Maximum allowable fees increase for hearing

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Information for Providers

June 2002 • No. 2002-27 PHC 1874

To: Audiologists Hearing Instrument Specialists Speech and Hearing Clinics HMOs and Other Managed Care Programs

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2002, Wisconsin Medicaid is increasing its maximum allowable fees for hearing aids and related services.

aids and related services

The Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare Update is the first source of program policy and billing information for providers.

Although the *Update* refers to Medicaid recipients, all information applies to BadgerCare recipients also.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare are administered by the Division of Health Care Financing, Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services, P.O. Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-0309.

For questions, call Provider Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883 or visit our Web site at www.dhfs.state.wi.us/ medicaid/.

Hearing aids and related services rate increase

Wisconsin Act 16, the 2001-2003 biennial budget, authorized a targeted rate increase in maximum allowable fees for hearing aids and related services. Refer to the Attachment of this *Wisconsin Medicaid BadgerCare Update* for the maximum allowable fee schedule for hearing aids and related services.

Fee schedules, provider handbooks, and *Updates* are also located on the Medicaid Web site at *www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid/*.

Recipient copayments

For services that require a recipient copayment, the copayment amount may change if the Medicaid maximum allowable fee for that service increases to the next highest copayment level.

Providers should verify that they are charging the correct copayment amount for each service. For most services, the following copayment chart applies:

Medicaid maximum allowable fee	Copayment
Up to \$10.00	\$0.50
From \$10.01 to \$25.00	\$1.00
From \$25.01 to \$50.00	\$2.00
Over \$50.00	\$3.00

For more detailed information about copayments (including copayment guidelines and exemptions) refer to the All-Provider Handbook and the Audiology Handbook.

Information regarding Medicaid HMOs

This *Update* contains Medicaid fee-for-service policy and applies to providers of services to recipients on fee-for-service Medicaid only. For Medicaid HMO or managed care policy, contact the appropriate managed care organization. Wisconsin Medicaid HMOs are required to provide at least the same benefits as those provided under fee-for-service arrangements.

ATTACHMENT Maximum allowable fees for hearing aids and related services, effective July 1, 2002

The following table reflects the maximum allowable fees for hearing aids and related services. The type of service code "P" applies to all the following codes:

Procedure code	Description	Maximum allowable fee
V5090	Dispensing fee, unspecified hearing aid	\$298.63
V5160	Dispensing fee, binaural	\$537.53
V5299	Hearing service, miscellaneous	Manually priced
W6901	Hearing aid standard	\$331.60
W6902	Assistive listening devices (ALD)	\$175.24
W6903	Hearing aid access — harness	\$13.34
W6904	Hearing aid access — SGL cord	\$11.62
W6905	Hearing aid access — Y-cord	\$30.58
W6906	Ear mold — new/extra, standard hearing aid	\$42.58
W6907	New receiver — standard hearing aid	\$31.44
W6908	Hearing aid access — bone conduction, receiver with headband CROS fitting	\$51.42
W6909	CROS fitting	\$119.94
W6946	Binaural hearing aid	\$642.27
W6947	Ear mold for intubation	\$24.37

Procedure code	Description	Maximum allowable fee
W6948	Special modifications (i.e., teleadaptor and high frequency)	\$54.32
W6950	Standard hearing aid repair — major	\$112.11
W6951	Standard hearing aid repair — minor	\$30.44
W6952	Standard hearing aid repair — recasing	\$69.88
W6960	Binaural hearing aid repair — major, right ear	\$112.11
W6961	Binaural hearing aid repair — major, left ear	\$112.11
W6962	Binaural hearing aid repair — minor, right ear	\$26.52
W6963	Binaural hearing aid repair — minor, left ear	\$26.52
W6964	Binaural hearing aid repair — recasing, right ear	\$60.88
W6965	Binaural hearing aid repair — recasing, left ear	\$60.88
W6966	Binaural hearing aid — ear mold, new/extra, right ear	\$42.58
W6967	Binaural hearing aid — ear mold, new/extra, left ear	\$42.58
W6968	Binaural hearing aid — new receiver, right ear	\$23.82
W6969	Binaural hearing aid — new receiver, left ear	\$27.39