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Independent
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This Update describes the rate increase
for nurses in independent practice
providing pediatric private duty nursing
services, authorized by 1999 Wisconsin
Act 9, the 1999-2001 biennial budget.

Effective for dates of service on and after
July 1, 1999, hourly rates of reimbursement for
nurses in independent practice providing private
duty nursing for recipients under 21 years of
age have been increased to $20.81 per hour for
LPNs and $31.21 per hour for RNs. Nurses in
independent practice should continue billing
their usual and customary charges for private
duty nursing. Wisconsin Medicaid began
reimbursing at the new rates in mid-January.

Note: Rates for respiratory care services and
private duty nursing for adults will remain the
same.

Most paid claims were automatically
adjusted
Wisconsin Medicaid automatically adjusted paid
claims for services provided on and after
July 1, 1999, to reflect the new maximum
allowable fees. Adjustments were made mid-
January and were noted on your Remittance
and Status (R/S) Report.

Reimbursement increase for nurses in
independent practice

When the paid claims were reprocessed, an
adjustment was made if the provider’s usual
and customary charge was equal to or greater
than the state fiscal year 2000 maximum
allowable fee. The adjustment was calculated
using the lesser of those two amounts, minus
the amount already paid. The claims processing
system does not adjust paid claims for which
the usual and customary charge was less than
the state fiscal year 2000 maximum allowable
fee.

Requesting adjustments for other claims
Providers whose usual and customary charges
for services provided on and after July 1, 1999,
were less than the state fiscal year 2000
maximum allowable fee can submit a request to
adjust the charges on their claims. Wisconsin
Medicaid cannot alter provider claims without a
written request from the provider.

Refer to Section X and Appendix 27 of the All-
Provider Handbook for instructions about
submitting requests for claims adjustments.
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The Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare
Update is the first source of program policy and
billing information for providers.

Although the Update refers to Medicaid
recipients, all information applies to BadgerCare
recipients also.

Wisconsin Medicaid and BadgerCare are adminis-
tered by the Division of Health Care Financing,
Wisconsin Department of Health and Family
Services, P.O. Box 309, Madison, WI 53701-0309.

For questions, call Provider Services at (800) 947-
9627 or (608) 221-9883 or visit our Web site at
www.dhfs.state.wi.us/medicaid/.

This Update applies to fee-for-service
Medicaid providers only. If you are a Medicaid
HMO network provider, contact your managed
care organization for more information about
their reimbursement procedures. Wisconsin
Medicaid HMOs are required to provide at
least the same benefits provided under fee-for-
service arrangements.

If you have questions, please call Provider
Services at (800) 947-9627 or (608) 221-9883.


