June 2003 • No. 2003-29

update

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Information for Providers

a d

в

ed<sub>1</sub>ca

a e

To: **All Providers** HMOs and Other Managed Care Programs

# Wisconsin Medicaid will no longer reimburse claims submitted for newborns under the mother's identification number

а

With the implementation of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) in October 2003, providers will be required to indicate a newborn's identification number on Medicaid claims. Providers will no longer be allowed to use the mother's Medicaid identification number on claims for services provided to a newborn 10 days of age or less on the date of service. A future Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Update will notify providers of the specific effective date for this change.

### Newborn Medicaid identification numbers

With the implementation of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) in October 2003, providers will be required to indicate a newborn's identification number on Medicaid claims. Wisconsin Medicaid will no longer reimburse claims submitted for newborns 10 days of age or less on the date of service with the mother's Medicaid identification number. Local diagnosis code "M11" for CMS 1500 claims and occurrence codes "50" and "51" for UB-92 claims that are used for mother/baby claims will no longer be applicable. Providers are encouraged to begin submitting claims with a newborn's identification number prior to

HIPAA implementation, but are not required to do so until then.

PHC 1961

To obtain a newborn's identification number, providers should check Wisconsin Medicaid's Eligibility Verification System (EVS). Providers may find more information about accessing the EVS in the All-Provider Handbook or on the Wisconsin Medicaid Web site at www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid/.

Note: Wisconsin Medicaid will offer new options for providers to promptly send a Newborn Report and receive notification of a newborn's Medicaid eligibility, including the identification number. Further information about these options will be published in a future Update.

## **Reporting newborns**

Hospitals, Medicaid HMOs, physicians, nurse practitioners, and nurse midwives may report babies born to Medicaid recipients by submitting a Wisconsin Medicaid Newborn Report form, HCF 1165, dated 02/03, to Wisconsin Medicaid. Providers may use another form, developed by the provider, that contains the same information as the Newborn Report.

Wisconsin Medicaid provides an updated version of the Newborn Report form in the February 2003 *Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Update* (2003-10), titled "Wisconsin Medicaid revises Newborn Report form."

After receiving a Newborn Report, Wisconsin Medicaid assigns an identification number for the baby. Providers are required to use this number when submitting claims for covered services provided to the newborn.

#### Responsibility for reporting

Physicians, nurse practitioners, and nurse midwives should submit a Newborn Report *only* if the mother is *not* enrolled in a Medicaid HMO and the birth occurs *outside* a hospital setting. Otherwise, the hospital or Medicaid HMO completes the form. If a mother is enrolled in a Medicaid HMO but has her baby outside the HMO network, the HMO is still responsible for reporting the birth to Wisconsin Medicaid.

#### Obtaining the Newborn Report form

The Newborn Report form may be obtained from the forms page of the Wisconsin Medicaid Web site at *www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid/*. Providers without Internet access may obtain a copy of the Newborn Report form by calling Provider Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883. Questions about completing the form may also be directed to Provider Services at the telephone numbers above.

The *Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Update* is the first source of program policy and billing information for providers.

Although the *Update* refers to Medicaid recipients, all information applies to BadgerCare recipients also.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare are administered by the Division of Health Care Financing, Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services, P.O. Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-0309.

For questions, call Provider Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883 or visit our Web site at *www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid/*.