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Contract Amendment for Children Come First BadgerCare Plus Services 
 

The agreement entered into for the period of July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2015 between the 
State of Wisconsin acting by or through the Department of Health Services, herein after referred 
to as the “Department,” and Dane County - Children Come First (“County”) is hereby amended.  

  
1.   Article I, I. – Definitions 

 
Add as new definitions: 
 
“Cold Call Marketing” – Any unsolicited personal contact by the County, with the 
purpose of marketing. 

 
“Marketing” – Any communication, from the County to a Medicaid member who is not 
enrolled, that can reasonably be interpreted as intended to influence that member to enroll 
in the County’s program. 

 
“Marketing Materials” – Materials that are produced in any medium, by or on behalf of 
the County, that can reasonably be interpreted as intended to market to potential 
members. 

 
“Special Health Care Needs Assessment”- The assessment performed by the County’s 
appropriately qualified health care professionals to determine a member’s special health 
care needs and to identify any ongoing special conditions of the member that require a 
course of treatment or regular care monitoring.  

 
2.  Article IV, A –  Provision of Contract Services 

 
Add a new #9 and #10:  
 
9. Children Come First, for members ages 18 years and older, must maintain written 

policies and procedures related to advance directives.  Written information provided 
must reflect changes in state law as soon as possible, but no later than 90 days after 
the effective date of the change.  An advance directive is a written instruction, such as 
a living will or durable power of attorney for health care, recognized under Wisconsin 
law (whether statutory or recognized by the courts of Wisconsin) and relating to the 
provision of such care when the individual is incapacitated.  Children Come First  
must: 

 
a. Provide written information at the time of enrollment to all adults receiving 

medical care through the Children Come First  regarding: 
 



June 2015 CCF Contract Amendment  Page 2 6/10/2015  

• The individual’s rights under Wisconsin law (whether statutory or 
recognized by the courts of Wisconsin) to make decisions 
concerning such medical care, including the right to accept or refuse 
medical or surgical treatment and the right to formulate advance 
directives; and 

 
• The individual’s right to file a grievance with the Department of 

Health Services, Division of Quality Assurance, regarding 
noncompliance with advance directive requirements.  If requested, 
assist the member in filing a grievance with the Division of Quality 
Assurance regarding noncompliance with advance directive 
requirements, and 

 
• Children Come First’s written policies respecting the implementation 

of such rights. 
 

b. Document in the individual’s medical record whether or not the individual 
has executed an advance directive. 

 
c. Not discriminate in the provision of care or otherwise discriminate against 

an individual based on whether or not the individual has executed an 
advance directive.  This provision shall not be construed as requiring the 
provision of care which conflicts with an advance directive. 

 
d. Ensure compliance with the requirements of Wisconsin law (whether 

statutory or recognized by the courts of Wisconsin) respecting advance 
directives. 

 
e. Provide education for staff and the community on issues concerning advance 

directives. 
 
10. The County must have written policies regarding member rights, including free 

exercise of rights without adverse action by the County or the providers.  The County 
must notify members of their rights in the member handbook upon enrollment and 
annually.  The County must comply with any applicable federal and state laws 
regarding enrollee rights, and must ensure its staff and providers consider those rights 
when providing services. 

 
3. Article IV, L – Enrollment 

 
Amend to read: 
 
L. ENROLLMENT----The County shall accept, as enrolled, all persons who appear 

as members on County Enrollment Reports.  Enrollment in the County’s Managed 
Care Program shall be voluntary by the member.  Signed and completed 
enrollment forms will be faxed to the Department’s Medicaid Fiscal Agent the 
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day the County’s Community Partnership and Dane County staff determines the 
child is at imminent risk of out-of-home placement.  The Department’s Medicaid 
Fiscal Agent will determine if a member is BadgerCare Plus eligible, through 18 
years of age, does not have a nursing home authorization, and is not residing in a 
psychiatric hospital.  The Department’s Medicaid Fiscal Agent will have five (5) 
working days to process the County enrollment to final disposition.  Final 
disposition means that: 

 
1. The County enrollment is approved and updates are applied to the 

members eligibility segment; or 
 

2. The County enrollment is denied and the County is notified. 
 

If determined eligible, members are enrolled effective on the date the enrollment 
form is received by the Department’s Medicaid Fiscal Agent. 
 
Services can begin immediately.  Enrollment can be any day of the month.  If the 
member is enrolled in a BadgerCare Plus HMO, the Medicaid Fiscal Agent 
Analyst will enroll the member with a start date effective the date the enrollment 
request was received.  By enrolling the member, s/he will automatically be 
disenrolled from the other BadgerCare Plus HMO, and will receive all non-
County provided BadgerCare Plus services on a fee-for-service basis. 
 
