’s SBS State Plan language:

Transportation Policy

Transportation to School and from School
A child’s transportation to and from a school certified as an SBS provider is a covered service only if all the following
conditions are met:
• The child receives a covered school-based service identified in the child’s Individualized Education Plan (IEP) at the

school on the day the transportation is provided.
• The SBS provider is financially responsible for providing the transportation.
• The child’s medical need for the particular type of transportation is identified in the child’s IEP.
• One of the following:

" The vehicle is equipped with and the child requires a ramp or lift.
" An aide is present and the child requires the aide’s assistance in the vehicle.
" The child has behavioral problems that do not require the assistance of an aide but that preclude the child from

riding on a standard school bus.

Off-Site Transportation
A child’s transportation to and from a site other than the child’s “home” school is a covered service only if all the following
conditions are met:
• The child receives a covered school-based service identified in the child’s IEP at the site on the day the transportation is

provided.
• The SBS provider is financially responsible for providing the transportation.
• One of the following:

" Transportation is from the school to an off-site provider and back to school or home.
" Transportation is between home and a “special school.” A special school is a school that requires that a child have a

disability in order to be enrolled, including, but not limited to, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf or the Wisconsin
School for the Visually Handicapped, as defined in ch. PI 12, Wis. Admin. Code.

ATTACHMENT 3
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

School-Based Services-Covered Transportation Policy