The County shall accept referrals of eligible children and adolescents at any time 
during the time this agreement is in effect.  The County will accept BadgerCare 
Plus members in the order in which they apply without restriction, except as 
otherwise noted herein.  The County will not discriminate against individuals 
eligible to enroll on the basis of race, color, or national origin, and will not use 
any policy or practice that has the effect of discriminating on the basis of race, 
color or national origin. 
 
Enrollment opportunities will remain open and available without restriction 
within the total enrollment limits set by this Contract, except that the County may 
set reasonable limits on the number of eligibles to be enrolled on a monthly basis 
to ensure a manageable rate of growth and ability to provide medically necessary 
care.  The County shall develop a policy with approval from the Department on 
how to determine which child to serve when there is a waiting list. 
 
A referral can originate from County social workers, parents, other agency staff or 
Emergency Services Unit staff, schools or community-based providers.  A referral 
is a request to enroll in the wraparound system of care.  Requests for services or 
specific requests for CCF enrollment are directed to CCF or the Emergency 
Services Unit (most often when screening a child for a voluntary psychiatric 
hospitalization or an emergency detention).  The five (5) steps to enroll a child 
into CCF are: 
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• Request for CCF enrollment. 
 

• Administration of a standardized risk assessment tool to determine if the 
child at risk for out-of-home placement and/or psychiatric hospitalization. 

 
• Determination of severe emotional disturbance (SED). 

 
• Referral of the child to the Community Partnerships for a comprehensive 

assessment and possible CCF enrollment. 
 

• Community Partnerships determination of the most appropriate service 
delivery, including possible CCF enrollment with approval from DCDHS. 

 
The County chooses the standardized risk assessment tool for the initial screen; 
however, the Department must approve the tool.  Steps to enroll a child are 
described below specific to who requested services and the agency that received 
the request. 
 
Dane County Department of Human Services Ongoing Social Workers: 
 

 When a child already has a County social worker, parents, other agencies 
and youth crisis staff directs requests for CCF services to the child’s social 
worker.  The social worker shall review historical records regarding the 
child and family for the presence of a possible SED.  If the child has a 
documented SED diagnosis, the social worker will administer the 
standardized risk assessment tool to assess the likelihood that the child 
will be placed in an institution (the initial screen).  If the initial screen 
meets the predetermined threshold and there is documentation of a SED, 
the social worker shall refer the case to Community Partnerships. 

 
 If there is no documentation of an SED, the social worker shall administer 

the initial screen.  If the child meets the threshold of the initial screen, the 
social worker shall assist the family in arranging for a certified 
psychologist or psychiatrist to determine if SED exists.  SED verification 
must occur within 25 business days of the initial screen.  If the assessment 
verifies the presence of an SED, the social worker shall refer the case to 
the Community Partnerships. 

 
Once referral to Community Partnerships status is reached, the child is 
required to have a Community Partnerships review the following week 
unless there is written documentation that the parent waived the 
Community Partnerships process.  Community Partnerships shall review 
the child and family history leading up to the current situation and the 
results of the initial screen and determine the most appropriate services 
and supports for the child and family. 
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Community Partnerships: 
 
1. Parents, school, staff and community agencies may also contact the 

Emergency Services Unit of Dane County to initiate a child’s enrollment 
in CCF.  In these instances, Youth Crisis staff would contact the CCF 
intake worker or previously assigned Dane County Department of Human 
Services ongoing worker and work through the enrollment process as 
described in the previous section. 
 

2. Emergency Services Worker: 
 

Youth Crisis staff can also request CCF enrollment if the child has a SED 
and meets the predetermined threshold of the standardized risk assessment 
tool.  Emergency Services Workers then contact the CCF Intake Worker, 
and work in conjunction with the CCF Intake Worker to facilitate the 
referral to CCF.  The Emergency Services Worker and CCF Intake 
Worker follow the same procedures for referral outlined above for 
DCDHS Ongoing Social Workers. 

 
  Other requirements related to enrollment include: 
 

1. Timeline: 
 
Once a request for services or a specific request for CCF enrollment is 
made, a contact with the child and family must be made within five (5) 
business days.  At the initial contact, the County or Emergency Services 
Worker should administer the standardized risk assessment tool.  Within 
five (5) business days, the worker should determine if there is a SED 
determination on record.  If the child meets both the threshold of the 
standardized risk assessment tool and the SED determination, the child is 
referred to the Community Partnerships for review the following week. 
 
If there is no documentation of a SED, the County or Emergency Services 
Worker has 25 business days to obtain a SED determination.  All requests 
for CCF enrollment should be determined within 30 business days of the 
initial contact. 
 

2. Parent Notification: 
 
If the parent(s) specifically requests CCF enrollment, the parent(s) shall be 
able to file a grievance for each step in the enrollment process in which a 
decision is made.  The County is obligated to develop grievance 
procedures with Department approval.  Parent(s) requesting CCF will be 
provided the grievance procedures in writing.  In addition, the parent(s) 
should be mailed an invitation to participate in the Community 
Partnerships review.  The invitation should inform the parent(s) that a 
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family advocate is available to accompany the parent(s) to the Community 
Partnerships as well as the telephone number to Wisconsin Family Ties. 
 

3. Documentation: 
 
Records will be kept on all children with a SED that come before the 
Community Partnerships.  Information recorded includes the following: 
 

• Child’s name. 
 

• The person who initially requested services or CCF. 
 

• The agency receiving the initial request. 
 

• Date the SED was verified. 
 

• The person that verified the SED. 
 

• Date the standardized risk assessment tool was administered and 
the rating. 

 
• The person who administered the standardized risk assessment 

tool. 
 

• The date the Community Partnerships review was requested. 
 

• The date the Community Partnerships review occurred. 
 

• The result of the Community Partnerships review. 
 

4. Monitoring Process: 
 
Written notifications explaining the results of the Community Partnerships 
review, and how that decision was made will be sent to all parents with 
children with a SED.  The parent(s) of a child(ren) with a SED who are 
reviewed by the Community Partnerships  will be mailed the policy and 
procedure to appeal their  decision. 
 
The County shall not obtain enrollment through the offer of any 
compensation, reward, or benefit to the member except for additional 
mental health-related services, which have been approved by the 
Department. 

 
4. Article IV, R – Non-discrimination 

 
Add as a new fourth paragraph: 
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The County will not prohibit or otherwise restrict a healthcare professional from advising 
or advocating on behalf of a member who is his or her patient: 

• For the members’ health status, medical care, or treatment options, including any 
alternative treatment that may be self-administered. 

• For any information the member needs in order to decide among all relevant 
treatment options. 

• For the risks, benefits, and consequences of treatment or non-treatment. 
• For the members right to participate in decisions regarding his or her health care, 

including the right to refuse treatment, and to express preferences about further 
treatment decisions. 

 
5. Article IV, V.2 – Member Handbook 

 
Add as a new section m.: 
 
m. Enrollment and Disenrollment Rights  

 
The County must: 
• Provide notice of the member’s enrollment within a reasonable timeframe. 
• Notify all members of their disenrollment rights, and their ability to request 

information on such rights, at a minimum, annually. 
• Notify all members, at the time of enrollment, of the member’s right to 

change providers or disenroll for cause. 
• Notify all members of their right to request and obtain names, locations, 

telephone numbers of, and non-English languages spoken by current 
contracted providers in the member service area, including identification of 
providers not accepting new members, at least once per year.  Furnish to all 
members notice of this information within a reasonable time frame after 
notice of enrollment. 

• Give each member written notice of any change to their disenrollment rights 
at least 30 days before the intended effective date of the change. 

• Furnish to each member the disenrollment rights within a reasonable time 
frame following notice of the member’s enrollment. 

• Provide the procedures for obtaining benefits including authorization 
requirements. 

• Provide the extent to which, and how, members may obtain benefits from 
out of network providers. 

 
6.  Article IV, Z – Quality Assessment/Performance Improvement (QAPI) 

 
Add a new #6 and #7 under Z.4.c: 

 
6. The County must submit documentation to the State that it offers an appropriate range 

of behavioral health services that is adequate for the anticipated number of members in 
the service area. 
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7. The County must maintain a network of providers that is sufficient in number, mix, and 

geographic distribution to meet the needs of the anticipated number of members in the 
service area. 

 
 
Article IV, Z.4 - Add as a new section d.: 
 
d.   Out of network providers must coordinate with the County with respect to payment. 

The County must ensure that cost to the member is no greater than it would be if the 
services were furnished within the network. 

 
Delete Article IV, Z.7.h regarding residual functional capacity evaluations 
 
Add a new section 8 and move current #8 - #10 to #9-#11: 

 
 8. Notice of Adverse Action 

The notice of adverse action must explain: 
 

• The action the County or its contractor has taken or intends to take. 
• The reasons for the action. 
• The member or the provider’s right to file an appeal. 
• The member’s right to request a State Fair Hearing. 
• Procedures for exercising member rights to appeal or grieve. 
• Circumstances under which expedited resolution is available and how to 

request it. 
• The member’s rights to have benefits continue pending the resolution of 

the appeal, how to request that benefits be continued, and the 
circumstances under which the member may be required to pay the cost of 
these services. 

• Written material must use easily understood language and format, be 
available in alternative formats, and in an appropriate manner that takes 
into consideration those with special needs. 

• All members and potential members must be informed that information is 
available in alternative formats and how to access those formats. 

 
7. Article IV, DD – Use of Providers Certified by Medicaid/BadgerCare Program 

 
Add as a new third paragraph: 
 
Federal Financial Participation (FFP) is not available for amounts expended for providers 
excluded by Medicare, Medicaid, or SCHIP, except for emergency services. 
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8. Article IV, GG - Coordination and Continuation of Care 
Add as a new #13 - #16: 

 
13. Provide names, locations, telephone numbers of, and non-English languages 

spoken by current contracted providers in the member service area, including 
identification of providers that are not accepting new members.  Include any 
restrictions on the member freedom of choice among network providers.  Provide 
information on the amount, duration, and scope of benefits available under the 
contract. 

14. Provide the procedures for obtaining benefits including authorization 
requirements. 

15. Provide the extent to which, and how, members may obtain benefits from out of 
network providers. 

16. The County must submit documentation to the Department assuring adequate 
capacity and services to provide Contract required services upon request and as 
follows, but no less frequently than: 

• At the time the contract is entered. 
• At any time there has been a significant change in the County’s operations 

or provider network that would affect adequate capacity and services, 
including changes in services, benefits, geographic service area, or 
payments, or 

• Enrollment of a new population into the County program, with 
Department approval. 

 
9. Article IV – Functions and Duties of the County 

 
Amend section PP to read:  
 
PP. Services Provided by a Certified Peer Specialist 

 
1. Service 

 
Children Come First may elect to provide behavioral health benefits to 
eligible members through the use of Certified Peer Specialist providers. Peer 
Specialists are under the direct supervision of a Children Come First certified 
clinician.  Peer Specialists must be able to participate in multidisciplinary 
team meetings regarding a participating individual’s care.  This benefit will be 
targeted to members age 14 –21 years old with SED or co-occurring SED and 
substance abuse related disorders.  This service will not duplicate any peer 
specialist services the member may be receiving. 

 
2. Provider Qualification 

 
Children Come First will use peer specialists certified and trained by the State 
Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services (DMHSAS).  This 
certification includes a requirement that the Peer Specialist be supervised by a 
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qualified mental health professional.  In addition to being certified by 
DMHSAS, the peer specialist must have a minimum  of a high school diploma 
or GED, must be 18 years of age or older, and have the ability to 
communicate effectively with peers.  

 
3. Reimbursement 

 
Peer specialist services will be billed under their supervising clinician’s NPI, 
using HCPCS code H0038 – Self-help/peer services.  Up to 16 units may be 
billed per week.  A unit is 15 minutes. 

 
Travel time to and from the member visits may not be billed separately; this 
time is considered covered within the direct time reimbursement. 

 
10. Article X, D – Modification 

 
Amend the second paragraph to read: 
 
If the Department exercises its right to renew this Contract, the Department will 
recalculate the capitation rate for succeeding calendar years.  The County will have 30 
days to accept the new capitation rate in writing or to initiate termination of the Contract.  
If the Department changes the reporting requirements during the contract period, the 
County will have 180 days to comply with such changes or to initiate termination of the 
Contract. 
 

11. Article XI, E – Trading Partner requirements under HIPAA 
 
Add as new section d. under Article XI, E.7 – Privacy: 
 

d. All information, records, and data collected in connection with this Contract shall 
be protected from unauthorized disclosure as provided in Chapter 49, Subchapter 
IV, Wis. Stats., HFS 108.01, Wis. Adm. Code, 42 CFR 431 Subpart F and 45 
CFR 160, 162, and any other confidentiality law to the extent that these 
requirements apply. 
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Dane County – Children Come First 
 

Department of Health Services 

Official Signature Official Signature 
 
 
 

Printed Name Printed Name 
 

Kevin Moore, Medicaid Director 
 

Title 
 

Title 
 Medicaid Director 

Division of Health Care Access and 
Accountability 

Date Date 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 


